problem with mounting a file system (21 Views)
Reply
Super Advisor
Vipin Singhal
Posts: 200
Registered: ‎11-08-2005
Message 1 of 25 (21 Views)
Accepted Solution

problem with mounting a file system

today i think -my file system got unmount.
when i trying with #bdf, it shows this error:

bdf: /vipin I/O error

till yesterday , the status was:

#bdf
/dev/vg5/vipin 3584000 2065376 1423717 59% /vipin

Please suggest what to do?
thanks
vipin
Please use plain text.
Honored Contributor
Devender Khatana
Posts: 2,278
Registered: ‎03-01-2004
Message 2 of 25 (21 Views)

Re: problem with mounting a file system

Hi,

It has not got unmounted instead it has got some corruption.

What is the output of

#lvdisplay -v /dev/vg05/vipin

Was something new done on system like adding/removing LUNs, Extending/Reducing File System?
If yes then it is the result of the same probably otherwise generally it should not happen by itself.

What happen if you unmount and do a fsck on it.

HTH,
Devender
Impossible itself mentions "I m possible"
Please use plain text.
Respected Contributor
Domenico_5
Posts: 268
Registered: ‎03-03-2002
Message 3 of 25 (21 Views)

Re: problem with mounting a file system

hi Vipin

but vg5 is active if you run vgdisplay vg05 what can you see?
Please use plain text.
Honored Contributor
Arunvijai_4
Posts: 4,194
Registered: ‎04-07-2005
Message 4 of 25 (21 Views)

Re: problem with mounting a file system

Can you run #lvdisplay on your volume to see the results ? Is it a device connected to a SAN and got disconnected elsewhere ?

-Arun
"A ship in the harbor is safe, but that is not what ships are built for"
Please use plain text.
Super Advisor
Vipin Singhal
Posts: 200
Registered: ‎11-08-2005
Message 5 of 25 (21 Views)

Re: problem with mounting a file system

# lvdisplay /dev/vg5/vipin
--- Logical volumes ---
LV Name /dev/vg5/vipin
VG Name /dev/vg5
LV Permission read/write
LV Status available/syncd
Mirror copies 0
Consistency Recovery MWC
Schedule parallel
LV Size (Mbytes) 31000
Current LE 7750
Allocated PE 7750
Stripes 0
Stripe Size (Kbytes) 0
Bad block on
Allocation strict
IO Timeout (Seconds) default


#vgdisplay -v /dev/vg5 | more
--- Volume groups ---
VG Name /dev/vg5
VG Write Access read/write
VG Status available
Max LV 255
Cur LV 10
Open LV 10
Max PV 16
Cur PV 2
Act PV 2
Max PE per PV 9727
VGDA 4
PE Size (Mbytes) 4
Total PE 19452
Alloc PE 16625
Free PE 2827
Total PVG 0
Total Spare PVs 0
Total Spare PVs in use 0

--- Logical volumes ---
LV Name /dev/vg5/vipin
LV Status available/syncd
LV Size (Mbytes) 31000
Current LE 7750
Allocated PE 7750
Used PV 1

Please use plain text.
Super Advisor
Vipin Singhal
Posts: 200
Registered: ‎11-08-2005
Message 6 of 25 (21 Views)

Re: problem with mounting a file system

# cd /
# ll
# ll
./vipin not found

total 18
.
.
.
.
.
Please use plain text.
Honored Contributor
Joseph Loo
Posts: 1,981
Registered: ‎10-23-2000
Message 7 of 25 (21 Views)

Re: problem with mounting a file system

hi,

could u mount it again:

# mount /dev/vg5/vipin /vipin

also, u mean bdf also give IO error for that particular file system, /vipin

regards.
what you do not see does not mean you should not believe
Please use plain text.
Super Advisor
Vipin Singhal
Posts: 200
Registered: ‎11-08-2005
Message 8 of 25 (21 Views)

Re: problem with mounting a file system

i have created a more new LV under this VG yesterday

Please suggest what to do?
Please use plain text.
Honored Contributor
Devender Khatana
Posts: 2,278
Registered: ‎03-01-2004
Message 9 of 25 (21 Views)

Re: problem with mounting a file system

Hi,

Try
#umount /vipin

And

#mount /devvg5/vipin /vipin

If it reports error then try

#fsck -y /dev/vg5/vipin

Now Again

#mount /devvg5/vipin /vipin

HTH,
Devender
Impossible itself mentions "I m possible"
Please use plain text.
Super Advisor
Vipin Singhal
Posts: 200
Registered: ‎11-08-2005
Message 10 of 25 (21 Views)

Re: problem with mounting a file system

# mount -F vxfs /dev/vg5/vipin /vipin
mount: /vipin: I/O error
Please use plain text.
Super Advisor
Vipin Singhal
Posts: 200
Registered: ‎11-08-2005
Message 11 of 25 (21 Views)

Re: problem with mounting a file system

# mount -F vxfs /dev/vg5/vipin /vipin
mount: /vipin: I/O error


should i run fsck
Please use plain text.
Honored Contributor
Arunvijai_4
Posts: 4,194
Registered: ‎04-07-2005
Message 12 of 25 (21 Views)

Re: problem with mounting a file system

Run #fsck /dev/vg5/vipin

-Arun
"A ship in the harbor is safe, but that is not what ships are built for"
Please use plain text.
Super Advisor
Vipin Singhal
Posts: 200
Registered: ‎11-08-2005
Message 13 of 25 (21 Views)

Re: problem with mounting a file system

# umount /vipin
# mount -F vxfs /dev/vg5/vipin /vipin
vxfs mount: read of super-block on /dev/vg5/vipin failed: I/O error

# fsck -y /dev/vg5/vipin
vxfs fsck: read of super-block on /dev/vg5/vipin failed: I/O error
file system check failure, aborting ...

Please suggest
Please use plain text.
Honored Contributor
Sivakumar TS
Posts: 735
Registered: ‎11-28-2005
Message 14 of 25 (21 Views)

Re: problem with mounting a file system


Dear Vipin,

# lvdisplay -v /dev/vg5/vipin

execute with -v option to get the full info. Check for any stale extents.

If NO,

then run fsck and mount it.

It will work !

With Regards,

Siva.
Nothing is Impossible !
Please use plain text.
Honored Contributor
MarkSyder
Posts: 1,815
Registered: ‎11-10-2003
Message 15 of 25 (21 Views)

Re: problem with mounting a file system

If the suggestions you've been given so far don't resolve the fault I think we need more information about the new lvol you created yesterday.

Try:

strings /etc/mnttab|pg

and post the result.

Mark Syder (like the drink but spelt different)
The triumph of evil requires only that good men do nothing
Please use plain text.
Honored Contributor
Devender Khatana
Posts: 2,278
Registered: ‎03-01-2004
Message 16 of 25 (21 Views)

Re: problem with mounting a file system

Hi,

I think there has been some corruption to the file system. You could try recreating the file system again using newfs.

Also a rare hit would be that your file system is not Vxfs and is HFS. Is that the case?

HTH,
Devender
Impossible itself mentions "I m possible"
Please use plain text.
Super Advisor
Vipin Singhal
Posts: 200
Registered: ‎11-08-2005
Message 17 of 25 (21 Views)

Re: problem with mounting a file system

# strings /etc/mnttab | pg
/dev/vg5/vipin /vipin vxfs ioerror=mwdisable,delaylog,dev=402d0001 0 0 1132152766
/dev/vg5/vipin_new /vipin_new vxfs ioerror=mwdisable,delaylog,dev=402d000a 0 0 1134067336
Please use plain text.
Super Advisor
Vipin Singhal
Posts: 200
Registered: ‎11-08-2005
Message 18 of 25 (21 Views)

Re: problem with mounting a file system

i cannt recreate the LV, beacuse there are so many data in that LV
Please use plain text.
Honored Contributor
MarkSyder
Posts: 1,815
Registered: ‎11-10-2003
Message 19 of 25 (21 Views)

Re: problem with mounting a file system

I think Devender's probably right about the filesystem becoming corrupt. Note that he didn't say re-create the lvol; he said re-create the fs.

Mark
The triumph of evil requires only that good men do nothing
Please use plain text.
Super Advisor
Vipin Singhal
Posts: 200
Registered: ‎11-08-2005
Message 20 of 25 (21 Views)

Re: problem with mounting a file system

if i re-create the FS by using these commands:
#newfs -F vxfs -o largefiles /dev/vg5/rvipin
# mount -F vxfs /dev/vg5/vipin vipin

it will losse my data or not?
Please use plain text.
Honored Contributor
Arunvijai_4
Posts: 4,194
Registered: ‎04-07-2005
Message 21 of 25 (21 Views)

Re: problem with mounting a file system

Yes, recreating a new FS will destroy all datas on the disk. So, beware of it.

-Arun
"A ship in the harbor is safe, but that is not what ships are built for"
Please use plain text.
Honored Contributor
MarkSyder
Posts: 1,815
Registered: ‎11-10-2003
Message 22 of 25 (21 Views)

Re: problem with mounting a file system

Do you have a recent backup of the filesystem?

Mark
The triumph of evil requires only that good men do nothing
Please use plain text.
Honored Contributor
Robert-Jan Goossens
Posts: 7,384
Registered: ‎04-04-2000
Message 23 of 25 (21 Views)

Re: problem with mounting a file system

Vipin,

Looks as like your mnttab has been corrupted.

# mv /etc/mnttab /etc/mnttab.old
# mount -a

# bdf
# cat /etc/mnttab

btw, yes you would loose your data if you use a newfs command.
Please use plain text.
Honored Contributor
Sivakumar TS
Posts: 735
Registered: ‎11-28-2005
Message 24 of 25 (21 Views)

Re: problem with mounting a file system


Dear Vipin,

Yes! when you recreate the file system , the data will be LOST :-(

With Regards,

Siva.
Nothing is Impossible !
Please use plain text.
Honored Contributor
Bill Hassell
Posts: 14,170
Registered: ‎05-29-2000
Message 25 of 25 (21 Views)

Re: problem with mounting a file system

When you see the error message: I/O error

there is nothing you can do to fix the problem--the disk is damaged and cannot be repaired. This isn't just the vipin volume, it is one of disks in /dev/vg5. Ideally, thes edisks are mirrored (optional software) but since you are seeing the disk I/O error message, this is probably not true. Not the rest of the lvogical volumes in /dev/vg5 may be OK, so IMMEDIATELY shuitdown your application(s) and take a backup of these volumes. Since you can't mount /vipin, there is no way to backup that data. Then go through the normal procedures to replace the failed disk and rebuild /dev/vg5.
Please use plain text.
The opinions expressed above are the personal opinions of the authors, not of HP. By using this site, you accept the Terms of Use and Rules of Participation