Re: Switch 4800G [Version 5.20 Release 2220P07] (329 Views)
Reply
Visitor
onemancrew
Posts: 3
Registered: ‎08-31-2013
Message 1 of 7 (468 Views)

Switch 4800G [Version 5.20 Release 2220P07]

Hi

 

I have 2 switches of 4800G and I would like to connect both of them through link aggregation.

I am using ethernet ports for this.

 

which type of Link Aggregation do I need to use for such target ? Manual or Static ?

 

the 2nd question which I have is the following: I couldn't bring up the link aggregation to be working.

 

when I run the following command:

 

display link-aggregation summary

 

I get the following output:

 

 

 display link-aggregation summary

 

 

the question is: how to make the interfaces to become "Select Ports" and not "Unselect Ports" ?

 

thanks in advanced for the assistance.

Trusted Contributor
Emil_Gogushev
Posts: 72
Registered: ‎09-06-2012
Message 2 of 7 (433 Views)

Re: Switch 4800G [Version 5.20 Release 2220P07]

Hi,

 

This status sometimes simply means that the cables are not connected.

But there can be other reasons:

 

Make sure that the device on the other side is using the same methode of aggregation.

Then make sure that the ports that were configured as part of the aggregation have the same port config.

-speed, duplex, link-type, supported VLANs.

 

Here is a document that describes some troubleshooting steps for a similar issue.

 

http://h20565.www2.hp.com/portal/site/hpsc/template.PAGE/public/kb/docDisplay/?spf_p.tpst=kbDocDispl...

Emil /HPN
Trusted Contributor
Vince_Whirlwind
Posts: 401
Registered: ‎02-25-2013
Message 3 of 7 (428 Views)

Re: Switch 4800G [Version 5.20 Release 2220P07]

Maybe try changing the link-aggregation mode on the bridge-agg interface to "Dynamic"?

Visitor
onemancrew
Posts: 3
Registered: ‎08-31-2013
Message 4 of 7 (416 Views)

Re: Switch 4800G [Version 5.20 Release 2220P07]

Hi

 

Please take a look on the 1st switch configuration:

 

 

Please take a look on the 2nd switch configuration:

 

 

the question is:

 

Why the ports in both sides are in "Unselected" State ?

 

here are the commands which I used in each switch:

 

interface Bridge-Aggregation 1
link-aggregation mode dynamic
quit

 

interface GigabitEthernet 1/0/23
port link-aggregation group 1
interface GigabitEthernet 1/0/24
port link-aggregation group 1
quit

 

interface Bridge-Aggregation 1
port link-type trunk
port trunk permit vlan 1 to 4

 

 

Trusted Contributor
Emil_Gogushev
Posts: 72
Registered: ‎09-06-2012
Message 5 of 7 (399 Views)

Re: Switch 4800G [Version 5.20 Release 2220P07]

 

Hello

The link aggregation mode is the same on both sides.
The first switch displays port numbers and MAC address of the second switch.
That means that it received LACP BPDU from it.
But the second switch doesnt display the port numbers and MAC address of the first.
So it could be that switch 1 doesnt send LACP BPDU or switch 2 doesnt accept this BPDUs for some reason.
I would check again the config to make sure that everything is consistent.
Maybe you could capture debugging messages to find out what exactly happens, if they are clear enough.

<4800-24G>debugging link-aggregation ?
  all    All debugging switch
  error  Error debugging switch
  event  Event debugging switch
  lacp   Configure LACP Protocol

 

Or if you need urgent solution just undo this configuration and configure the ports as static link-aggregation.

 

This document provides more information on the flags in the output of displ link-agg verbose, if you wish to troubleshoot furhter.
http://www.h3c.com/portal/Technical_Support___Documents/Technical_Documents/Switches/H3C_S5500_Serie...

Emil /HPN
Visitor
onemancrew
Posts: 3
Registered: ‎08-31-2013
Message 6 of 7 (388 Views)

Re: Switch 4800G [Version 5.20 Release 2220P07]

1st I would like to say thank you very much for the assistance.

in last I have success to build up the link aggregation.

 

I have now a pure lan routing issue.

 

I have created a VLAN interface in switch 1 (the 1st switch) and configured ip address 192.168.1.25 with MASK of /24

I have created a VLAN interface in switch 2 (the 2nd switch) and configured ip address 192.168.1.26 with MASK of /24

 

in both switches , the Bridge-Aggregation interface number 1 is member of VLAN number 1 , and the PVID is 1 in both switches.

 

for some unknown reason , when I am trying to ping from switch 1 to switch 2 , I failed.

also when I try to ping from switch 2 to switch 1 , I failed.

 

please take a look on the current configuration of switch 1:

 

http://s24.postimg.org/s82b0l4vp/sw1_lagg_status1.jpg
http://s14.postimg.org/4qwmes9f5/sw1_lagg_status2.jpg
http://s17.postimg.org/5ldlx9mtr/sw1_ping_test.jpg
http://s9.postimg.org/ma1q758y7/sw1_routing_bgp.jpg
http://s8.postimg.org/5dhssmvth/sw1_routing_direct_target.jpg
http://s12.postimg.org/lk92a4bxp/sw1_routing_direct.jpg
http://s8.postimg.org/6jlsrfk45/sw1_tracert_test.jpg
http://s17.postimg.org/tnz15vsun/sw1_vlan_all.jpg
http://s12.postimg.org/p6jh0i7ot/sw1_vlan_status1.jpg
http://s18.postimg.org/efiajldy1/sw1_vlan_status2.jpg

 

 

please take a look on the current configuration of switch 2:

 

http://s10.postimg.org/un1zwlk8p/sw2_interfaces_all.jpg
http://s9.postimg.org/ohjr0aidr/sw2_lagg_status1.jpg
http://s12.postimg.org/kap10amb1/sw2_lagg_status2.jpg
http://s8.postimg.org/csgbchwgl/sw2_routing_table_bgp.jpg
http://s7.postimg.org/jb0isqurv/sw2_routing_table_direct.jpg
http://s9.postimg.org/c6qsg7wcv/sw2_routing_table_specific_ip.jpg
http://s22.postimg.org/kul2wgp5t/sw2_routing_table.jpg
http://s22.postimg.org/5d266i82p/sw2_vlan_all.jpg

 

thanks in advanced for the assistance.

 

Honored Contributor
Peter_Debruyne
Posts: 334
Registered: ‎03-21-2011
Message 7 of 7 (329 Views)

Re: Switch 4800G [Version 5.20 Release 2220P07]

Hi,

 

These are generic troubleshooting steps, run these on both sides

1/ check physical layer and links with LLDP:

 # verify output and connections:

dis lldp ne list

2/ Layer2 linkagg

 # verify the links to the remote switch are properly member of the link-agg group

dis link verbose

 # Verify all links are selected

dis link sum

3/ Layer2 vlans

 # verify vlan untagged / tagged status on both sides is the same. For link-agg, the physical member ports MUST have the same vlan config as the bridge-agg (link-agg) parent interface.

dis port trunk

4/ Layer3 Local subnet

 # Verify local routing table and subnet mask

dis int vlan x

dis ip routing

 # Ping remote host, verify arp table

ping x.x.x.x

dis arp

 # verify if mac-address of remote host is visible in mac-table for correct vlan

dis mac-add

 # if fail, enable arp debugging, verify if packet is sent/received on remote side and if reply is sent/received on remote side.

user-view

term monitor

term debug

debug arp packet

ping x.x.x.x

 # Stop debug

undo debug all

 

 # enble ICMP TTL and dest unreachable processing (if you want tracert to work)

system-view

 ip ttl enable

 ip unreach enable

 

# trace

tracert x.x.x.x

 

# if L3 still fails, try eliminating physical layer, use 1 link in link-agg, test, then try the other link.

 

Hope these steps can help you,

 

Best regards,Peter.

The opinions expressed above are the personal opinions of the authors, not of HP. By using this site, you accept the Terms of Use and Rules of Participation.