Re: configuring failover LDAP server. (247 Views)
Reply
Frequent Advisor
irfan77706
Posts: 47
Registered: ‎04-03-2013
Message 1 of 6 (290 Views)
Accepted Solution

configuring failover ldap server.

Hello Experts,

 

Currently there is only one ldap server configured for HPSM.

We are planning for a backup server .

I have gone through the ldap configuration document, regarding failover it says we have to add

ldapserver1:ldapbackup2,1230
ldapserver2:ldapops

 

Can someone explain me what will be ldap server 1 and ldap server 2

 

Please check the attached sm.ini and screen from scldapconfig.

 

 

Please use plain text.
Frequent Advisor
irfan77706
Posts: 47
Registered: ‎04-03-2013
Message 2 of 6 (283 Views)

Re: configuring failover ldap server.

sorry unable to attach ...

 

###### LDAP Settings ##############
#ldapdisable:1
ldapauthenticateonly
ldapbinddn:CN=SMAdmin,OU=Resources Accounts,OU=Users,OU=du-Corp,DC=corp,DC=du,DC=ae
ldapbindpass:duLdap2010
ldapnostrictlogin:1
#ldapstats:1
Ldaptimelimit:30

 

SCLDAPCONFIG:

 

Ldap Server :172.23.20.10

Port :389

 

Ldap Base directory:DC=corp,DC=du,DC=ae

Please use plain text.
Valued Contributor
SteveO_1
Posts: 63
Registered: ‎04-06-2010
Message 3 of 6 (279 Views)

Re: configuring failover ldap server.

ldapserver1: - should be your primary LDAP server

ldapserver2: - should be your backup LDAP server

 

If server 1 is not available then server 2 will be used for logins etc.

 

If the LDAP configuration is a failover configuration, then this is all you need. If both servers are available at the same time, then login queries may also be handled by the backup server, depending on the configuration and circumstances in the environment. As long as the LDAP servers are in sync, and using the same repository (or a replicated one), you should not encounter any difficulties.

Please use plain text.
Frequent Advisor
irfan77706
Posts: 47
Registered: ‎04-03-2013
Message 4 of 6 (276 Views)

Re: configuring failover ldap server.

Thank you for replying.

 

"If both servers are available at the same time, then login queries may also be handled by the backup server"

 

For the above point can we make only the primary server to handle the request if both are available.

 

and do we have to make any changes in SCLDAPCONFIG table as well.

 

 

Please use plain text.
Valued Contributor
SteveO_1
Posts: 63
Registered: ‎04-06-2010
Message 5 of 6 (247 Views)

Re: configuring failover LDAP server.

The secondary (backup) server would only be referenced if the primary server was unavailable for 30 seconds, which could conceivably occur during busy periods or when network traffic is high, but otherwise only the primary would be referenced.

 

In both cases you should ensure that the host, port and base directory are specified, otherwise you can see a drop in performance when the secondary server is referenced.

 

So you should have something like:

 

ldapserver1:ldap1.acme.com,389,"DC=Users,OU=Company,O=com"

ldapserver2:ldap2.acme.com,389,"DC=Users,OU=Company,O=com"

 

Assuming the data structure is the same or shared, otherwise a different base directory should be set.

 

You should not make any changes to the scldapconfig records

Please use plain text.
Frequent Advisor
irfan77706
Posts: 47
Registered: ‎04-03-2013
Message 6 of 6 (233 Views)

Re: configuring failover LDAP server.

thank you 

Appreaciate your help

Please use plain text.
The opinions expressed above are the personal opinions of the authors, not of HP. By using this site, you accept the Terms of Use and Rules of Participation