number of fiber connection in a superdome (351 Views)
Reply
Occasional Advisor
jitjose
Posts: 10
Registered: ‎05-24-2012
Message 1 of 7 (351 Views)

number of fiber connection in a superdome

Dear All,

 

We are a procurring a new HP Superdome for migrating all our databases from the existing setup. Can you help me on deciding on the numbe of fiber connections for the Superdome. We will be creating nPars so will each of the nPars have different fc connection or the fc connection on the Superdome will be common accross all the nPars. So in this case if we have two nPars, four blades/nPar how many fc connection we will need to have?

 

Thanks for any info that can be provided.

Please use plain text.
Acclaimed Contributor
Torsten.
Posts: 23,191
Registered: ‎10-02-2001
Message 2 of 7 (348 Views)

Re: number of fiber connection in a superdome

This will depend on the expected workload. You need at least 2 per nPar, but you can have a lot more for better performance.

Hope this helps!
Regards
Torsten.

__________________________________________________

There are only 10 types of people in the world -
those who understand binary, and those who don't.

__________________________________________________

No support by private messages. Please ask the forum!

If you feel this was helpful please click the KUDOS! star in the left column!   
Please use plain text.
Occasional Advisor
jitjose
Posts: 10
Registered: ‎05-24-2012
Message 3 of 7 (346 Views)

Re: number of fiber connection in a superdome

Thanks, so if we go with 8 fc connection for the supordome will the 8 fc connection be common for all the nPars?

If there are two nPars, will 'ioscan -fnC fc' command on each nPar give 8 fc output?

Please use plain text.
Acclaimed Contributor
Torsten.
Posts: 23,191
Registered: ‎10-02-2001
Message 4 of 7 (338 Views)

Re: number of fiber connection in a superdome

Resources are not shared in any way between nPars, so if you have 8 FC HBAs, you will have 4 per nPar if creating 2 nPars.

Hope this helps!
Regards
Torsten.

__________________________________________________

There are only 10 types of people in the world -
those who understand binary, and those who don't.

__________________________________________________

No support by private messages. Please ask the forum!

If you feel this was helpful please click the KUDOS! star in the left column!   
Please use plain text.
Occasional Advisor
jitjose
Posts: 10
Registered: ‎05-24-2012
Message 5 of 7 (335 Views)

Re: number of fiber connection in a superdome

Thanks Torsten..one more question - if we build 4 blades per partition and each nPar has 8 FC then will all the 4 blades under the nPar will see the 8 fc?

Please use plain text.
Acclaimed Contributor
Torsten.
Posts: 23,191
Registered: ‎10-02-2001
Message 6 of 7 (316 Views)

Re: number of fiber connection in a superdome

Consider an nPar just like a standalone system.

 

An nPar may range from a single blade and a single I/O bay up to the complete SD2 complex. nPars cannot share resources in any way.


Hope this helps!
Regards
Torsten.

__________________________________________________

There are only 10 types of people in the world -
those who understand binary, and those who don't.

__________________________________________________

No support by private messages. Please ask the forum!

If you feel this was helpful please click the KUDOS! star in the left column!   
Please use plain text.
HP Pro
S_Logan
Posts: 310
Registered: ‎10-11-2008
Message 7 of 7 (307 Views)

Re: number of fiber connection in a superdome

Hi Jose,

 

If you have 4 nPar/Hard Partitions, 4 nPartitions like 4 different servers, it will not share any resources.

you can have atleast 2 FC connections/nPar for Failover/redundancy purpose.

 

 

Regards,

S_Logan

I work for HP
Please use plain text.
The opinions expressed above are the personal opinions of the authors, not of HP. By using this site, you accept the Terms of Use and Rules of Participation