Re: Need to reset system console on VAX 4000 using remote terminal (501 Views)
Occasional Visitor
Chippy
Message 1 of 9 (665 Views)

Need to reset system console on VAX 4000 using remote terminal

Hello.

I have a VAX 4000 machine that does not accept user input on the local system console.  I've restarted the terminal (power off/on) and it shows the VT420 screen, and when I hit the return key it shows a blinking cursor only.  If I hit the CAPS lock key, the 'lock' indicator shows on the screen so it is accepting some input.

I'm able to log in to the system from a remote terminal, so I can issue commands.  The obvious answer might be to restart the system, but it is not that simple.  I can't do that without significant compensatory measures in place.  So, is there a simple way to reset the local console device?  Maybe disable it and then enable it again?  I'm fairly new to VAX systems, so I appologize for the newbie question.

Thanks in advance,

Dave

Trusted Contributor
abrsvc
Message 2 of 9 (659 Views)

Re: Need to reset system console on VAX 4000 using remote terminal

Not much info to go on here, but...

If you can log in to a remote terminal, look at OPA0 for its status. If it is allocated, check who has it and what they are doing. This can get involved a bit, so if you are not familiar with OpenVMS, this will take a while.

Can you shoot me contact info via Email so we can talk directly or Email directly. There may be things you don't want posted on a public forum.

Dan

dansabrservicesAtyahooDotcom
Honored Contributor
Andy Bustamante
Message 3 of 9 (648 Views)

Simple things first, try a control-q at the console.  

It's been a very long time, but some VAX models would crash if the console was disconnected.  I don't recall if the 4000 had this feature.