Re: Different Inactivity Timers HPSM 9.32.0016 (470 Views)
Reply
Occasional Advisor
MarkusGrndlr
Posts: 15
Registered: ‎02-10-2014
Message 1 of 10 (536 Views)
Accepted Solution

Different Inactivity Timers HPSM 9.32.0016

Hello,

 

we have 4 different inactivity scheduler for different people (20 minutes, 30 minutes, 180 minutes, 360 minutes). Before we upgraded from 9.20 to 9.32 everything worked fine.

Since 9.32 we're only able to define one inactivity scheduler by menu (RAD kill.inactive.setup). So we decided to implement our own inactivity schedulers (like in 9.20) by adding 4 schedule entries like described in different other forum posts (application: kill.inactive, strings1: users which won't get by inactivity timer, 1 in number1=20 - for 20 minutes, 1 in times=00:20:00, 2 in times=00:10:00, repeat interval 00:05:00, class or scheduled class inactive2 - own defined process    --    we also did a test with 2 in number1=10).

 

But the 4 inactivity schedulers won't be thrown. The process is still polling the 4 schedulers but no user will be thrown by the system.

Only the inactivity by the RAD kill.inactive.setup is working. In this case the timer will give a message every 5 minutes to the 30 minutes inactivity. If we change the 5 minutes to 20 minutes, the users will get a message "20 minutes to inactivity" every 5 minutes.

 

Now we tested about our problem that only the kill.inactive.setup-scheduler is working and found this:

- If this inactivity is stopped, no inactivity will work, also the own schedulers aren't working

-If we are deleting our own 4 schedulers, only the message will disappear one time

-Starting the inactivity timer by RAD kill.inactive.setup no scheduler is started, but the only 1 set inactivity will work.

 

Could anybody explain, what's going on here, and how to implement 4 different schedulers whithout an alert every 5 minutes?

 

Kind regards

 

Markus

Please use plain text.
HP Expert
lisajo
Posts: 480
Registered: ‎02-15-2010
Message 2 of 10 (519 Views)

Re: Different Inactivity Timers HPSM 9.32.0016

Hi Markus

 

If you look at

http://h30499.www3.hp.com/t5/HP-Service-Manager-Service/Inactivity-Timer/td-p/6009553#.Ux3KEIXLKjY

 

this might help

Thank you

lisa

"HP Support
If you find that this post or any post resolves your issue, please make sure to mark it as an accepted solution."
Please use plain text.
Occasional Advisor
MarkusGrndlr
Posts: 15
Registered: ‎02-10-2014
Message 3 of 10 (507 Views)

Re: Different Inactivity Timers HPSM 9.32.0016

Hi Lisa,

 

this is the problem. If we start the inactivity timer (Menu: System Administration->Ongoing Maintenance->System->Start Inactivity Timer) then no scheduler entry is set. Also if we delete our existing schedulers and restart the Inactivity timer, no scheduler will be set, but inactivity timer works for the entries in System Inactivity Timer.

 

Kind regards

 

Markus

Please use plain text.
HP Expert
lisajo
Posts: 480
Registered: ‎02-15-2010
Message 4 of 10 (502 Views)

Re: Different Inactivity Timers HPSM 9.32.0016

HI Markus Do you see any error message in your sm .log

 

Can you post your sm.log file?

 

Thank you

Lisa

"HP Support
If you find that this post or any post resolves your issue, please make sure to mark it as an accepted solution."
Please use plain text.
Honored Contributor
Jas1
Posts: 407
Registered: ‎04-05-2010
Message 5 of 10 (487 Views)

Re: Different Inactivity Timers HPSM 9.32.0016

I'm curious. How come you are recreating this functionality from 9.20 when 9.32 now gives you the functionality to specify different inactive settings for different users out of the box ?

Please use plain text.
Established Member
santix
Posts: 1
Registered: ‎05-05-2010
Message 6 of 10 (480 Views)

Re: Different Inactivity Timers HPSM 9.32.0016

Jas,

 

how does it work in 9.32 for different users? I read from HPSM 9.33 that the new version is able to do it for each operator.

 

Kind regards

 

Markus

Please use plain text.
Honored Contributor
John Stagaman
Posts: 3,385
Registered: ‎07-13-2007
Message 7 of 10 (470 Views)

Re: Different Inactivity Timers HPSM 9.32.0016

[ Edited ]

In the 9.32 release notes, it specifically mentions that the legacy inactive process is obsolete and has been replaced in 9.32 applications by the new process.  (while it mentions backwards compatiblity, that applies only when using the 9.32 RTE with older application versions).

 

The custom inactivity timers probably all worked by starting additional instances of the legacy inactive processor, but that is deprecated in 9.32. 

 

Operator Level Settings

Administrators can now configure the inactivity timer settings for a specific operator, by specifying

the Warning Time and Allowed Inactive Time fields on the Security tab of the operator record.

Operator level settings take precedence over system level settings specified in the Start Inactivity

Timer form.

----------------------------------------------------
Kudos - what, where, how, and why
Want Good Answers? Ask Good Questions...
Please use plain text.
Occasional Advisor
MarkusGrndlr
Posts: 15
Registered: ‎02-10-2014
Message 8 of 10 (463 Views)

Re: Different Inactivity Timers HPSM 9.32.0016

OK, yes it works. We had an old operator format where the new fields have not been shown.

 

Thank you guys.

Please use plain text.
Valued Contributor
Kristen Branson
Posts: 95
Registered: ‎06-08-2009
Message 9 of 10 (126 Views)

Re: Different Inactivity Timers HPSM 9.32.0016

What is the name of the new operator form? I'm not finding these fields anywhere. We are on 9.34.

Please use plain text.
Honored Contributor
Piku
Posts: 3,944
Registered: ‎06-17-2010
Message 10 of 10 (112 Views)

Re: Different Inactivity Timers HPSM 9.32.0016

[ Edited ]

From SM9.32 onwards you do not requires background process named ‘inactive’ and attached scheduler record. You just need to start the inactivity record in system which can be set from,

Menu navigator - > System Administration - > Ongoing Maintenance -> System -> Start Inactivity Timer

 

Also from SM9.32, in each operator record you can explicitly mention the Inactive and Warning time which precede over inactive record. These fields are placed at bottom of left column in Security tab of operator record.

 

Form name is same in all version of sm till now, that is, operator.g

If you have performed full application upgrade then you have to promote these fields or whole form in your system.

 

Regards,

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~
Assign Kudo, if found post useful and mark it accepted if solves the issue.
http://h30499.www3.hp.com/t5/Tips-and-Tricks/Kudos-what-where-how-and-why/m-p/5677925#U5677925
Please use plain text.
The opinions expressed above are the personal opinions of the authors, not of HP. By using this site, you accept the Terms of Use and Rules of Participation