New install of HP SIM 7.3 (5242 Views)
Reply
Occasional Contributor
Brett_Ozforex
Posts: 7
Registered: ‎07-01-2012
Message 1 of 28 (5,242 Views)

New install of HP SIM 7.3

Hi There

 

I've just installed done a brand new install of HP SIM 7.3 however fails to install the DB see below for error message

 


Configuring Server Components (14):
1. Node Security File ..Done
2. Server Property File ..Done
3. Server Authentication Keys ..Done
4. SSH Keys ..Done
5. Status Property File ..Done
6. Task Results Output Cleanup ..Done
7. Database Configuration ..13 Jan 2014 16:37:38,892 INFO [HPSIM_DEBUG] Maximum retry delay to database server : 5000
13 Jan 2014 16:37:38,892 INFO [HPSIM_DEBUG] Trying connection to database using property file: database.props
13 Jan 2014 16:37:38,892 INFO [HPSIM_DEBUG] Trying connection to database retry = 0
13 Jan 2014 16:37:44,126 INFO [HPSIM_DEBUG] Trying connection to database using property file: database.props
13 Jan 2014 16:37:44,126 INFO [HPSIM_DEBUG] Trying connection to database retry = 1
13 Jan 2014 16:37:49,157 INFO [HPSIM_DEBUG] Trying connection to database using property file: database.props
13 Jan 2014 16:37:49,157 INFO [HPSIM_DEBUG] Trying connection to database retry = 2
13 Jan 2014 16:37:54,187 INFO [HPSIM_DEBUG] Trying connection to database using property file: database.props
13 Jan 2014 16:37:54,187 INFO [HPSIM_DEBUG] Trying connection to database retry = 3
13 Jan 2014 16:37:59,218 INFO [HPSIM_DEBUG] Trying connection to database using property file: database.props
13 Jan 2014 16:37:59,218 INFO [HPSIM_DEBUG] Trying connection to database retry = 4
13 Jan 2014 16:38:04,248 INFO [HPSIM_DEBUG] Trying connection to database using property file: database.props
13 Jan 2014 16:38:04,248 INFO [HPSIM_DEBUG] Trying connection to database retry = 5
.13 Jan 2014 16:38:09,278 INFO [HPSIM_DEBUG] Trying connection to database using property file: database.props
13 Jan 2014 16:38:09,278 INFO [HPSIM_DEBUG] Trying connection to database retry = 6
13 Jan 2014 16:38:14,309 INFO [HPSIM_DEBUG] Trying connection to database using property file: database.props
13 Jan 2014 16:38:14,309 INFO [HPSIM_DEBUG] Trying connection to database retry = 7
13 Jan 2014 16:38:19,339 INFO [HPSIM_DEBUG] Trying connection to database using property file: database.props
13 Jan 2014 16:38:19,339 INFO [HPSIM_DEBUG] Trying connection to database retry = 8
13 Jan 2014 16:38:24,369 INFO [HPSIM_DEBUG] Trying connection to database using property file: database.props
13 Jan 2014 16:38:24,369 INFO [HPSIM_DEBUG] Trying connection to database retry = 9
Failed
Completed with error.

Details can be found in the log files at: C:\Program Files\HP\Systems Insight Manager\logs
Configuration failed to complete due to the following exception:
Connection to the repository server failed.

 

I've checked database.props config file and this look all correct to me

 

Anyone have any idea's on how to resloves this?

 

Cheers,

 

Brett

Trusted Contributor
Tushar Bajpai
Posts: 138
Registered: ‎03-18-2009
Message 2 of 28 (5,210 Views)

Re: New install of HP SIM 7.3

Is this on MS SQL, if yes check for DB config for Dynamic Ports. It should be 1433.

if it helped, award me Kudos or Points. Thanks :)

\T Bajpai
HP Employee

Occasional Contributor
Brett_Ozforex
Posts: 7
Registered: ‎07-01-2012
Message 3 of 28 (5,187 Views)

Re: New install of HP SIM 7.3

SQL is configured on port 1433 with named Pipes and TCP enabled.

Occasional Visitor
MrFreeze
Posts: 1
Registered: ‎01-13-2014
Message 4 of 28 (5,178 Views)

Re: New install of HP SIM 7.3

Had the same problems with working upgrade from 7.2 to 7.3.  Clean install or upgrade fails.  I had to move back to 7.2 so I could research more.

 

Based on what I have had time to diagnose it appears to be possible issue with jtds version 1.3.0  used in HP SIM 7.3.

 

During SIM 7.3 the install will connect to SQL successfully and will even create a DB, but when the SIM Service starts it will not connect so the the rest of the install / upgrade fails because I believe it is using differnt JDBC modules.

 

My thought is the installer is using JTDS v1.2 modules still and then service is using v1.3.0 modules based on trying to grap the install temp directory contents that are created C:\InstallTemp

 

Part of the hpsim.log showing 1.2 module usage during HP SIM 7.3 installation/upgrade

md /c cd C:\InstallTemp & set JAVA_HOME=.\jre & set PATH=.\ & .\jre\bin\java -cp ".;.\jtds-1.2.jar"

 

 

I tried updating module to jtds 1.3.1 as well due to release bug fixes included to address sql connectivity to see if I could get service to start but still fails.  

 

 

Tried all the articles on using useNTLMv2=TRUE  in config files.

Tried copying dlls up to the root install folder to replace versions as called out in other forums / kb articles.

 

 

HP documentation is not the greatest for calling out Debug logging settings.

 

My configuration

 

Single Server Deployment - Windows Server 2008 R2

HP SIM 7.2  Update 2

SQL 2008 R2 (not express)

Honored Contributor
shocko
Posts: 883
Registered: ‎11-13-2008
Message 5 of 28 (5,165 Views)

Re: New install of HP SIM 7.3

Same problem. I think the driver has changed between the releases and now the useNTLMv2=TRUE is required but where to added it is the issue. I have tired various places in the database.props file to no avail. This could be a bug issue for HP. I have a call open with support now and will post pack any info I get.

If my post was helpful please award me Kudos! or Points :)
Honored Contributor
shocko
Posts: 883
Registered: ‎11-13-2008
Message 6 of 28 (5,142 Views)

Re: New install of HP SIM 7.3

I reverted to SIM 7.2.2. Tested a clean install of 7.3 in my lab and the same issue with the new JTDS driver. HP support have been on trying everything else even though I have indicated to them that it looks like an issue with the JDTS driver and the fact that we need ot add the useNTLMv2=true param somewhere. 

If my post was helpful please award me Kudos! or Points :)
Trusted Contributor
Tushar Bajpai
Posts: 138
Registered: ‎03-18-2009
Message 7 of 28 (5,087 Views)

Re: New install of HP SIM 7.3

[ Edited ]

Audit Logs from the SQL Server will help in determining the root cause.

if it helped, award me Kudos or Points. Thanks :)

\T Bajpai
HP Employee

Trusted Contributor
Tushar Bajpai
Posts: 138
Registered: ‎03-18-2009
Message 8 of 28 (5,081 Views)

Re: New install of HP SIM 7.3

Can you check the Audit logs on the SQL Server.

if it helped, award me Kudos or Points. Thanks :)

\T Bajpai
HP Employee

Occasional Visitor
DeKu
Posts: 1
Registered: ‎01-21-2014
Message 9 of 28 (5,025 Views)

Re: New install of HP SIM 7.3

[ Edited ]

i have the same issue

 

Log from the SQL Server:

SSPI handshake failed with error code 0x80090302, state 14 while establishing a connection with integrated security; the connection has been closed. Reason: AcceptSecurityContext failed. The Windows error code indicates the cause of failure. [CLIENT: x.x.x.x].

Occasional Visitor
gw_1966
Posts: 1
Registered: ‎01-27-2014
Message 10 of 28 (4,917 Views)

Re: New install of HP SIM 7.3

I am also having the same issue, can someone from hp actually come back with an eta of a solution or work around rather than all of us saying we have an issue.

 

Grant.

Honored Contributor
shocko
Posts: 883
Registered: ‎11-13-2008
Message 11 of 28 (4,904 Views)

Re: New install of HP SIM 7.3

I had HP support on 3 times now and making no progress. They tried to modify the IC 7.3 media to include the older JTDS driver form IC 7.2 but no joy. I'll keep you posted. I really think HP should pull the media for the time being.

If my post was helpful please award me Kudos! or Points :)
Occasional Advisor
Richard_K
Posts: 6
Registered: ‎01-30-2014
Message 12 of 28 (4,875 Views)

Re: New install of HP SIM 7.3

nice, i have the same error. I have remove all Versions all SQL Databases and fresh install.. not working.

 

I want to go backward to 7.2.   but it is not possible. It says.. a newer Version already Installed...

  • How can i override it ? Or what registry entry must be delete that i can reinstall 7.2 Version ?

 

Trusted Contributor
Andrew_Haak
Posts: 406
Registered: ‎09-13-2013
Message 13 of 28 (4,868 Views)

Re: New install of HP SIM 7.3

Hello Richard,

I would guess an uninstall is needed before installing an older version of HP SIM. Only SIm itself should be enough. WMI, SMH and VCRM can remain on the system. The only thing you need to do after installing SIm is point to the correct VCRM in SIM after installation.

Kind regards,

Andrew
Kind regards,

Andrew
Occasional Advisor
Richard_K
Posts: 6
Registered: ‎01-30-2014
Message 14 of 28 (4,864 Views)

Re: New install of HP SIM 7.3

Thank you Andrew,

 

but i have all uninstalled. Directory Cleaned under Programm Files/HP   but if i start Setup  (7.2)  it says " a newer Version already installed"

I think it search any Key in Registry

 

Occasional Visitor
SDLW721
Posts: 1
Registered: ‎02-28-2013
Message 15 of 28 (4,859 Views)

Re: New install of HP SIM 7.3

Same issue here , 

 

========== Begin Initial Configuration Record ==========
-------------- Operation = Configure
-------------- Installing Version = C.07.03.00.00
-------------- Date = donderdag 30 januari 2014 12.48 u. CET
-------------- User = s_sim
-------------- Host = hpsim.my.local
-------------- Locale = English (United States)
-------------- Operating System = Windows Server 2008 R2
-------------- Database Type = MSSQL

Configuring Server Components (14):
1. Node Security File
..Done
2. Server Property File
..Done
3. Server Authentication Keys
..Done
4. SSH Keys
..Done
5. Status Property File
..Done
6. Task Results Output Cleanup
..Done
7. Database Configuration
Connecting to database ..
ERROR - Connection to the repository server failed.
...Failed
Exception :Configuration failed to complete due to the following exception:
Connection to the repository server failed.
Completed with error.

Details can be found in the log files at: D:\Program Files\HP\Systems Insight Manager\logs
-------------- Date = donderdag 30 januari 2014 12.49 u. CET
-------------- Operation = Configure
========== End Initial Configuration Record ==========

 

Any news ? progress

Trusted Contributor
Andrew_Haak
Posts: 406
Registered: ‎09-13-2013
Message 16 of 28 (4,853 Views)

Re: New install of HP SIM 7.3

Hello Richard,
The tree to delete should be:
HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE\SOFTWARE\Hewlett-Packard\Systems Insight Manager

But that is for the 7.2.0 version, check if an other installation used an other tree..

Kind regards,

Andrew
Kind regards,

Andrew
Occasional Advisor
Richard_K
Posts: 6
Registered: ‎01-30-2014
Message 17 of 28 (4,814 Views)

Re: New install of HP SIM 7.3

Hi, i have now reinstall 7.2. 

Thanks for registry entry. But it was an other. It say HP Insight Managemant was newer.. not System Insight Manager... a little different.

 

Back to the update Problem. What i see, that 7.3. can not connect to the SQL Server

System Log says:

SSPI handshake failed with error code 0x80090302, state 14 while establishing a connection with integrated security; the connection has been closed. Reason: AcceptSecurityContext failed. The Windows error code indicates the cause of failure

 

Login failed. The login is from an untrusted domain and cannot be used with Windows authentication.

 

And we see  that are user "SA" has only rights in SQL 2008 ...

 

Occasional Advisor
CHARL13
Posts: 7
Registered: ‎03-29-2013
Message 18 of 28 (4,778 Views)

Re: New install of HP SIM 7.3

Exactly the same issue here.  I'm glad it's not just me.

Honored Contributor
shocko
Posts: 883
Registered: ‎11-13-2008
Message 19 of 28 (4,673 Views)

Re: New install of HP SIM 7.3

Still waiting on resolution. One methond that might work is reverting to running SIM unde a local account. I'm using a domain one. 

If my post was helpful please award me Kudos! or Points :)
Occasional Advisor
Richard_K
Posts: 6
Registered: ‎01-30-2014
Message 20 of 28 (4,663 Views)

Re: New install of HP SIM 7.3

Hi,

 

we have it use with local  account, and don't work.

We have try to install our own SQL server and give all local accounts rights in SQL Servers, so thats not only the SA User are have the rights.

But same error.. SIM can not connect to database.

It does not matter whether we have performed a new installation or an update 

Honored Contributor
shocko
Posts: 883
Registered: ‎11-13-2008
Message 21 of 28 (4,501 Views)

Re: New install of HP SIM 7.3

Hi guys, here is the result of my support case:

 

 

This should solve the issue. As suspected, NTLM hardening as fault with use of new JTDS driver. 

 

Note: 2nd link might be dead but should be up soon ;)

If my post was helpful please award me Kudos! or Points :)
Honored Contributor
shocko
Posts: 883
Registered: ‎11-13-2008
Message 22 of 28 (4,478 Views)

Re: New install of HP SIM 7.3

See attached for resolution if performing an upgrade ;)

If my post was helpful please award me Kudos! or Points :)
Occasional Advisor
sungminjin
Posts: 11
Registered: ‎12-06-2013
Message 23 of 28 (4,017 Views)

Re: New install of HP SIM 7.3

Shocko!!! you are the man!!!! you saved me tons of headache...

 

i was pulling my hair out for 3 days... and could not figure why why why it does not work..

 

luckily I found your post..  

 

I followed your guide step by step and it worked like a charm.

 

I bet you saved tons of people with headache..


I want to THANK YOU!!.. for the excellent info.

Honored Contributor
shocko
Posts: 883
Registered: ‎11-13-2008
Message 24 of 28 (4,012 Views)

Re: New install of HP SIM 7.3

No problem. Glad to help. PS: Hit the kudos button if you liked and bump my forum rating ;)

If my post was helpful please award me Kudos! or Points :)
Occasional Advisor
sungminjin
Posts: 11
Registered: ‎12-06-2013
Message 25 of 28 (4,008 Views)

Re: New install of HP SIM 7.3

first time using this... I clicked the purple star for kudos ?

 

Thanks.

The opinions expressed above are the personal opinions of the authors, not of HP. By using this site, you accept the Terms of Use and Rules of Participation.