Re: ignite-ux ia64 with 1x8 G2 Autoloader (162 Views)
Reply
Advisor
Fred.B
Posts: 27
Registered: ‎01-26-2010
Message 1 of 14 (164 Views)
Accepted Solution

ignite-ux ia64 with 1x8 G2 Autoloader

How would I go about creating an ignite tape on an HP-UX 11iV3 ia64 system that only has a 1x8 HP StorageWorks Autoloader? I realize I can simply remove 7 of the tapes to ensure that they are not over-written, and I know the device is /dev/rmt/4mn but do I need to specify a slot number, and if so how would that be done?
Please use plain text.
Acclaimed Contributor
Torsten.
Posts: 23,129
Registered: ‎10-02-2001
Message 2 of 14 (164 Views)

Re: ignite-ux ia64 with 1x8 G2 Autoloader

The tape must be manually loaded into the drive, ignite cannot do this.

Hope this helps!
Regards
Torsten.

__________________________________________________

There are only 10 types of people in the world -
those who understand binary, and those who don't.

__________________________________________________

No support by private messages. Please ask the forum!

If you feel this was helpful please click the KUDOS! star in the left column!   
Please use plain text.
Trusted Contributor
Tor-Arne Nostdal
Posts: 268
Registered: ‎08-17-1998
Message 3 of 14 (164 Views)

Re: ignite-ux ia64 with 1x8 G2 Autoloader

If you are using DataProtector you might use the uma command to load the tape.

uma(1M)
NAME
uma - controls the robotics of SCSI compliant autochangers

/Tor-Arne
I'm trying to become President of the state I'm in...
Please use plain text.
Honored Contributor
Bill Hassell
Posts: 14,178
Registered: ‎05-29-2000
Message 4 of 14 (164 Views)

Re: ignite-ux ia64 with 1x8 G2 Autoloader

Tape changers are actually two independent systems. One is the tape drive (or drives) and the other is the changer. You should always use the mc command to load the desired tape into the tape drive, perform your backup and then use mc to remove the tape. Some tape changers have automatic load options -- don't enable this feature for your system. mc works very well and is easy to use. The Data Protector uma command performs similar functions but mc is standard with HP-UX.
Please use plain text.
Advisor
Fred.B
Posts: 27
Registered: ‎01-26-2010
Message 5 of 14 (164 Views)

Re: ignite-ux ia64 with 1x8 G2 Autoloader

last question with regards to ignite. Can I run ignite with the system online (user accessable) or does it have to be done offline? Thanks for everyones help..
Please use plain text.
Honored Contributor
Alzhy
Posts: 4,373
Registered: ‎01-22-2002
Message 6 of 14 (164 Views)

Re: ignite-ux ia64 with 1x8 G2 Autoloader

Use the "mc" command.
With mc command, you can command your jukebos, auto loader, tape library etc to do things for you like:

- find a media
- check if media is in the library
- check if drive is in use
- move media from slot to drive
- etc.

Do an "ioscan -kfnC autoch" to find the HP-UX device for you ronit firstly. Then use it as the "-p" argument in "mc":

i.e.:

mc -p /dev/rac/c10t0d0 -s S6 -d D1

moves Tape in Slot 6 to Drive 1



MAN "mc" -- there are even examples there.
Hakuna Matata.
Please use plain text.
Honored Contributor
Bill Hassell
Posts: 14,178
Registered: ‎05-29-2000
Message 7 of 14 (164 Views)

Re: ignite-ux ia64 with 1x8 G2 Autoloader

> Can I run ignite with the system online (user accessable) or does it have to be done offline?

You can run make_tape_recovery while the system is running. HOWEVER, the assumption is that you are selecting just vg00 and within vg00, there are no databases or other high activity files. The purpose of an ignite backup is to create a bootable image of the OS and backup of OS files -- nothing more. Here is the command you would use (after loading the desired tape):

make_tape_recovery -I -v -x inc_entire=vg00 -a /dev/rmt/0mn

where: /dev/rmt/0mn is the tape drive you want to use.
Please use plain text.
Advisor
Fred.B
Posts: 27
Registered: ‎01-26-2010
Message 8 of 14 (164 Views)

Re: ignite-ux ia64 with 1x8 G2 Autoloader

I'm having difficulties with the mc command so I did a 'ioscan -C tape -fn' which returned the following:

Class I H/W Path Driver S/W State H/W Type Description
==================================================================
tape 4 0/5/1/0/4/0.4.0 stape CLAIMED DEVICE HP Ultrium 2-SCSI
/dev/rmt/4m /dev/rmt/4mn /dev/rmt/c2t4d0BEST /dev/rmt/c2t4d0BESTn
/dev/rmt/4mb /dev/rmt/4mnb /dev/rmt/c2t4d0BESTb /dev/rmt/c2t4d0BESTnb

I know that with ignite I have to specify no-rewind so I tried the following command:
mc -p /dev/rmt/c2t4d0BESTn -s S8 -d D1
and got this:
ERROR: 0x5 Illegal Request : 0x2400 Invalid field in command descriptor block
If I understand this correctly it should have moved the tape in slot 8 to drive 1. I tried the same command using 4mn and got the same result. I noticed in HP Data Protector (HPDP) that the changer robotics uses /dev/rchgr/autoch5 and the drive in HPDP says /dev/rmt/4mn

So what am I doing incorrectly? Thanks again..
Please use plain text.
Honored Contributor
Alzhy
Posts: 4,373
Registered: ‎01-22-2002
Message 9 of 14 (164 Views)

Re: ignite-ux ia64 with 1x8 G2 Autoloader

Have you done:

ioscan -kfnC autoch

to find out your robotics/autochanger loader device?
Hakuna Matata.
Please use plain text.
Honored Contributor
Alzhy
Posts: 4,373
Registered: ‎01-22-2002
Message 10 of 14 (164 Views)

Re: ignite-ux ia64 with 1x8 G2 Autoloader

You DO NOT use a tape drive device as argument (-p) to the "mc" command good sir.

Post the result of your "ioscan -kfnC autoch" please. That will tell us if your robotics is even seen by the OS.
Hakuna Matata.
Please use plain text.
Advisor
Fred.B
Posts: 27
Registered: ‎01-26-2010
Message 11 of 14 (162 Views)

Re: ignite-ux ia64 with 1x8 G2 Autoloader

I did the ioscan -kfnC autoch and it returned /dev/rac/c2t4d1 so I did the following:

mc -p /dev/rac/c2t4d1 -s S8 -d D1

verified it mounted by doing:

mc -p /dev/rac/c2t4d1 -r DS

then unmounted it by doing this:

mc -p /dev/rac/c2t4d1 -s D1 -d S8

I then ejected the magazines, and reinserted them to normal up the StorageWorks Autoloader device as indicated in the man mc.

Based on my previous entries, and all your responses I want to check one last time, this is what I need to do to actually run the make_tape_recovery:

mc -p /dev/rac/c2t4d1 -s S8 -d D1

make_tape_recovery -I -v -x inc_entire=vg00 -a /dev/rmt/4mn

mc -p /dev/rac/c2t4d1 -s D1 -d S8

for information purposes I am using slot 8 as it is my spare tape slot.



Please use plain text.
Advisor
Fred.B
Posts: 27
Registered: ‎01-26-2010
Message 12 of 14 (162 Views)

Re: ignite-ux ia64 with 1x8 G2 Autoloader

I just ran the make_tape_recovery and received this warning:

WARNING: There was a problem with the list of files/directories to archive.
Input: /var/opt/ignite/recovery/2010-12-20,17:47/flist
The following line(s) had too few/incorrect entries:
Problem lines:
line: 21 util/saferoot/topudt 100664 1250799983 12021 16 NA 1 0xc1c 0x40000003

Is this something that I should be concerned with? The total run time run about 16 minutes, with vg00 equaling about 19gb. And it did give me this.

* Cleaning up old configuration file directories

======= 12/20/10 18:03:14 CST make_tape_recovery completed with warnings
Please use plain text.
Acclaimed Contributor
Dennis Handly
Posts: 24,750
Registered: ‎03-06-2006
Message 13 of 14 (162 Views)

Re: ignite-ux ia64 with 1x8 G2 Autoloader

>line: 21 util/saferoot/topudt 100664 1250799983 12021 16 NA 1 0xc1c 0x40000003

Do you see a line in flist with that content? That 21 above should be the length of the filename and there have been problems like this for blanks.

Can you list that directory with -b so you can see embedded blanks.
Please use plain text.
Regular Advisor
eric lipede_1
Posts: 85
Registered: ‎04-09-2010
Message 14 of 14 (162 Views)

Re: ignite-ux ia64 with 1x8 G2 Autoloader

Hi - is this an HP supported drive/ IGNITE setup ? Just curious
Please use plain text.
The opinions expressed above are the personal opinions of the authors, not of HP. By using this site, you accept the Terms of Use and Rules of Participation