Re: Knowledge Management (619 Views)
Reply
Advisor
Meethi
Posts: 25
Registered: ‎02-20-2012
Message 1 of 10 (894 Views)
Accepted Solution

Knowledge Management

[ Edited ]

Hi Experts,

 

We have configured the Knowlegde management and we are able to add and update the data manually.

 

We are trying to update the knowledge management by uploading the ".csv" file.

 

But no records are getting updated. Kindly find the attached file for the error we are getting.

 

Please help.

 

Thanks in advance.

Honored Contributor
Piku
Posts: 3,972
Registered: ‎06-17-2010
Message 2 of 10 (880 Views)

Re: Knowledge Management

Hi,

It seems that you are getting error because you are not providing the id of Knowledge document in you csv file or ids are not unique.
It is mandatory to have unique key for each document/record to be added in to knowledge table.
So just generate the id first according to documents already uploaded in table then add the id in your csv and importer descriptor.

hth
~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~
Assign Kudo, if found post useful and mark it accepted if solves the issue.
http://h30499.www3.hp.com/t5/Tips-and-Tricks/Kudos-what-where-how-and-why/m-p/5677925#U5677925
Advisor
Meethi
Posts: 25
Registered: ‎02-20-2012
Message 3 of 10 (877 Views)

Re: Knowledge Management

Firstly, thank you for the response piku!

 

Could you please tell me how to define the unique key in the csv file?

 

We have tried adding random numbers which would act as unique keys, but that did not help.

Advisor
ArpitAggarwal
Posts: 23
Registered: ‎05-02-2012
Message 4 of 10 (861 Views)

Re: Knowledge Management

Hi 

 

Check for the datadict for kmdocumnet table and check for the Unique fields of the table .. It seems the unique key is getting repeated in your CSV ....

Advisor
Meethi
Posts: 25
Registered: ‎02-20-2012
Message 5 of 10 (833 Views)

Re: Knowledge Management

Hi Arpit!

 

I have checked the unique key. The "id" field is the unique key.

 

Kindly help to proceed further. I am  stuck with this error.

 

Thanks in advance.

Advisor
ArpitAggarwal
Posts: 23
Registered: ‎05-02-2012
Message 6 of 10 (825 Views)

Re: Knowledge Management

Hi

Are you using any kind of import descriptor while importing the csv... ?

 

Regards

Honored Contributor
Piku
Posts: 3,972
Registered: ‎06-17-2010
Message 7 of 10 (809 Views)

Re: Knowledge Management

Hi Meethi,

To upload the data from csv file you have to use the import descriptor and have to map the field in both of these.
To add the id first of all , add id column in your importer descriptor then according to that position add the id field in your csv file.To add the value in your .csv file for this id column check what is last id of knowledge doc in your environment and generate next ids accordingly by increasing the number for each record in .csv file.
Also to check the id you may use the number file ,type number in command line then put kmdocument in class field now enter ,you will get the one record note last number value and prefix and combined them like KM+list number = KM0023
So according to above generate and mention your id in .csv file.

Other way is to use the FC in import descriptor ,create a FC and mention it's name in Format Control field of import descriptor,
and in FC mentioned as follow

Subroutines tab ::
Add: true
Before: true
RAD Application: getnumb.fc
Parameter Names: record, name, prompt, and text
Parameter Values: $file, kmdocument, id, and string


hth,
~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~
Assign Kudo, if found post useful and mark it accepted if solves the issue.
http://h30499.www3.hp.com/t5/Tips-and-Tricks/Kudos-what-where-how-and-why/m-p/5677925#U5677925
Advisor
Meethi
Posts: 25
Registered: ‎02-20-2012
Message 8 of 10 (777 Views)

Re: Knowledge Management

Hi,

 

Ankit: Yes, we are using import descriptor.

 

Piku: Will try it and let you know with the proceedings.

 

Thank you very much..

Advisor
Meethi
Posts: 25
Registered: ‎02-20-2012
Message 9 of 10 (764 Views)

Re: Knowledge Management

Hi,

 

We are now able to add the csv file. Also, we are getting the message that records have got updated.

 

But after full reindexing, the record is not being displayed on searching in search knowlegdebases.

 

Please help.

 

Thanks in advance.

Trusted Contributor
Brett Christlieb
Posts: 59
Registered: ‎04-02-2010
Message 10 of 10 (619 Views)

Re: Knowledge Management

The supported method for importing records into the kmdocument table is using the KMImport Utility and importing xml files of the documents. Now, that is not to say that you cannot try to use an import descriptor record with a .csv file. However, what you might run across by doing that is importing special characters that the indexer or search engine might reject.

 

In your last update you said that records needed to be indexed. Anytime you create, import or update knowledge a record is created in kmknowledgebaseupdates for that document. If you ran a full index how many records were submitted for indexing and how many were actually indexed? Are the ones that were imported missing from the results set while the manually added/created documents are in the results set? 

 

Brett Alan Christlieb

Level 3 Technical Support Engineer

HP Software Support Team 

Brett Alan Christlieb
Service Manager Level 3 | Backline Support Team


If you find that this or any post resolves your issue please be sure to mark is as an accepted solution.
The opinions expressed above are the personal opinions of the authors, not of HP. By using this site, you accept the Terms of Use and Rules of Participation.