Old Firmware for New Old RX1600 (1064 Views)
Reply
Regular Advisor
Stephen C. Jackson
Posts: 84
Registered: ‎03-11-2007
Message 1 of 17 (1,064 Views)
Accepted Solution

Old Firmware for New Old RX1600

 

 I recently bought a brand new, never used, Itanium RX1600, built in 2004.  I don’t think it was ever registered with HP.  I need to update the machine’s firmware to run I64 OpenVMS V8.4.  It currently is running firmware version E01.02.  I have discovered I need firmware versions E.02.26 & E.02.29 to then upgrade it to the firmware I do have.  I have not been able to find any of this firmware on the web and of course HP wants a maintenance contract to help.

 

Can anyone help me.

Stephen C. Jackson
SCJ Consulting
Acclaimed Contributor
Torsten.
Posts: 23,450
Registered: ‎10-02-2001
Message 2 of 17 (1,059 Views)

Re: Old Firmware for New Old RX1600

[ Edited ]

The E.02... firmware is for the MP, you are right, steps are needed.

 

For most systems of this family:

 

E.02.10
E.02.26
E.02.29
E.03.32

 

This is the current software page:

 

http://h20565.www2.hp.com/portal/site/hpsc/template.PAGE/public/psi/swdHome/?sp4ts.oid=406201&spf_p....

 

Here are some of the MP versions:

 

http://h20565.www2.hp.com/portal/site/hpsc/template.PAGE/public/psi/swdDetails/?sp4ts.oid=406201&spf...

 

  Version:E.03.15 (EFI Image) (7 Jul 2005)   Version:E.03.13 (EFI Image) (31 Jan 2005)  

Version:E.02.29 (EFI Image) (22 Jun 2004)

 

 

 

 

 

 

Please go to

 

 

MP:CM>

 

and send us a "sysrev" output.

 

 

 

Example:

 

MP:CM> sysrev


SYSREV

Current firmware revisions

 MP FW     : E.03.15
 BMC FW    : 03.48
 EFI FW    : 02.14
 System FW : 02.18


Hope this helps!
Regards
Torsten.

__________________________________________________

There are only 10 types of people in the world -
those who understand binary, and those who don't.

__________________________________________________

No support by private messages. Please ask the forum!

If you feel this was helpful please click the KUDOS! thumb below!   
Regular Advisor
Stephen C. Jackson
Posts: 84
Registered: ‎03-11-2007
Message 3 of 17 (1,046 Views)

Re: Old Firmware for New Old RX1600

I seem to be missing part of your message.

 

I was able to download E.02.29.  Now I have to find a PC tar emulator.

 

I'm not quite sure of your shell commands.  When I boot up my firmware disk, it tells me I have:

 

System Firmware 1.10

BMC                            2.26

MP                               Unknown

 

Maybe I am not as bad off as I though I was.  I'm not sure where I got the 01.02 from.

 

Stephen C. Jackson
SCJ Consulting
Acclaimed Contributor
Torsten.
Posts: 23,450
Registered: ‎10-02-2001
Message 4 of 17 (1,042 Views)

Re: Old Firmware for New Old RX1600

[ Edited ]

Maybe you don't have a MP card (this was optional).

Copy the files to an USB stick, go to EFI and start the update:

http://h20565.www2.hp.com/portal/site/hpsc/template.PAGE/public/psi/swdDetails/?sp4ts.oid=406201&spf...

 

 

See the revision history, version 1.10 was the initial release:

 

http://h20565.www2.hp.com/portal/site/hpsc/template.PAGE/public/psi/swdDetails/?sp4ts.oid=406201&spf...

 

 


Hope this helps!
Regards
Torsten.

__________________________________________________

There are only 10 types of people in the world -
those who understand binary, and those who don't.

__________________________________________________

No support by private messages. Please ask the forum!

If you feel this was helpful please click the KUDOS! thumb below!   
Regular Advisor
Stephen C. Jackson
Posts: 84
Registered: ‎03-11-2007
Message 5 of 17 (1,032 Views)

Re: Old Firmware for New Old RX1600

You are right, NO MP.  I was thinking of adding a supported graphics card to see if I could get beyond having serial terminals.

 

I copied both files CF_CEVERMPE0229.tar.gv and .tar to a USB 2.0 stick.  When I go to the EFI shell is sees to USB devices, the other being a keyboard, as blk0: & blk1:.  Not being much of a unix person, when I type either blk0: or blk1: and try to do a ls or dir, they give me an error of No Mapping.

 

Any more ideas

Stephen C. Jackson
SCJ Consulting
Acclaimed Contributor
Torsten.
Posts: 23,450
Registered: ‎10-02-2001
Message 6 of 17 (1,026 Views)

Re: Old Firmware for New Old RX1600

format the stick with FAT32 and unpack the files (try 7-zip). keep the stick connected while booting and look for fs0:

Hope this helps!
Regards
Torsten.

__________________________________________________

There are only 10 types of people in the world -
those who understand binary, and those who don't.

__________________________________________________

No support by private messages. Please ask the forum!

If you feel this was helpful please click the KUDOS! thumb below!   
Regular Advisor
Stephen C. Jackson
Posts: 84
Registered: ‎03-11-2007
Message 7 of 17 (1,021 Views)

Re: Old Firmware for New Old RX1600

I'm afraid I can't seem to make it work.

 

I actually put all 3 files on a FAT32 formated memory stick - .tar.fsz, .tar, and .efi.

 

No FS0 device on boot or in EFI shell.  I can map the blk0-4 to a fsx device, I can mount the blk0 or blk1 devices, but there seems to be nothing there.  I even tried to boot from a file using the USB, but that failed too.

 

 

Stephen C. Jackson
SCJ Consulting
Acclaimed Contributor
Torsten.
Posts: 23,450
Registered: ‎10-02-2001
Message 8 of 17 (1,014 Views)

Re: Old Firmware for New Old RX1600

do

reconnect -r

and

map -r

now.

fs0: visible? yIII u may try the ISO from the link I gave you.

sent from my mobile

Hope this helps!
Regards
Torsten.

__________________________________________________

There are only 10 types of people in the world -
those who understand binary, and those who don't.

__________________________________________________

No support by private messages. Please ask the forum!

If you feel this was helpful please click the KUDOS! thumb below!   
Regular Advisor
Stephen C. Jackson
Posts: 84
Registered: ‎03-11-2007
Message 9 of 17 (987 Views)

Re: Old Firmware for New Old RX1600

I'm sorry, I just got around trying out your last response.

 

reconnect -r  - Justs displays the 2 scsi disks & 2 ethernet ports

 

map -r - displays

 

blk0 :  xxxxxxxx/Ata(Primary, Master)

blk1:   xxxxxxxx/usb(0, 0)

blk2:   xxxxxxxx/usb(0,0)/HD(Part1, Sig00000000)

blk3:   xxxxxxxx/Scsi(Pun0,Lun0)

blk4:   xxxxxxxx/Scsi(Pun1,Lun0)

 

No fs0:

 

I seem to be still misunderstanding you.

 

Stephen C. Jackson
SCJ Consulting
Acclaimed Contributor
Torsten.
Posts: 23,450
Registered: ‎10-02-2001
Message 10 of 17 (982 Views)

Re: Old Firmware for New Old RX1600

[ Edited ]

There is the CD-ROM, the USB stick and the drives listed.

 

Something wrong with your USB stick?

NTFS formatted?

 

Try to fromat it again with FAT32 or burn the ISO file to a CD-ROM.

 

 

It should look like this:

 

Shell> map -r
Device mapping table
  fs0  : Acpi(HWP0002,0)/Pci(1|0)/Usb(1, 0)/HD(Part1,SigC3072E18)
  blk0 : Acpi(HWP0002,0)/Pci(2|0)/Ata(Primary,Master)
  blk1 : Acpi(HWP0002,0)/Pci(1|0)/Usb(1, 0)
  blk2 : Acpi(HWP0002,0)/Pci(1|0)/Usb(1, 0)/HD(Part1,SigC3072E18)


Hope this helps!
Regards
Torsten.

__________________________________________________

There are only 10 types of people in the world -
those who understand binary, and those who don't.

__________________________________________________

No support by private messages. Please ask the forum!

If you feel this was helpful please click the KUDOS! thumb below!   
Regular Advisor
Stephen C. Jackson
Posts: 84
Registered: ‎03-11-2007
Message 11 of 17 (975 Views)

Re: Old Firmware for New Old RX1600

 

I must have formatted the memory stick incorrectly , because I did it again, and fs0: showed up.

 

FWEUPDATE started up and in about 20 seconds aborted because I do not have MP on this system?

 

 

You keep on mentioning an ISO CD, but none of these early updates come in ISO formats, just files that can become .efi.

 

Any other ideas on how to find an update that does not require MP?

Stephen C. Jackson
SCJ Consulting
Acclaimed Contributor
Torsten.
Posts: 23,450
Registered: ‎10-02-2001
Message 12 of 17 (970 Views)

Re: Old Firmware for New Old RX1600

can you capture the output and attach?

Hope this helps!
Regards
Torsten.

__________________________________________________

There are only 10 types of people in the world -
those who understand binary, and those who don't.

__________________________________________________

No support by private messages. Please ask the forum!

If you feel this was helpful please click the KUDOS! thumb below!   
Regular Advisor
Stephen C. Jackson
Posts: 84
Registered: ‎03-11-2007
Message 13 of 17 (963 Views)

Re: Old Firmware for New Old RX1600

 

I hope this helps.

 

I started looking around for the part number for the MP on a RX1600,  which they seem to call ECI (Enhanced Manageability), but have not found anything yet.

Stephen C. Jackson
SCJ Consulting
Acclaimed Contributor
Torsten.
Posts: 23,450
Registered: ‎10-02-2001
Message 14 of 17 (951 Views)

Re: Old Firmware for New Old RX1600

wrong file. you need the system firmware from the link i posted earlier.

Hope this helps!
Regards
Torsten.

__________________________________________________

There are only 10 types of people in the world -
those who understand binary, and those who don't.

__________________________________________________

No support by private messages. Please ask the forum!

If you feel this was helpful please click the KUDOS! thumb below!   
Regular Advisor
Stephen C. Jackson
Posts: 84
Registered: ‎03-11-2007
Message 15 of 17 (944 Views)

Re: Old Firmware for New Old RX1600

 

I'm sorry.  All the links you supplied me, with various downloads such as PF_CONYXSYS0218EFI.tar.gz, require an agreement with HP.  I can't download any of them.  Try it.

 

Stephen C. Jackson
SCJ Consulting
Acclaimed Contributor
Torsten.
Posts: 23,450
Registered: ‎10-02-2001
Message 16 of 17 (930 Views)

Re: Old Firmware for New Old RX1600

Few days ago I downloaded the file.

Obviously HP started now to protect 10 years old files ...


Hope this helps!
Regards
Torsten.

__________________________________________________

There are only 10 types of people in the world -
those who understand binary, and those who don't.

__________________________________________________

No support by private messages. Please ask the forum!

If you feel this was helpful please click the KUDOS! thumb below!   
Regular Advisor
Stephen C. Jackson
Posts: 84
Registered: ‎03-11-2007
Message 17 of 17 (901 Views)

Re: Old Firmware for New Old RX1600

 

I was able to find and download all firmware updates and install them all from the USB drive.

 

It was kind of interesting to watch the boot screen get more features.

 

I am now trying to install I64 OpenVMS V8.4 and seeing the same mount DQA0: mount verification problems I saw before I was able to update the firmware.  Oh, on to new problems.

 

Thanks for your great help on this one.

Stephen C. Jackson
SCJ Consulting
The opinions expressed above are the personal opinions of the authors, not of HP. By using this site, you accept the Terms of Use and Rules of Participation.