Insight Power Manager with onboard Administrator c-class (256 Views)
Reply
Honored Contributor
Cederberg
Posts: 551
Registered: ‎07-03-2007
Message 1 of 16 (256 Views)

Insight Power Manager with onboard Administrator c-class

Hey!

We get many minor errors in SIM with error code: Onboard Administrator Error Response: 139 (Not a valid request while running in standby mode.)

Originated from the enclosure it self not the OA cards. We have Redundant OA cards in our Enclosures. My explanation is that it askes both OA cards and gets the error respons from the standby card..

Anyone got any suggestions or solutions to this "minor" and more anoying problem?

//Mattias
Please use plain text.
Trusted Contributor
Ole Thomsen_1
Posts: 332
Registered: ‎08-13-2003
Message 2 of 16 (256 Views)

Re: Insight Power Manager with onboard Administrator c-class

Did you solve this?

We have similar setup and receive same error.

Ole Thomsen
Please use plain text.
Honored Contributor
Cederberg
Posts: 551
Registered: ‎07-03-2007
Message 3 of 16 (256 Views)

Re: Insight Power Manager with onboard Administrator c-class

No well.. i just wrote this friday 1/2 something happened with the date.. If i solve it i'll post the solution here..
Please use plain text.
Regular Advisor
V Deepak Kumar
Posts: 76
Registered: ‎02-23-2008
Message 4 of 16 (256 Views)

Re: Insight Power Manager with onboard Administrator c-class

Hi,
Can you make sure
a) Active Onboard Administrator is discovered and associated in HP SIM with the enclosure your are trying to view the power/thermal graph.
b)You say that events are originated from enclosure and not the OA cards, Do you mean you see an events logged into the Events tab of the cClass server enclosure?

Power/thermal data is gathered for a cClass server enclosure from its Onboard Administrator which is running in Active mode, Standby OA will not retreive this data and hence if an attempt is made by HP IPM to gather data for a cClass server enclosure from a standby OA it will result in this error. HP IPM allways checks if the OA that it is attempting to gather power data is running in active mode.

Feel free to ask more queries.
Thanks
Deepak
Performance is compulsion and not an option if my existence is to be justified.
Please use plain text.
Honored Contributor
Cederberg
Posts: 551
Registered: ‎07-03-2007
Message 5 of 16 (256 Views)

Re: Insight Power Manager with onboard Administrator c-class

Hi! thanks for your reply. to answer your questions

a)Yes both the standby and the Active onboard administrator card is discovered and associated with the enclosure in HP SIM

b) Yes and no. The warning i get with the error response is listed as it was from the enclosure object in HP SIM, but when I look at the events on the enclosure objects it's not there. So i guess it´s really an event from IPM.


Well obviusly it asks the standby card as well wether it's an error in config or in HP SIM i got 55 of these "Onboard Administrator Error respone: 139 (Not a valid request while running in standby mode.) over the weekend.
Please use plain text.
Regular Advisor
V Deepak Kumar
Posts: 76
Registered: ‎02-23-2008
Message 6 of 16 (256 Views)

Re: Insight Power Manager with onboard Administrator c-class

Hey Mattias,

What might have happened is IPM has attempted to collect power/thermal data from OA which is running in standby mode and hence you see the error, Instead IPM should [and it does] attempt to get power/thermal data for cClass server enclosure from its active OA.
1. What version of HP SIM and IPM you are running?
2. Yes its an event logged from IPM against the server enclosure. Now lets try to check if SIM has identified the OA as active/standby. Please go to the system page of both the OA's and check if you can see Role section and expand and check if the role is properly set on the OA's.
3. Is there any possibility that there was a OA failover [Switch from Active to Standy] and OA was not configured to send SNMP traps to HP SIM so that HP SIM could update the OAs with proper roles. I think this could be one of the possibilites. In this case the role information with HP SIM would be stale and hence IPM is continuing to gather data from OA that it thinks is Active which in reality is running in standby mode.
Thanks
Deepak
Performance is compulsion and not an option if my existence is to be justified.
Please use plain text.
Honored Contributor
Cederberg
Posts: 551
Registered: ‎07-03-2007
Message 7 of 16 (256 Views)

Re: Insight Power Manager with onboard Administrator c-class

1. The system insight manager version is 5.1 and the Insigt power manager is 1.30. Later in March we will upgrade to 5.2.

2. yes it has discovered which has the active and standby role.

3. No maybe on a few occasions but this is a reacurring problem. so I can't see that it's a failover happening on 11 chassis several times in a weekend.
Please use plain text.
Regular Advisor
V Deepak Kumar
Posts: 76
Registered: ‎02-23-2008
Message 8 of 16 (256 Views)

Re: Insight Power Manager with onboard Administrator c-class

HP SIM 5.2 has IPM 1.4 with loads of bug fixes. Did the upgrade fix/solve the issue?

Thanks
Deepak
Performance is compulsion and not an option if my existence is to be justified.
Please use plain text.
Trusted Contributor
Ole Thomsen_1
Posts: 332
Registered: ‎08-13-2003
Message 9 of 16 (256 Views)

Re: Insight Power Manager with onboard Administrator c-class

We run 5.2 and have same error.

Ole Thomsen
Please use plain text.
Honored Contributor
Cederberg
Posts: 551
Registered: ‎07-03-2007
Message 10 of 16 (256 Views)

Re: Insight Power Manager with onboard Administrator c-class

Still have the same problem with 5.2 also.
Please use plain text.
Occasional Visitor
Sebastian Fauland
Posts: 3
Registered: ‎03-03-2008
Message 11 of 16 (257 Views)

Re: Insight Power Manager with onboard Administrator c-class

Hi,

same here 5.2 IPM: 1.4...
Please use plain text.
Regular Advisor
V Deepak Kumar
Posts: 76
Registered: ‎02-23-2008
Message 12 of 16 (257 Views)

Re: Insight Power Manager with onboard Administrator c-class

A quick way to get this working would be to visit the picture view of the enclosure by clicking the enclosure from Tree/table/icon view. This will reset the ROLE information of the both the OA's to proper current values and IPM will detect this change and gather data from ACTIVE OA rather than STANDBY OA.
Let me know if this worked.
Thanks
Deepak
Performance is compulsion and not an option if my existence is to be justified.
Please use plain text.
Regular Advisor
V Deepak Kumar
Posts: 76
Registered: ‎02-23-2008
Message 13 of 16 (257 Views)

Re: Insight Power Manager with onboard Administrator c-class

The error occurs when IPM attemps data collection on standby [ROLE] node instead of primary [ROLE] node.
Before attempting IPM checks for the role information on the OA, If it finds a OA which it considers primary then it attempts data collection.
Role Information: ROLE information is set by HP SIM during the user visit to enclosure picture view. In case of a failover SIM needs to informed and this can happen via SNMP traps.
Please try:
a) The OA's must be configured to send SNMP trap to HP SIM. Now upon force takeover OA will send out a trap to HP SIM. SIM will update the db with role information of both the OA's. IPM will now attempt data collection with proper OA.
I hope you are aware how to configure OA to send out traps.
OR
b) User must visit the enclosure picture view.When this happens SIM will again update the role information and IPM will work fine.

Please let me know if this worked.
Thanks
Deepak
Performance is compulsion and not an option if my existence is to be justified.
Please use plain text.
Trusted Contributor
Ole Thomsen_1
Posts: 332
Registered: ‎08-13-2003
Message 14 of 16 (257 Views)

Re: Insight Power Manager with onboard Administrator c-class

I have traps enabled, and roles are shown correct in HPSIM.

Other suggestions?

Ole Thomsen
Please use plain text.
Regular Advisor
V Deepak Kumar
Posts: 76
Registered: ‎02-23-2008
Message 15 of 16 (257 Views)

Re: Insight Power Manager with onboard Administrator c-class

Well,
the last thing that comes to my mind now is
Make sure
"Discover the Active Onboard Administrator inside the server enclosure with IP address or network name for Insight Power Manager to start collecting data."

Done from my side with this issue.
Thanks
Deepak
Performance is compulsion and not an option if my existence is to be justified.
Please use plain text.
Occasional Visitor
VinGin
Posts: 4
Registered: ‎04-16-2007
Message 16 of 16 (257 Views)

Re: Insight Power Manager with onboard Administrator c-class

You mean to just detect the active OA and delete the standby OA

But the enclosure view will show the standby OA as missing...any other soln??
Please use plain text.
The opinions expressed above are the personal opinions of the authors, not of HP. By using this site, you accept the Terms of Use and Rules of Participation