MPE - Console C1099A not responding (353 Views)
Reply
Occasional Advisor
Ginette Vincent_2
Posts: 16
Registered: ‎06-22-2004
Message 1 of 7 (353 Views)

MPE - Console C1099A not responding

A500 running MPE 7.0 PP1
Problem - console messages are displaying to console, but I cannot key any commands at the console.
- Console has been reset to default as per Installation procedure. Power off and on and verify all connections and all appears to be fine. I've reviewed the default configurations and they are as stated in HP documentation.
Honored Contributor
Andrew Rutter
Posts: 2,108
Registered: ‎07-03-2002
Message 2 of 7 (353 Views)

Re: MPE - Console C1099A not responding

hi,

check that remote mode is enabled.

should have an * in the box F4

Andy
Occasional Advisor
Ginette Vincent_2
Posts: 16
Registered: ‎06-22-2004
Message 3 of 7 (353 Views)

Re: MPE - Console C1099A not responding

Thanks, but I've already verified that. One more thing. I've connected a laptop to the same serial port and the results are the same. The display works but the it is not accepting input. Any more thoughts?
Honored Contributor
Andrew Rutter
Posts: 2,108
Registered: ‎07-03-2002
Message 4 of 7 (353 Views)

Re: MPE - Console C1099A not responding

how are you connected?

you should be using the 25 -3x 9pin cable and connected to the local console one.

do you know if you have the gsp board installed aswell? if so try and login to that with control b keystroke

is the server up and running?

Andy
Respected Contributor
Chris Bartram
Posts: 377
Registered: ‎01-03-2002
Message 5 of 7 (353 Views)

Re: MPE - Console C1099A not responding

Have you tried all the basic handshaking sequences to make sure it's not a protocol mismatch?
control-F, control-q, control-y, , and perhaps control-a or control-b to see if it's the command interpreter that's hung but the console commands are ok.
Also check :SHOWDEV 20 (assuming console is ldev 20) and make sure it's AVAIL.
Occasional Advisor
Ginette Vincent_2
Posts: 16
Registered: ‎06-22-2004
Message 6 of 7 (353 Views)

Re: MPE - Console C1099A not responding

Thanks Andrew. It appears the console was hung in the GSP mode.
All is well. Again thanks to all who responded.

Ginette
Honored Contributor
Andrew Rutter
Posts: 2,108
Registered: ‎07-03-2002
Message 7 of 7 (353 Views)

Re: MPE - Console C1099A not responding

Ginette,

Glad your up and running again.


P.S.
Please feel free to assign any points to anyone who may have helped you aswell with all your posts.

Andy
The opinions expressed above are the personal opinions of the authors, not of HP. By using this site, you accept the Terms of Use and Rules of Participation.