Re: Default password when creating new operators (438 Views)
Reply
Frequent Advisor
PavelMishev
Posts: 100
Registered: ‎04-02-2013
Message 1 of 7 (507 Views)
Accepted Solution

Default password when creating new operators

[ Edited ]

Hi,

is there in SM, and if not, how to configure, a functionality, when we create new operators, all of them to have one and same default password, and if we check expire password, when we craete them, the first time, they log in to the system from the web client, the system to ask them for change the defaulf password to new one. In example we want to make new operators with a default "password" password for all of them. Is that possible?

Regards

Honored Contributor
Piku
Posts: 4,128
Registered: ‎06-17-2010
Message 2 of 7 (490 Views)

Re: Default password when creating new operators

Suppose you can use the comp record for the same.
Type comp in command line and try option 'Reset to Value'.
Or if you are creating in bulk then add the password field value in excel with 'password', sm will auto encrypt it.

In case of manual individual entry type the password in password field.


hth,
____________________________________
Assign Kudo, if found post useful and mark it accepted if solves the issue.
Frequent Advisor
PavelMishev
Posts: 100
Registered: ‎04-02-2013
Message 3 of 7 (483 Views)

Re: Default password when creating new operators

Hi, Piku,

when I choose "Reset to Value" option and the type there a default password, then when we test the functionality, when we create new operator record, when the operator try to log in in the system, he can log in, but with a blank password, not the default password, which we have put.

Honored Contributor
Piku
Posts: 4,128
Registered: ‎06-17-2010
Message 4 of 7 (477 Views)

Re: Default password when creating new operators

Ok, remove it from there. And can try for trigger on operator table as follow,

name : <any desired>
table name : operator
type : 2 - After Add

script :
record.password="password";



This will set password as 'password" after each add,even if you have add manually something to it.
To set password only in case of blank may try script as follow,
if (record.password == "")
record.password="password";


hth,
____________________________________
Assign Kudo, if found post useful and mark it accepted if solves the issue.
Frequent Advisor
mpatrikov
Posts: 36
Registered: ‎09-11-2013
Message 5 of 7 (476 Views)

Re: Default password when creating new operators

Hi Pavel and Piku,

The solution that Piku suggested should work.

I just want to add one thing - the second script:

if (record.password == "")
record.password="password";

might not work if you set it in an After Add trigger because the "blank" password is still inserted with a HASH of "".

If added in a Before Add trigger though, it should work.

Best Regards,
Miro
Frequent Advisor
PavelMishev
Posts: 100
Registered: ‎04-02-2013
Message 6 of 7 (445 Views)

Re: Default password when creating new operators

[ Edited ]

Hi Piku and Miro, I try the above mentioned solutions, but when we create new operator and try to log in to the system it can't log in with the password, which we wrote in the trigger, but with blank password it succeeds. That's the only way to log in, when we log in with the blank password, the system shows the option to change that password to something new one and that's it...Very, very strange, why the trigger does not work? Thank you for the replies!

Frequent Advisor
PavelMishev
Posts: 100
Registered: ‎04-02-2013
Message 7 of 7 (438 Views)

Re: Default password when creating new operators

Ok, guys, my mistake, the functionality works with the following solution:

name : <any desired>
table name : operator
type : 2 - Before Add

script :
record.password="password";

 Thank to you both for the advices and help! Best Regards!

The opinions expressed above are the personal opinions of the authors, not of HP. By using this site, you accept the Terms of Use and Rules of Participation.