Lost Admin Password (802 Views)
Reply
Occasional Contributor
Nathan French
Posts: 8
Registered: ‎03-06-2006
Message 1 of 7 (802 Views)
Accepted Solution

Lost Admin Password

[ Edited ]

Hi Everyone,

 

Is there anyway of resetting the admin password from a other user in the admin group.

Or would we need to backup iMC databases, uninstall iMC and then reinstall iMC again?

 

Thanks

 

iMC 5.2

Windows 2008 R2 x64

Please use plain text.
Honored Contributor
LindsayHill
Posts: 632
Registered: ‎11-16-2011
Message 2 of 7 (790 Views)

Re: Lost Admin Password

IMC stores the password hash in the DB. If you've got DB access, you could try overwriting the hash with the hash of a known password
CCIE 36708 | @northlandboy | lkhill.com
Please use plain text.
Occasional Contributor
Nathan French
Posts: 8
Registered: ‎03-06-2006
Message 3 of 7 (782 Views)

Re: Lost Admin Password

Thanks For that,

Would you happen to know were and in which table that could be found?

 

Please use plain text.
Honored Contributor
LindsayHill
Posts: 632
Registered: ‎11-16-2011
Message 4 of 7 (776 Views)

Re: Lost Admin Password

Check out this thread here: http://www.netopscommunity.net/forums/-/message_boards/message/47737?p_p_auth=gVeyXa14&_19_redirect=...

 

No guarantees if it will work with 5.2, but it is worth a go.

CCIE 36708 | @northlandboy | lkhill.com
Please use plain text.
Occasional Contributor
Nathan French
Posts: 8
Registered: ‎03-06-2006
Message 5 of 7 (769 Views)

Re: Lost Admin Password

Much Thanks.

 

That Worked for iMC 5.2

 

 

Please use plain text.
Honored Contributor
LindsayHill
Posts: 632
Registered: ‎11-16-2011
Message 6 of 7 (743 Views)

Re: Lost Admin Password

Awesome! It's something that I've done in a lab, but it's nice to know that it works when it's really needed.

CCIE 36708 | @northlandboy | lkhill.com
Please use plain text.
Member
cg46
Posts: 2
Registered: ‎01-27-2014
Message 7 of 7 (167 Views)

Re: Lost Admin Password

He,
 
I just read your post,
I have a similar problem.

By mistake, the privileges of the administrator group have changed. So I have more access to the menu:
system - operator management - operator group

Is what I can find it?

or how to restore db?

Please help me!
Please use plain text.
The opinions expressed above are the personal opinions of the authors, not of HP. By using this site, you accept the Terms of Use and Rules of Participation