how Configuring Ignite on SAN Tape (300 Views)
Reply
Trusted Contributor
Vishu
Posts: 407
Registered: ‎03-27-2007
Message 1 of 9 (300 Views)
Accepted Solution

how Configuring Ignite on SAN Tape

Hi,

 

I am having an Intergrity server, where the tape library is connected. i want to configure my ignite backup on those tapes. I know that i need to use mc command to change move the tapes in the library, but what i am not sure about the device file i need to use with mc command and how do i configure my ignite backup on them.

 

Please help me in it.

 

thanks

 

Acclaimed Contributor
Torsten.
Posts: 23,367
Registered: ‎10-02-2001
Message 2 of 9 (295 Views)

Re: how Configuring Ignite on SAN Tape

You need to use the picker (robotic) device file when using "mc", but you can also load the tape via the library management tools.

Once the tape is loaded, just point ignite to the appropriate device file of the tape drive.

 

Note: not each and every tape drive supports boot from tape!

 

Maybe you need to use the 2-step procedure (boot from install media, restore from tape.


Hope this helps!
Regards
Torsten.

__________________________________________________

There are only 10 types of people in the world -
those who understand binary, and those who don't.

__________________________________________________

No support by private messages. Please ask the forum!

If you feel this was helpful please click the KUDOS! thumb below!   
Trusted Contributor
Vishu
Posts: 407
Registered: ‎03-27-2007
Message 3 of 9 (283 Views)

Re: how Configuring Ignite on SAN Tape

Thanks Torsten,

 

But can you please tell me how can i identify which is the robotic device file, which can be used with "mc" command.

 

Acclaimed Contributor
Torsten.
Posts: 23,367
Registered: ‎10-02-2001
Message 4 of 9 (276 Views)

Re: how Configuring Ignite on SAN Tape

Example:

 

 

# ioscan -fn

...

autoch       0  0/3/1/0.10.21.255.0.0.0  schgr            CLAIMED     DEVICE       HP      MSL6000 Series
                              /dev/rac/c17t0d0

...

 

#mc -p /dev/rac/c17t0d0 -r IDSM


Hope this helps!
Regards
Torsten.

__________________________________________________

There are only 10 types of people in the world -
those who understand binary, and those who don't.

__________________________________________________

No support by private messages. Please ask the forum!

If you feel this was helpful please click the KUDOS! thumb below!   
Trusted Contributor
Vishu
Posts: 407
Registered: ‎03-27-2007
Message 5 of 9 (265 Views)

Re: how Configuring Ignite on SAN Tape

Hi Torsten,

 

I m getting here as :

 

tape         2  0/3/1/0/4/1.1.23.255.0.0.0  stape          CLAIMED     DEVICE       HP      Ultrium 3-SCSI
                               /dev/rmt/2m             /dev/rmt/2mn            /dev/rmt/c18t0d0BEST    /dev/rmt/c18t0d0BESTn
                               /dev/rmt/2mb            /dev/rmt/2mnb           /dev/rmt/c18t0d0BESTb   /dev/rmt/c18t0d0BESTnb


unknown     -1  0/3/1/0/4/1.1.23.255.0.0.1                 UNCLAIMED   UNKNOWN      HP      MSL G3 Series

Acclaimed Contributor
Torsten.
Posts: 23,367
Registered: ‎10-02-2001
Message 6 of 9 (263 Views)

Re: how Configuring Ignite on SAN Tape

[ Edited ]

You need to include the "schgr" driver into the kernel!

 

Then the device (MSL 2024/4048/8096) will no longer be UNKNOWN.

 

 

Consider to use the web front end of the library to move a tape into the drive!

 

What is you OS version (11.23/11.31)?


Hope this helps!
Regards
Torsten.

__________________________________________________

There are only 10 types of people in the world -
those who understand binary, and those who don't.

__________________________________________________

No support by private messages. Please ask the forum!

If you feel this was helpful please click the KUDOS! thumb below!   
Trusted Contributor
Vishu
Posts: 407
Registered: ‎03-27-2007
Message 7 of 9 (258 Views)

Re: how Configuring Ignite on SAN Tape

 

 

My OS-version is HP-UX 11.23.

 

Can you please tell how i can get this web front end of the library?

 

Acclaimed Contributor
Torsten.
Posts: 23,367
Registered: ‎10-02-2001
Message 8 of 9 (254 Views)

Re: how Configuring Ignite on SAN Tape

Point your browser to the IP address of the library, log on, select operate and move a tape from slot to drive.

Hope this helps!
Regards
Torsten.

__________________________________________________

There are only 10 types of people in the world -
those who understand binary, and those who don't.

__________________________________________________

No support by private messages. Please ask the forum!

If you feel this was helpful please click the KUDOS! thumb below!   
Trusted Contributor
Vishu
Posts: 407
Registered: ‎03-27-2007
Message 9 of 9 (249 Views)

Re: how Configuring Ignite on SAN Tape

Thanks so much Torsten.

 

I got my solution. you are always a great help!!! :-)

The opinions expressed above are the personal opinions of the authors, not of HP. By using this site, you accept the Terms of Use and Rules of Participation.