lvcreate error (282 Views)
Reply
Occasional Advisor
Neale Ainscow
Posts: 9
Registered: ‎11-25-2001
Message 1 of 8 (282 Views)

lvcreate error

I'm trying to create a new lv on an existing vg.
When I type "lvcreate -n xxxxx /dev/vg_ops" i get an error of "unable to create logical volume: argument of out domain"

Please can anyone help
Please use plain text.
Esteemed Contributor
Scott Van Kalken
Posts: 450
Registered: ‎04-01-1998
Message 2 of 8 (282 Views)

Re: lvcreate error

you need to specify a size for the logical volume.

This can be in MB (mostly I use this one) or physical extents.

try it using the -L 1024 (for 1 gig)

Scott.
Please use plain text.
Occasional Advisor
Neale Ainscow
Posts: 9
Registered: ‎11-25-2001
Message 3 of 8 (282 Views)

Re: lvcreate error

I am trying to create the an lv of zero size and then use lvextend to extend it afterwards.

Cheers

Neale
Please use plain text.
Esteemed Contributor
Scott Van Kalken
Posts: 450
Registered: ‎04-01-1998
Message 4 of 8 (282 Views)

Re: lvcreate error

Hmmm....

That's really weird.

In that case you should be able to do it.

I just did on one of my boxes.

stupid question, but do all of the correct things for the VG exist?

Please use plain text.
Honored Contributor
Sridhar Bhaskarla
Posts: 6,350
Registered: ‎08-15-2001
Message 5 of 8 (282 Views)

Re: lvcreate error

Hi,

This is a fairly straight forward command. I would suggest to install the latest LVM command patch PHCO_24437 if yours is 11.0

-Sri
You may be disappointed if you fail, but you are doomed if you don't try
Please use plain text.
Honored Contributor
Sanjay_6
Posts: 5,942
Registered: ‎04-15-2001
Message 6 of 8 (282 Views)

Re: lvcreate error

Hi Neale,

Suggest you should look into the LVM kernel and command patches for the version of hp-ux you have on the system.

Hope this helps.

Regds
Please use plain text.
Regular Advisor
Indrajit Bhagat
Posts: 319
Registered: ‎07-22-2006
Message 7 of 8 (183 Views)

Re: lvcreate error

Please check MAX LV & Cur LV Numbers, I hope both would be same, due to which you are not able to create any new logical volume.

 

In this case, you can create an new volume group and then create an volume.

 

Please give points, if this given suggestion would help you.

 

Regards

Indrajit Bhagat

Please use plain text.
Acclaimed Contributor
Torsten.
Posts: 23,193
Registered: ‎10-02-2001
Message 8 of 8 (179 Views)

Re: lvcreate error

After 11 years the problem should be solved ...

 

;-)


Hope this helps!
Regards
Torsten.

__________________________________________________

There are only 10 types of people in the world -
those who understand binary, and those who don't.

__________________________________________________

No support by private messages. Please ask the forum!

If you feel this was helpful please click the KUDOS! star in the left column!   
Please use plain text.
The opinions expressed above are the personal opinions of the authors, not of HP. By using this site, you accept the Terms of Use and Rules of Participation