Changing Server Name In ILO (9552 Views)
Reply
Frequent Advisor
fluidville
Posts: 50
Registered: ‎05-31-2006
Message 1 of 16 (9,552 Views)
Accepted Solution

Changing Server Name In ILO

Does anybody know if there is any way of changing the server name field in the ILO enviroment, with out having to reset, or rebuild ILO or the server.
Please use plain text.
Honored Contributor
Steven Clementi
Posts: 4,430
Registered: ‎07-28-2004
Message 2 of 16 (9,552 Views)

Re: Changing Server Name In ILO

The iLo takes the configured Server Name from the host OS. You can not change it unless you change it in the OS (usually).

The iLo also has it's own hostname. Which of the 2 do you want to change?


Steven
Steven Clementi
HP Master ASE, Storage and Clustering
MCSE (NT 4.0, W2K, W2K3)
VCP (ESX2, Vi3, vSphere4, vSphere5)
RHCE
Please use plain text.
Frequent Advisor
fluidville
Posts: 50
Registered: ‎05-31-2006
Message 3 of 16 (9,552 Views)

Re: Changing Server Name In ILO

It was the server name with in ILO that i was looking to change but i think you have pretty much answered my question, so far as where ILO get the server name from.


Please use plain text.
Occasional Advisor
Agedmcse
Posts: 7
Registered: ‎06-26-2006
Message 4 of 16 (9,552 Views)

Re: Changing Server Name In ILO

I am puzzled since in my case the server host name within ILO(not the ILO subsystem name)is totally different to the server Netbios name. Is there any way of changing the name elseware.
Please use plain text.
Occasional Contributor
William Nyden
Posts: 6
Registered: ‎07-27-2006
Message 5 of 16 (9,552 Views)

Re: Changing Server Name In ILO

I have the same question, but I have a Linux OS on my DL 585. The iLO apparently doesn't know where to find the system's hostname to apply to the "Server Name".
Please use plain text.
Respected Contributor
NMory
Posts: 272
Registered: ‎03-21-2006
Message 6 of 16 (9,552 Views)

Re: Changing Server Name In ILO

My understanding is that information is given by HP Insight Management Agents, who interact with your Hardware-OS, so whatever name you give to the server in Windows you will get in the iLO.

Regards,

LNassar
Please use plain text.
Occasional Contributor
William Nyden
Posts: 6
Registered: ‎07-27-2006
Message 7 of 16 (9,552 Views)

Re: Changing Server Name In ILO

This doesn't solve my problem, unless you're saying I have to load Windows on the system to give it its name and then rebuild the system with Linux.
Please use plain text.
Occasional Visitor
Cory Sample
Posts: 2
Registered: ‎08-09-2007
Message 8 of 16 (9,552 Views)

Re: Changing Server Name In ILO

I too have the same issue. I HAD a windows OS on a ProLiant DL380 G4 and it is now a ESX 3.0 server. iLO reports the name of the old Windows OS. How is it that i can get that changed?
Please use plain text.
Occasional Visitor
jozelo
Posts: 1
Registered: ‎08-09-2007
Message 9 of 16 (9,552 Views)

Re: Changing Server Name In ILO

In my case in the ILO browser appears at the very top

Server Name: host is unnamed
iLO Name: servpesca2
Current User: Jose Maria Martin-Lunas

I don't know the way to cahnge the

Server Name: host is unnamed
to the correct server name
Please use plain text.
Honored Contributor
David Claypool
Posts: 4,746
Registered: ‎10-22-2002
Message 10 of 16 (9,552 Views)

Re: Changing Server Name In ILO

Communication between the host and the iLO is accomplished via the iLO driver. Without that in place, there is no way for the host to tell iLO the hostname.
Please use plain text.
Honored Contributor
acartes
Posts: 685
Registered: ‎04-22-2004
Message 11 of 16 (9,537 Views)

Re: Changing Server Name In ILO

iLO 2 supports multiple methods to set the server name, including host RBSU, browser, command-line, and XML/RIBCL scripting. I recommend first updating to current iLO 2 firmware for the best results.

As far as setting the server name:
- host RBSU
- iLO 2 via browser (Administration/Access/Options)
- command-line
A) login to the iLO CLP using SSH
B) hpiLO-> cd system1
C) hpiLO-> set oemhp_server_name = TestValue
D) hpiLO-> show oemhp_server_name
/system1
Properties
oemhp_server_name=TestValue
Verbs
cd version exit show set

- XML:






Please use plain text.
Occasional Visitor
Cory Sample
Posts: 2
Registered: ‎08-09-2007
Message 12 of 16 (9,537 Views)

Re: Changing Server Name In ILO

so I see and understand that iLO2 is the recommended way - but due to sparse maintenance windows - how abou tthat procedure with:
iLO Firmware Version: 1.82
08/22/2005
Please use plain text.
Honored Contributor
acartes
Posts: 685
Registered: ‎04-22-2004
Message 13 of 16 (9,537 Views)

Re: Changing Server Name In ILO

The only way to do that on first-generation iLO is to reset iLO to defaults to clear the server name or to install the management agents to overwrite the current server name.
Please use plain text.
Occasional Visitor
Steven Bee
Posts: 1
Registered: ‎06-05-2009
Message 14 of 16 (9,537 Views)

Re: Changing Server Name In ILO

Is there a way to get the servername from the ILO in firmware revision 1.92?
Please use plain text.
Occasional Visitor
qualaro
Posts: 1
Registered: ‎05-09-2014
Message 15 of 16 (2,723 Views)

Re: Changing Server Name In ILO

[ Edited ]

Is there any posibility to reset the imported certificate via ssh to an ILO4? ( my current certificate is giving me when accessing via web is giving me "sec_error_pkcs11_device_error"  )

 

From the documentation i saw that by reseting to factory defaults or changing the hostname . ( I suppose the factory defaults will reset the ip address also )

 

Is there any posibility to change the hostname and reboot ilo without losing the network settings?

 

Thank you.

 

Please use plain text.
Honored Contributor
Oscar A. Perez
Posts: 643
Registered: ‎11-01-2005
Message 16 of 16 (2,685 Views)

Re: Changing Server Name In ILO

[ Edited ]

You can just rename iLO.  Once iLO reboots and notices that the name on certificate doesn't match the new iLO name, iLO will discard the old certificate and replace it with a new self-signed cert. 

Please use plain text.
The opinions expressed above are the personal opinions of the authors, not of HP. By using this site, you accept the Terms of Use and Rules of Participation