Re: DLKM Module fails to load. (282 Views)
Reply
Occasional Visitor
Anil Kumar_5
Posts: 5
Registered: ‎09-23-2004
Message 1 of 11 (282 Views)

DLKM Module fails to load.

Hi,
When i try to load the module, i am getting the following Errors.

Overrun of module DLT or long branch stub table for module /stand/dlkm/mod.d/swspData.

Relocation in module /stand/dlkm/mod.d/swspData failed

Attempt to load unregistered module


Can somebody please let me know how i could solve this problem.

Thanks & regards,
Anil
Frequent Advisor
Shine_5
Posts: 48
Registered: ‎04-06-2004
Message 2 of 11 (282 Views)

Re: DLKM Module fails to load.

Anil,

Normally this is hard to hit because the buffer is initially aligned
on a page boundary which means that there is usually some space for
overflow data. But if the size of the image calculated in the first
part happens to be very close to a page (4090 bytes, for example),
then there wonâ t be enough room and the buffer will overflow.

The overflow normally clobbers the allocatorâ s bookkeeping pointer
the next buffer, so we end up referencing a bad pointer when that
other memory is freed.

regards
Occasional Visitor
Anil Kumar_5
Posts: 5
Registered: ‎09-23-2004
Message 3 of 11 (282 Views)

Re: DLKM Module fails to load.

Hi,
Thanks a lot for the information, Do you suggest any workaround or fix for these kind of problems.
I have the the DLKM cumulative patch PHCO_22899 already installed on the system, which actually adress this problem. But not sure why i am still getting this problem.

Thanks & regards,
Anil
Frequent Advisor
Shine_5
Posts: 48
Registered: ‎04-06-2004
Message 4 of 11 (282 Views)

Re: DLKM Module fails to load.

Hi Anil,

see the attachment .. i think u can get some more info from this

regards
Shine
Occasional Visitor
Anil Kumar_5
Posts: 5
Registered: ‎09-23-2004
Message 5 of 11 (282 Views)

Re: DLKM Module fails to load.

Hi Shine,

This is what i could get from the attaced document.

[PHCO_14664/PACHRDME/English] :
Some large modules fail to load with the following
error message: "Overrun of module DLT or long branch stub table for module."

This is the Error message i got when I tried to load the module. But as i mentioned earlier. The system is already installed with this patch.

Is there some thing i am missing in interpreting the document ?

Thanks & regards,
Anil
Honored Contributor
RAC_1
Posts: 5,920
Registered: ‎03-21-2002
Message 6 of 11 (282 Views)

Re: DLKM Module fails to load.

Is the patch installed properly???

swlist -l product PHXX_XXXX
swlist -a state -l product PSXX_XXXX


Anil
There is no substitute to HARDWORK
Occasional Visitor
Anil Kumar_5
Posts: 5
Registered: ‎09-23-2004
Message 7 of 11 (282 Views)

Re: DLKM Module fails to load.

Hi,
Looks like the Patch is installed and the state is shown as configured.


PHCO_22899.CORE-KRN configured applied

Thanks & regards,
Anil
Esteemed Contributor
ranganath ramachandra
Posts: 375
Registered: ‎05-16-2003
Message 8 of 11 (282 Views)

Re: DLKM Module fails to load.

this is almost a shot in the dark, if at all you think its worth a try: as i understand,when building shared libraries, this problem is overcome by using +Z instead of +z in the compile line. im not sure if kernel modules are compiled PIC: if they are - if you are already using the compiler's +z option - you can try this out : use +Z instead of +z.
Occasional Visitor
Anil Kumar_5
Posts: 5
Registered: ‎09-23-2004
Message 9 of 11 (282 Views)

Re: DLKM Module fails to load.

Hi,
Actually the problem ie there only when we try to install the module on one particular system. It has been working on many other customer system.
Hence i am not sure whether this will work.

Thanks & regards,
Anil
Occasional Contributor
Jimmie Mayfield
Posts: 6
Registered: ‎12-14-2004
Message 10 of 11 (282 Views)

Re: DLKM Module fails to load.

Hi. I'm seeing this same "Overrun of module DLT..." error on one of my 11.11 systems. Oddly, I've successfully built and loaded this particular DKLM on this machine in the past.

Anyway, the PHCO_22899 DKLM patch appears to be for 11.00 so I can't install it on this machine (presumably, it's already part of the 11.11 product?).

Did you ever solve your problem?

Thanks.
Occasional Contributor
Jimmie Mayfield
Posts: 6
Registered: ‎12-14-2004
Message 11 of 11 (282 Views)

Re: DLKM Module fails to load.

I'm going to reply to my own question...

Turns out during the module load process, either via kminstall, config or kmadmin, nm(1) is getting invoked. On this system, I had recently installed some GNU utilities and GNU's version of nm was being invoked instead of HP's. Getting rid of GNU nm appears to have solved the problem.

The opinions expressed above are the personal opinions of the authors, not of HP. By using this site, you accept the Terms of Use and Rules of Participation.