Can't see devices attached to A7173A on rx2660, "%PKB0, Restarting adapter" (856 Views)
Reply
Trusted Contributor
Jeremy Begg
Posts: 383
Registered: ‎01-20-2005
Message 1 of 5 (856 Views)
Accepted Solution

Can't see devices attached to A7173A on rx2660, "%PKB0, Restarting adapter"

Hi,

 

I am building up an rx2660 server on which I have installed OpenVMS V8.4 with recent patches, including UPDATE V8.  The server has a P400 SAS RAID adapter which appears to be working OK and I can boot OpenVMS from it.

 

The server also has an A7173A two-port UltraSCSI adapter which is there to support some external disks in a 4314R shelf and a tape drive.  The disk shelf is connected to the A7173A's "A" port and the tape drive to the "B" port.

 

The problem is that when VMS boots it doesn't handle the external disks properly: only one disk device exists, and it's offline.

 

Things look OK while EFI is booting:

 

EFI version 2.00 [14.62]
EFI64 Running on Intel(R) Itanium Processor Family
UEFI 2.0 IPF server rx2660 7.14 [Fri Feb 23 17:21:28 2007] firmware by HP

...

Scsi(Pun0,Lun0) COMPAQ BD0186349B 3B05 ( 80 MBytes/sec)
Scsi(Pun2,Lun0) COMPAQ BD03664553 3B04 ( 80 MBytes/sec)
Scsi(Pun3,Lun0) COMPAQ BD0728A4C4 HPB4 ( 80 MBytes/sec)
Scsi(Pun4,Lun0) COMPAQ BD03664553 3B05 ( 80 MBytes/sec)
Scsi(Pun5,Lun0) COMPAQ BF07285A36 HPB6 ( 80 MBytes/sec)

Scsi(Pun4,Lun0) COMPAQ DLT8000 0258 ( 20 MBytes/sec)

HP Smart Array P400 Controller (version 7.18) 1 Logical Drive
Loading device drivers

...

 

So EFI finds the devices in the disk shelf (highlighted in orange above).  One thing I noticed at this point was that there is a 55-second pause between displaying the device firmware version (e.g. 3B05 in the

first device) and the I/O rate (80MBytes/sec).  This seems rather long, but I don't know if it's unusual.

There is no such delay between showing the tape drive's firmware (0258) and I/O rate.

 

Also, running VMS_SHOW from the EFI shell shows the devices:

 

VMS: DKB0		COMPAQ  BD0186349B      3B05
EFI: Acpi(HWP0002,300,PNP0A03)/Pci(1|0)/Scsi(Pun0,Lun0)

VMS: DKB300		COMPAQ  BD0728A4C4      HPB4
EFI: Acpi(HWP0002,300,PNP0A03)/Pci(1|0)/Scsi(Pun3,Lun0)

VMS: DKB500		COMPAQ  BF07285A36      HPB6
EFI: Acpi(HWP0002,300,PNP0A03)/Pci(1|0)/Scsi(Pun5,Lun0)

VMS: DKB400		COMPAQ  BD03664553      3B05
EFI: Acpi(HWP0002,300,PNP0A03)/Pci(1|0)/Scsi(Pun4,Lun0)

VMS: DKB200		COMPAQ  BD03664553      3B04
EFI: Acpi(HWP0002,300,PNP0A03)/Pci(1|0)/Scsi(Pun2,Lun0)

 

But when OpenVMS boots:

 

Loading.: OpenVMS on DKB0: PKB0.0
Starting: OpenVMS on DKB0: PKB0.0


HP OpenVMS Industry Standard 64 Operating System, Version V8.4
? Copyright 1976-2012 Hewlett-Packard Development Company, L.P.

 

%DECnet-I-LOADED, network base image loaded, version = 05.17.00

%SMP-I-CPUTRN, CPU #1 has joined the active set.
%STDRV-I-STARTUP, OpenVMS startup begun at 10-JUN-2013 12:02:22.26
%EWA0, Auto-negotiation mode assumed set by console
%EWA0, Merl5704 located in 64-bit, 66-mhz PCI-X slot
%EWA0, Device type is BCM5704C (UTP) Rev B0 (21000000)
%EWB0, Auto-negotiation mode assumed set by console
%EWB0, Merl5704 located in 64-bit, 66-mhz PCI-X slot
%EWB0, Device type is BCM5704C (UTP) Rev B0 (21000000)
%EWA0, Link up: 1000 mbit, full duplex, flow control (txrx)
%PKB0, Restarting adapter

 

The system finishes booting but when I log in I see only one device in the external shelf, and VMS says it's offline:

 

SLIX$DKB0:              Offline              0

 

And the controller steadily clocks errors:

 

Device PKB0:, device type HP LSI1030 Ultra320 SCSI, is online, error logging is
    enabled.

    Error count                   19    Operations completed                 25
    Owner process                 ""    Owner UIC                      [SYSTEM]
    Owner process ID        00000000    Dev Prot              S:RWPL,O:RWPL,G,W
    Reference count                0    Default buffer size                   0
    Current preferred CPU Id       1    Fastpath                              1
    Current Interrupt CPU Id       1

  

If I pull out the first disk (in slot 0) and then run MCR SYSMAN IO AUTOCONFIGURE, VMS finds the next disk

(in slot 2) but it too is marked as "offline".  So I don't think the issue is with the disks themselves.

 

Note that the tape drive (connected to the A7173A's "B" port) works fine.  And if I swap the cables on the A7173A (so that the tape drive is on the "A" port and the disk shelf on the "B" port) there is no change in behaviour; the tape still works and the disks still don't.

 

I haven't found a list of the shelves supported with the A7173A but the only mention of any shelf I've seen for that adapter is the MSA30, which is to support VMSclusters via shared SCSI (which I'm not trying to do).

 

It seems to me there are four possibilities:

 

  1. The 4314R shelf is not suitable for the A7173A adapter
  2. A7173A adapter needs to be configured somehow (e.g. via EFI, but I know not how)
  3. Firmware update required for the A7173A adapter
  4. Faulty shelf or adapter.

 

All suggestions welcome! 

 

Thanks,

Jeremy Begg

 

Respected Contributor
Bob Blunt
Posts: 314
Registered: ‎05-01-2003
Message 2 of 5 (840 Views)

Re: Can't see devices attached to A7173A on rx2660, "%PKB0, Restarting adapter"

Jeremy, you might want to look at this URL:

 

http://h20000.www2.hp.com/bizsupport/TechSupport/SoftwareDescription.jsp?lang=en&cc=uk&prodTypeId=32...

 

There was something in the release notes about the SCSI adapter not recognizing "media."  This is an EFI boot driver and there's also firmware in the same general area.

Frequent Advisor
fhsjvl
Posts: 40
Registered: ‎05-18-2011
Message 3 of 5 (821 Views)

Re: Can't see devices attached to A7173A on rx2660, "%PKB0, Restarting adapter"

PKMDRIVER will reinitialize the port when some time-out occurs ("Restarting adapter").

 

I did some googling. Unless I read it wrong, some of your disks are U160, some other are U320.

 

The predecessor of the 43xxR has an issue with the A7173A adapter in that it is not allowed to use U160 and U320 disks in the same cabinet. Maybe this applies to the 43xxR as well.

 

Maybe you could retry your configuration after removing the U160 disks (or the U320 disks) in order to rule out this issue.

 

In any case I could not find a document which explicitly indicates that your configuration is supported.

 

I have never had any problem with the rx2660 server and the A7173A adapter connected to an external box, but it was not a 43xxR.

Trusted Contributor
Jeremy Begg
Posts: 383
Registered: ‎01-20-2005
Message 4 of 5 (780 Views)

Re: Can't see devices attached to A7173A on rx2660, "%PKB0, Restarting adapter"

Thanks for those suggestions.  I've downloaded and run the latest IPF Offline Diagnostics CD-ROM and used it to upgrade the U320 board firmware to the latest (last) revision. 

 

The suggestion to remove the non-U320 disks from the shelf is an interesting one, which I'll try if the firmware update hasn't helped.

 

I also notified my hardware supplier of this problem.  After getting me to check the 4314R shelf they realised they made a small mistake: the interface module in the shelf is not  U320!  A replacement is on the way, hopefully it will turn up tomorrow.

 

I'll provide an update when I've been able to install the replacement interface module and connected the shelf back to the rx2660 server.   (Currently they're not in the same building.)

 

Regards,

Jeremy Begg

Trusted Contributor
Jeremy Begg
Posts: 383
Registered: ‎01-20-2005
Message 5 of 5 (756 Views)

Re: Can't see devices attached to A7173A on rx2660, "%PKB0, Restarting adapter"

After upgrading the firmware and replacing the I/O module in the 4314R, the rx2660 is behaving nicely.

The console messages now show the actual disk speed (320 or 160) and there is no delay in displaying that speed.  VMS has no trouble accessing the disks either.

 

So problem solved!

Jeremy Begg

The opinions expressed above are the personal opinions of the authors, not of HP. By using this site, you accept the Terms of Use and Rules of Participation.