Re: LVM upgrade (155 Views)
Reply
Frequent Advisor
marvin51796
Posts: 92
Registered: ‎03-12-2012
Message 1 of 10 (204 Views)

LVM upgrade

Is it possible to take 1.0 VG to 2.1 without tearing it down and rebuilding it?

thanks

Please use plain text.
Acclaimed Contributor
Torsten.
Posts: 23,129
Registered: ‎10-02-2001
Message 2 of 10 (194 Views)

Re: LVM upgrade

If you run hp-ux 11.31, make a backup and use update-ux to go to the latest release.

Hope this helps!
Regards
Torsten.

__________________________________________________

There are only 10 types of people in the world -
those who understand binary, and those who don't.

__________________________________________________

No support by private messages. Please ask the forum!

If you feel this was helpful please click the KUDOS! star in the left column!   
Please use plain text.
Honored Contributor
Matti_Kurkela
Posts: 6,271
Registered: ‎12-02-2001
Message 3 of 10 (188 Views)

Re: LVM upgrade

Torsten means you'll need a March 2009 release of HP-UX 11.31 (or newer) to have the LVM version upgrade capability.

 

Please see this whitepaper (titled LVM Volume Group Version Migration):

 

http://h20000.www2.hp.com/bizsupport/TechSupport/CoreRedirect.jsp?redirectReason=DocIndexPDF&prodSer...

MK
Please use plain text.
Frequent Advisor
marvin51796
Posts: 92
Registered: ‎03-12-2012
Message 4 of 10 (182 Views)

Re: vg upgrade from 1.0 to 2.1

maybe i need to explain more, i have created a vg and its version 1.0 and i cant extend the extents , i should have created it in version 2.1. Is there anyway to upgrade the VG to 2.1 without rebuilding via vgexport ?

Please use plain text.
Acclaimed Contributor
Torsten.
Posts: 23,129
Registered: ‎10-02-2001
Message 5 of 10 (180 Views)

Re: vg upgrade from 1.0 to 2.1

Do you want to extend the VG?

I'm not sure about your problem.

Sounds like "vgmodify" could help you.


>> maybe i need to explain more

Yes, please.

Hope this helps!
Regards
Torsten.

__________________________________________________

There are only 10 types of people in the world -
those who understand binary, and those who don't.

__________________________________________________

No support by private messages. Please ask the forum!

If you feel this was helpful please click the KUDOS! star in the left column!   
Please use plain text.
Frequent Advisor
marvin51796
Posts: 92
Registered: ‎03-12-2012
Message 6 of 10 (178 Views)

Re: vg upgrade from 1.0 to 2.1

I have a vg that is 1.0 i need to extend the vg and the lv, it says that i cant. After doing some research i have read that it needs to be level 2.1 to extend the vg past where i am. Is there a way to make the vg 2.1 with rebuilding it?

Please use plain text.
Acclaimed Contributor
Torsten.
Posts: 23,129
Registered: ‎10-02-2001
Message 7 of 10 (175 Views)

Re: vg upgrade from 1.0 to 2.1

I'm not sure if this solves your problem, because i dont know what your problem is ...

 

How about an exact commands and error messages???

 

vgdisplay output etc etc???

 

 

vgversion command can be used to "upgrade" volume groups, btw.


Hope this helps!
Regards
Torsten.

__________________________________________________

There are only 10 types of people in the world -
those who understand binary, and those who don't.

__________________________________________________

No support by private messages. Please ask the forum!

If you feel this was helpful please click the KUDOS! star in the left column!   
Please use plain text.
Frequent Advisor
marvin51796
Posts: 92
Registered: ‎03-12-2012
Message 8 of 10 (172 Views)

Re: vg upgrade from 1.0 to 2.1

yes the vgversion is the command i was looking for but it doesnt appear that it can be done LIVE, it looks like i ahve deactivate the vg to do this.....I was trying to do it without taking down the vg since this is a live system..

 

Please use plain text.
Acclaimed Contributor
Torsten.
Posts: 23,129
Registered: ‎10-02-2001
Message 9 of 10 (169 Views)

Re: vg upgrade from 1.0 to 2.1

VG must be deactivated for migration.

 

 

If you could tell more details about your problem we probably can help you ...


Hope this helps!
Regards
Torsten.

__________________________________________________

There are only 10 types of people in the world -
those who understand binary, and those who don't.

__________________________________________________

No support by private messages. Please ask the forum!

If you feel this was helpful please click the KUDOS! star in the left column!   
Please use plain text.
Trusted Contributor
Emil Velez_2
Posts: 118
Registered: ‎01-15-2002
Message 10 of 10 (155 Views)

Re: LVM upgrade

Assuming you have the software for LVM v2 loaded you can do a online upgrade with vxupgrade command that should be included with LVMv2 with one of the recent OE releases of 11.31.  Volume group must be deactivated and this cannot be done for vg00.

 

It seems to work fine with the systems I have done it to.

 

VG00 can be lvmv2 but only from a install as far as I know... (I could be wrong)

 

Good luck.. try it with a small VG first. it changes the structure of the VG and can be revered if no other changes have been made.

Emil Velez
HP UNIX Certified (CSA, CSE HPUX 11i High Availability) HP Software (Openview) Certified Consultant
Certified HP Instructor, Technical Certified I and II SMB and Enterprise
Master ASE Superdome Solutins

HP Education Services

Ask me about training on Blades, Proliant, HP-UX, ServiceGuard, Polyserve, X9000, Virtual Libraries, and High Availability

internet: Emil.Velez@hp.com
Linkedin: http://www.linkedin.com/in/emilvelez

Please use plain text.
The opinions expressed above are the personal opinions of the authors, not of HP. By using this site, you accept the Terms of Use and Rules of Participation