Re: Complete newbie in 5406 inter vlan routing (382 Views)
Reply
Occasional Visitor
wstwong
Posts: 4
Registered: ‎10-24-2012
Message 1 of 7 (449 Views)

Complete newbie in 5406 inter vlan routing

I am completely new to 5406 routing. So, please be patient to my questions.

 

I currently have a network 10.0.4.0/22; all connected to a 5406 switch in VLAN 1 (ip10.10.7.238 / 22).

 

Now, I need to separate into some VLANS.

 

I just added VLAN 203 (ip 10.10.0.1 / 24). 

 

I managed to use ip helper-address so that under the new VLAN 203, I can get IP from DHCP server (ip 10.10.7.13) in VLAN 1

 

The problem is how can I allow my computers in VLAN 203 to be able to see servers and internet routers in VLAN 1?

 

I have added the following commands

ip default-gateway 10.10.7.253    (in VLAN 1)

ip routing

ip route 0.0.0.0 0.0.0.0 10.10.7.253

 

 

Actually, I have tried some ACL settings but no luck.

 

I guess inter VLAN routing should be enough for my purpose. What are the steps and commands that I should do?

 

 

Please use plain text.
Advisor
MarJ
Posts: 11
Registered: ‎12-17-2011
Message 2 of 7 (438 Views)

Re: Complete newbie in 5406 inter vlan routing

 

 

Is ip 10.10.0.1 set as gateway for computers on vlan 203 ?

 

 

Please use plain text.
Occasional Visitor
wstwong
Posts: 4
Registered: ‎10-24-2012
Message 3 of 7 (426 Views)

Re: Complete newbie in 5406 inter vlan routing

Yes, on VLAN 203, the default gateway is set to 10.10.0.1

On VLAN 1, the default gateway is set to 10.10.7.253.

 

I think this is all I need to do, but the fact is on VLAN 203, I can get IP from DHCP, I can ping to the DHCP server but not others. I suppose that 5406 will help me do the routing. Any idea? Am I missing anything?

Please use plain text.
Occasional Visitor
wstwong
Posts: 4
Registered: ‎10-24-2012
Message 4 of 7 (421 Views)

Re: Complete newbie in 5406 inter vlan routing

I have checked that management-vlan is not turned on.
Please use plain text.
Advisor
MarJ
Posts: 11
Registered: ‎12-17-2011
Message 5 of 7 (414 Views)

Re: Complete newbie in 5406 inter vlan routing

 

You should change gateway on VLAN 1 to ip10.10.7.238. This is ip configured on switch for VLAN1. True?

 

Computers on vlan1 that has ip 10.10.7.253 configured just send all comunication to default gw.(no intervlan routing)

 

Please use plain text.
Occasional Visitor
wstwong
Posts: 4
Registered: ‎10-24-2012
Message 6 of 7 (389 Views)

Re: Complete newbie in 5406 inter vlan routing

I have set the computer in VLAN 203 to have default gw=10.10.0.1, and tried some computers in VLAN 1 to have default gw=10.10.7.238 . But seems not working.

 

Then I add another VLAN 202, the default gateway is set to 10.10.2.1 (also this is the IP of VLAN 202). I find that the routing is successful.

 

Is it a problem of my setting or should I just need to wait for a while to be effective?

 

And I want to know if I would allow computers in VLAN 203/202/ .... to be able to access to the Internet. What should I do? 

I think I am done but not. From VLAN 203, default routes to 10.10.2.1 (5406 switch) then the switch routes to default gw 10.10.7.253 which is in VLAN 1. That's it.... But not working. I am using pfSense to act as the router.

Please use plain text.
Advisor
MarJ
Posts: 11
Registered: ‎12-17-2011
Message 7 of 7 (382 Views)

Re: Complete newbie in 5406 inter vlan routing

 Check NAT configuration on pfSense device. Add network 10.10.2.1 as nat source.

Please use plain text.
The opinions expressed above are the personal opinions of the authors, not of HP. By using this site, you accept the Terms of Use and Rules of Participation