Re: Cntl C exits shell after 11i upgrade? (41 Views)
Reply
Occasional Advisor
Edward Massaro_1
Posts: 11
Registered: ‎08-18-2003
Message 1 of 12 (41 Views)

Cntl C exits shell after 11i upgrade?

my DBA's are experincing an issue when they issue a cntl-c. Rather then it ending the script they are running, it is closing there session . Any clues?
Please use plain text.
Outstanding Contributor
Pete Randall
Posts: 16,201
Registered: ‎11-03-1996
Message 2 of 12 (41 Views)

Re: Cntl C exits shell after 11i upgrade?

What does "stty" report the interrupt setting to be? It should be "intr = ^C".


Pete

Pete
Please use plain text.
Occasional Visitor
Eddie Massaro
Posts: 4
Registered: ‎10-27-2004
Message 3 of 12 (41 Views)

Re: Cntl C exits shell after 11i upgrade?

intr = ^C

yup
Please use plain text.
Outstanding Contributor
Pete Randall
Posts: 16,201
Registered: ‎11-03-1996
Message 4 of 12 (41 Views)

Re: Cntl C exits shell after 11i upgrade?

Anything else set to "^C"?


Pete

Pete
Please use plain text.
Occasional Visitor
Eddie Massaro
Posts: 4
Registered: ‎10-27-2004
Message 5 of 12 (41 Views)

Re: Cntl C exits shell after 11i upgrade?

speed 9600 baud; -parity hupcl
min = 1; intr = ^C; quit ; erase = ^H; kill = ^U;
swtch ;
stop ;
brkint -inpck -istrip icrnl ixoff onlcr
-iexten echo echoe echok
-echoctl -echoke


nope
Please use plain text.
Outstanding Contributor
Pete Randall
Posts: 16,201
Registered: ‎11-03-1996
Message 6 of 12 (41 Views)

Re: Cntl C exits shell after 11i upgrade?

Just double-checking: you are reporting what you see when you're logged in as them, aren't you?

I've seen ^D close sessions before but I'm not sure where this gets set. It seems that whatever switch normally gets set to ^D might be getting set to ^C but I don't know where to look. Anyone else?


Pete

Pete
Please use plain text.
Honored Contributor
Mark Greene_1
Posts: 1,422
Registered: ‎06-26-2001
Message 7 of 12 (41 Views)

Re: Cntl C exits shell after 11i upgrade?

The last line in their .profile wouldn't happen to be "exec ..."? If so, when they kill their script, there's no parent pid to return to so they are all done.

mark
the future will be a lot like now, only later
Please use plain text.
Occasional Visitor
Eddie Massaro
Posts: 4
Registered: ‎10-27-2004
Message 8 of 12 (41 Views)

Re: Cntl C exits shell after 11i upgrade?

i did find this in the .profile for the user in question.. could this be the issue?

stty erase "^H" kill "^U" intr "^C" eof "^D"
stty hupcl ixon ixoff

i think that eof may be the culprit.
Please use plain text.
Outstanding Contributor
Pete Randall
Posts: 16,201
Registered: ‎11-03-1996
Message 9 of 12 (41 Views)

Re: Cntl C exits shell after 11i upgrade?

Since it's ^C that causes their sessions to close, I wouldn't think that eof would be the culprit unless eof was set to ^C.


Pete

Pete
Please use plain text.
Outstanding Contributor
Pete Randall
Posts: 16,201
Registered: ‎11-03-1996
Message 10 of 12 (41 Views)

Re: Cntl C exits shell after 11i upgrade?

Try running stty -a and see what you get.


Pete

Pete
Please use plain text.
Honored Contributor
Mark Greene_1
Posts: 1,422
Registered: ‎06-26-2001
Message 11 of 12 (41 Views)

Re: Cntl C exits shell after 11i upgrade?

The other piece of this puzzle is how are they connecting? ASCII terminal? PC with emulation software? Web client? You need to ensure that the terminal settings on that side of the connection are matched with what the shell has.

For what it's worth, here's the stty -a signal settings that I have for my telnet session via Exceed emulation software:

intr = ^C; quit = ^\; erase = ^H; kill = ^U
eof = ^D; eol = ^@; eol2 = ^[; swtch
stop = ^S; start = ^Q; susp ; dsusp
werase = ^W; lnext = ^V


control-D is the traditional end of file, so that shouldn't be causing you any grief. What do they have "quit" set to?

mark
the future will be a lot like now, only later
Please use plain text.
Occasional Visitor
Eddie Massaro
Posts: 4
Registered: ‎10-27-2004
Message 12 of 12 (41 Views)

Re: Cntl C exits shell after 11i upgrade?

we got it fixed guys .. there was a trap command in the .profile that was hosing everything up.

Thanks for all of the help

Please use plain text.
The opinions expressed above are the personal opinions of the authors, not of HP. By using this site, you accept the Terms of Use and Rules of Participation