Re: RX 2800 and the P2000 G3 FC (714 Views)
Reply
Valued Contributor
Brian Reiter
Posts: 303
Registered: ‎03-04-2004
Message 1 of 13 (839 Views)

RX 2800 and the P2000 G3 FC

[ Edited ]

Folks,

 

Hopefuly this should be a simple question. I have

 

1 RX2800, patched to current (update 6)

1 P2000 G3 FC device (5 disks) firmware according to the logs is:

            MC: L230R025 baselevel L100

            SC T230P03

2 Brocade SAN switches

 

 

What is the black magic incantation for getting the OpenVMS host to see the volumes I create? There are 16 volumes required under a single vDisk. None of the volume LUNs are zero.

 

I can get some of the disks to appear if I set up a volume with the LUN vms_lun1. However this is hit or miss and not all volumes appear.

 

The fabric itself seems to be working, the disk controller can see the host and so on.

 

Any thoughts?

 

Regards

 

Brian Reiter

 

 

 

 

Honored Contributor
Duncan Morris
Posts: 666
Registered: ‎08-07-2003
Message 2 of 13 (825 Views)

Re: RX 2800 and the P2000 G3 FC

Hi Brian,

 

a bit more information might be helpful. Are you setting up these volumes through the CLI?

An example of a volume setup would be handy.

 

Have you set the host-profile to OpenVMS?

 

Have you set up UIDs for these volumes?

 

            ovms-uid ID
            For a volume to be accessed by an OpenVMS host, assign a volume ID in the range 1–32767 to
            identify the volume to the host.

 

Does the volume have volume-description?

 

           Volume Description
           • For OpenVMS, a numeric value (set with create volume or set volume) that identifies the volume
           to an OpenVMS host.
           • For HP-UX, a text value (set in-band by a host application) that identifies the volume.
           • Blank if not set.

 

On the OpenVMS system what have you done to check for the volumes?

            SYSMAN> IO SCSI_PATH_VERIFY

            SYSMAN> IO AUTO

 

 

Duncan

Valued Contributor
Brian Reiter
Posts: 303
Registered: ‎03-04-2004
Message 3 of 13 (820 Views)

Re: RX 2800 and the P2000 G3 FC

Hi Duncan,

I'm using the Web Interface to the system.

The ovms-uid IDs have been set

I'll have a go at seeting the host type to VMS (I don't recall doing this on the G2 though).

I'm not seeing the volume description anywhere. I

I'll login via the CLI and see if that helps.


cheers

Brian
Valued Contributor
Brian Reiter
Posts: 303
Registered: ‎03-04-2004
Message 4 of 13 (813 Views)

Re: RX 2800 and the P2000 G3 FC

OK,

 

It looks as though the volume descriptions are being up correctly. I've tried setting the host type to openVMS (this made no difference).(See attached text file).

 

I've also run the to commands Duncan suggested (several times now).

 

Replies may be slow as the system is not on the network and is one floor away.

 

cheers

 

Brian

Honored Contributor
Duncan Morris
Posts: 666
Registered: ‎08-07-2003
Message 5 of 13 (805 Views)

Re: RX 2800 and the P2000 G3 FC

Brian,

 

so far so good!

 

I wonder if the G3 requires you to specifically map the volumes?

 

Try issuing a map volume command for one of those volumes to specify read-write access. To save you running up and down too much, try one volume without a specified host and one with the OpenVMS host specified.

 

You can then check the mappings with

 

show volume-maps

and

show host-maps

 

Duncan

Valued Contributor
Brian Reiter
Posts: 303
Registered: ‎03-04-2004
Message 6 of 13 (799 Views)

Re: RX 2800 and the P2000 G3 FC

Hi Duncan,

 

Well I scrapped all the config, set the host up to VMS and entered all the details again. This time round the VMS host saw all the disks. Assuming it survives a reboot it looks as though you MUST set the host type to openVMS before doing anything else. This could be a pain if we ever need to swap machines.

 

With any luck, all I need to do now is work out how to boot the other RX2800 from DVD (it stalls) and I may be on my way.

 

cheers

 

Brian

Honored Contributor
Duncan Morris
Posts: 666
Registered: ‎08-07-2003
Message 7 of 13 (797 Views)

Re: RX 2800 and the P2000 G3 FC

Glad to hear of your success - we will be getting a couple of P2000 systems shortly, and your experience could save us a lot of pain!

 

Duncan

Valued Contributor
Brian Reiter
Posts: 303
Registered: ‎03-04-2004
Message 8 of 13 (794 Views)

Re: RX 2800 and the P2000 G3 FC

And keep the LUNS below 255.....

Frequent Advisor
fhsjvl
Posts: 40
Registered: ‎05-18-2011
Message 9 of 13 (765 Views)

Re: RX 2800 and the P2000 G3 FC

You might want to contact OpenVMS Engineering. It seems that they are creating or have created a new I64 V8.4 DVD with Patch Update kit V5 or V6 integrated. This makes it possible to boot from DVD drive on rx2800 i2.

 

I have heard that an OpenVMS Ambassador has done the same thing and it works fine. But I do not know which Ambassador this person is.

Valued Contributor
Brian Reiter
Posts: 303
Registered: ‎03-04-2004
Message 10 of 13 (762 Views)

Re: RX 2800 and the P2000 G3 FC

I've got access to a copy, just trying it out now.

 

I installed UPDATE 0600 on an RX2800 yesterday and the USB keyboard stopped working.

 

Ah well......

Valued Contributor
Brian Reiter
Posts: 303
Registered: ‎03-04-2004
Message 11 of 13 (749 Views)

Re: RX 2800 and the P2000 G3 FC

And, it failed to boot off either RX2800. Ah well back to the drawing board (and HP).

Valued Contributor
Brian Reiter
Posts: 303
Registered: ‎03-04-2004
Message 12 of 13 (721 Views)

Re: RX 2800 and the P2000 G3 FC

For what its worth, the images I got via VMS Engineering were missing a boot block. I backed the DVD up to another disk, wrote the boot block to it and was finally able to install OpenVMS 8-4 on an RX2800.

 

I have to say that the disk controller on the RX2800 is a real pain.

Honored Contributor
Hoff
Posts: 4,948
Registered: ‎01-29-2006
Message 13 of 13 (714 Views)

Re: RX 2800 and the P2000 G3 FC

You can decode the contents of the bootblock on the provided DVD using the sys$setboot tool, if you're interested.

 

$ sb:==$sys$setboot

$ sb -s -f ddcu:

 

Where ddcu: is the device name of the target device.  (Use -? for help.)

 

That'll decode the MBR and GPT structures, though it won't decode the El Torito structures.

 

FWIW.

 

If the disk does have a valid MBR boot block or MBR boot block and GPT, then it's probably got the offsets for a 512-byte disk and not the 2048-byte optical media sector size.

The opinions expressed above are the personal opinions of the authors, not of HP. By using this site, you accept the Terms of Use and Rules of Participation.