HP SIM on ESX 4.1 - SMH timeout - help (563 Views)
Reply
Occasional Visitor
Harding
Posts: 2
Registered: ‎09-21-2010
Message 1 of 4 (563 Views)

HP SIM on ESX 4.1 - SMH timeout - help

I cannot get the SMH working on ESX 4.1 hosts

"A timeout occurred while loading data for the HP System Management Homepage"

I have two sets of systems... On my ESX 3.5 systems it works fine. On my ESX 4.1 systems I get the error.

Here are the packages that are installed on ESX 3.5:

hp-OpenIPMI-8.1.0-118.vmware30
hprsm-8.1.0-118.vmware30
hpsmh-2.1.12-200
hpasm-8.1.0-121.vmware30

Here are the packages that are installed on ESX 4.1:

hp-snmp-agents-8.5.0-75.vmware4x
hp-smh-templates-8.5.0.13-15
hp-health-8.5.0-77.vmware4x
hpsmh-6.1.0-103
hpilo-400.8.5.0.1VMW-164009
hp-agents-config-8.5.1-1

-The snmpd.conf on both servers are identical.

-I've restarted the hpsmh service and hp-snmp-agents service.

-the HP SIM->Configure-> Manage communications. says SNMP information is received, but information may not be available.

-The SMH displays the timeout error

-THE SMH Log says:

WARNING Tue 21 Sep 2010 02:29:41 PM EDT
UI Webapps Loading Timeout -- Nav Load Time: 20s [Webapp-List: webagent || hmanics || hmaserv || hmastor]

MAJOR Tue 21 Sep 2010 02:17:24 PM EDT
UI Timeout (limit: 20s) -- Nav
Please use plain text.
Occasional Visitor
Harding
Posts: 2
Registered: ‎09-21-2010
Message 2 of 4 (563 Views)

Re: HP SIM on ESX 4.1 - SMH timeout - help

Can anyone help me with this?
VMware won't help, and the HP support line doesn't seem to do much
Please use plain text.
Occasional Visitor
Garrett Mattingly
Posts: 1
Registered: ‎12-24-2009
Message 3 of 4 (563 Views)

Re: HP SIM on ESX 4.1 - SMH timeout - help

Silence envelopes the room...

Well, I have the same issue with the latest version - 8.6.0. I don't even know why they bothered.

Have you been able to figure this one out?

All I can do is comiserate, sorry.
Please use plain text.
Occasional Advisor
Jay Hoyer
Posts: 10
Registered: ‎02-22-2008
Message 4 of 4 (563 Views)

Re: HP SIM on ESX 4.1 - SMH timeout - help

I had an issue similar to this too. In order to resolve it I needed to modify the snmpd.conf file to include something similar to:

rocommunity public 127.0.0.1

Without including this, I could not get any information from the SMH. Initially I used localhost. It turned out that I need to actually enter 127.0.0.1 . Hopefully this helps you.
Please use plain text.
The opinions expressed above are the personal opinions of the authors, not of HP. By using this site, you accept the Terms of Use and Rules of Participation