Re: Ignite error when trying to net install (346 Views)
Reply
Occasional Visitor
Fred000
Posts: 4
Registered: ‎07-19-2006
Message 1 of 10 (346 Views)

Ignite error when trying to net install

HI, I currently have an ignite server running version C.6.4.64 on HP-UX 11.11. When trying to install one of my PA C-240 system over the network, I get the following errors;

NOTE: run_cmd: Process: 38 (net_cfg_prep): killed by signal: 1.
ERROR: Could not open /tmp/env.vars: No such file or directory (errno = 2).
ERROR: Could not execute net_cfg_prep
NOTE: System rebooting...

When executing boot lan.xx.xx.xx install, the system has NO problem contacting the Ignite server and the ignite installation GUI comes up. However, once I select "INstall HP-UX", that's when I get that error. I have several C240 systems and this seems to occurs only on certain ones. This also happens on one of my L-class system. Does anyone know why this is happening? Thank you
Exalted Contributor
Steven E. Protter
Posts: 33,806
Registered: ‎08-15-2002
Message 2 of 10 (346 Views)

Re: Ignite error when trying to net install

Shalom,

There is a log file on the Ignite server in the client directory in /var/opt/ignite It might help with the error.

SEP
Steven E Protter
Owner of ISN Corporation
http://isnamerica.com
http://hpuxconsulting.com
Sponsor: http://hpux.ws
Twitter: http://twitter.com/hpuxlinux
Founder http://newdatacloud.com
Occasional Visitor
Fred000
Posts: 4
Registered: ‎07-19-2006
Message 3 of 10 (346 Views)

Re: Ignite error when trying to net install

Hi SEP,

Thanks for the quick reply. I did try to look for the log, but the install.log wasn't even created for that client.

Fred
Honored Contributor
Prashanth.D.S
Posts: 407
Registered: ‎02-23-2006
Message 4 of 10 (346 Views)

Re: Ignite error when trying to net install

Hi,

The workaround for this problem depends on if you are using
make_tape_recovery or make_net_recovery.

If you are using make_tape_recovery first run make_tape_recovery in
preview mode with the -p option (and all of the options you would
normally use):

# make_tape_recovery -p ...
# cd /var/opt/ignite/recovery/latest

Edit the system_cfg file and remove any lines that look like:

disk[???]

In the logical volume definitions (the text in the [] shown above
as ??? will be a hardware path or variable name, e.g. _hp_root_disk).

Continue the creation of the recovery tape by running the same
make_tape_recovery command except use the -r option instead of the -p
option (to resume the creation of the recovery tape that was just
previewed).

When using make_net_recovery you can edit the system_cfg file of the
network recovery image you are attempting to recover to remove the disk
[???] entries in the logical volume definitions as indicated above.

Best Regards,
Prashanth
Respected Contributor
NMory
Posts: 272
Registered: ‎03-21-2006
Message 5 of 10 (346 Views)

Re: Ignite error when trying to net install

Fred:

Have you tried using the latest Ignite version?

http://www.docs.hp.com/en/IUX/download.html

LN
Occasional Visitor
Fred000
Posts: 4
Registered: ‎07-19-2006
Message 6 of 10 (346 Views)

Re: Ignite error when trying to net install

HI Prashanth,

Thank you for the information. However, I am not using make_net_recovery or make_tape_recovery. I am simply booting the client through network to install HP-UX, rather than using a CD.

HI LN,

Thanks for the link, I just tried and installed the latest 6.8 from the link you provided. Still having the same problem. The wierd thing is, only 2 of my 4 workstation have this problem. The other 2 boots into the GUI fine.
Respected Contributor
NMory
Posts: 272
Registered: ‎03-21-2006
Message 7 of 10 (346 Views)

Re: Ignite error when trying to net install

What about the specs of those 2 other servers, what is the difference between those 2 and the other ones that work? I mean Hardware, for example memory, etc...

LN
Occasional Visitor
Fred000
Posts: 4
Registered: ‎07-19-2006
Message 8 of 10 (346 Views)

Re: Ignite error when trying to net install

Hi LN,

Funny thing is, all four systems are identical in every way, same processor speed, same amount of memory, same number and size of harddrive. The only thing that's different between the 4 C240 systems are thier MAC address and serial number.

Fred
Honored Contributor
Sameer_Nirmal
Posts: 2,108
Registered: ‎02-21-2004
Message 9 of 10 (346 Views)

Re: Ignite error when trying to net install

I guess the signal number in the error is 11 instead of 1. If this is the case, then this was a known issue.

Since you have upgraded the IG-UX server to C.6.8, I would suggest to remove those 2 clients and add them back . Try net install thereafter. If it doesn't work, then your best option would be to place a s/w support call with HP.

Occasional Visitor
JuanPlata
Posts: 1
Registered: ‎11-28-2013
Message 10 of 10 (234 Views)

Re: Ignite error when trying to net install

In my case, the problem was simply that i was introducing the second dvd instead of the first !!

 

The message is exactly the same that you are exposed.

 

Regards

The opinions expressed above are the personal opinions of the authors, not of HP. By using this site, you accept the Terms of Use and Rules of Participation.