Re: Unable to add Problem Type in SM9 (589 Views)
Reply
Valued Contributor
Posts: 182
Registered: ‎11-26-2008
Message 1 of 6 (665 Views)
Accepted Solution

Unable to add Problem Type in SM9

Hi Expert,

 

We are facing an issue while adding problem type in SM it displays an error message "DEFAULT is not a valid Company in the company file (se.search.engine,display.decide)" and hence we unable to add the problem type.Kindly check the attached snapshot of the error.

 

Please help us to fix this issue or any Knowledge document is available for same.

 

 

Thanks & Regards,
HP Tools

Live as if you were to die tomorrow. Learn as if you were to live forever.
Honored Contributor
Posts: 4,467
Registered: ‎06-17-2010
Message 2 of 6 (659 Views)

Re: Unable to add Problem Type in SM9

Hi,

It clearly saying that DEFAULT is not a company record in your environment.
Actually there would be validation on fc named 'problem.type' for those field, hence you may remove it in fc.

hth,
____________________________________
Assign Kudo, if found post useful and mark it accepted if solves the issue.
Valued Contributor
Posts: 182
Registered: ‎11-26-2008
Message 3 of 6 (654 Views)

Re: Unable to add Problem Type in SM9

PFA, validation is blank in FC > Problem type..

 

 

Thanks & Regards,
HP Tools

Live as if you were to die tomorrow. Learn as if you were to live forever.
Respected Contributor
Posts: 145
Registered: ‎05-14-2010
Message 4 of 6 (638 Views)

Re: Unable to add Problem Type in SM9

[ Edited ]

Hello,
open datadict utility for problemtype table.
Open Validation tab delete all records in Default Value, Match Filed and Match Table for company line.

HTH.

Occasional Contributor
Posts: 7
Registered: ‎12-27-2011
Message 5 of 6 (601 Views)

Re: Unable to add Problem Type in SM9

open problem.type in form designer (fd) and change visible condition of company field to true

 

then try to add problem type with correct company value

Highlighted
Honored Contributor
Posts: 4,467
Registered: ‎06-17-2010
Message 6 of 6 (589 Views)

Re: Unable to add Problem Type in SM9

Hi,

Try as expett suggested , here instead of delete mark your default company name or add the DEFAULT company in 'company' table.

hth,
____________________________________
Assign Kudo, if found post useful and mark it accepted if solves the issue.
The opinions expressed above are the personal opinions of the authors, not of HP. By using this site, you accept the Terms of Use and Rules of Participation.