Change approval using process designer

by Community Manager on ‎11-13-2013 02:07 PM

Question

I have a situation where when a change manager of a group approves in one phase (in Change Management) approval is transcended to all phases thereafter.  For example if approval is done in phase 1, phase 2, 3, 4 are automatically approved. The change manager is selecting the override option, and approve all.  Can anyone tell me how to stop that?

Answer

I was able to find the information and explanation that you are looking for. What you are experiencing with the automatic approval is working as designed.

 

There were 2 defects that were corrected with the rollout of PD3.

 

QCCR1E79572 states:

Problem:

Automatic Approval no longer works after migrating from the classical Change Management to Process Designer.

 

Solution:

Previous to Process Designer, the approval group that a user belongs to is passed to generate the approval. However, in Process Designer, the group is not passed and the auto approval does not work. This fix allows the approval group to be passed as a parameter and allows the auto-approval to function as expected.

 

So what you are experiencing is working as designed. What you are experiencing is working as designed. If a user that is logged in with admin authority, and they are in the approval group for that phase, the approval will be automatic

 

Note: There are Object records “Approval” and “ApprovalDelegation”.  The default on the “preapproval on open” field is set to true. You could set it to false, however perform adequate testing to determine what overall effects it may have on your workflows.  Below is a description of the field:

Determines whether the record should be automatically approved.

 

If the condition is true, and the user belongs to one of the pending approval

groups, the approval is processed automatically. If the user does not belong to

one of the pending approval groups, the approval does not occur automatically,

and must then go through the regular approval process.

 

The default is true

 

So if you select the next phase or have it set up to transition automatically to the next phase….and you are in the approval group, then it will be automatically approved.

 

I also found this defect that was also corrected in PD3 that talks about the override function. Thought this would be of interest.

 

QCCR1E74227 also states:

Problem:

You cannot configure override permissions for operators with the new Process Designer Content Patch installed and security roles. Prior to the Content Patch, override permissions for operators would be configured in the change profiles, which are no longer used.

 

 

 

 

Solution:

The "change.view_approve" display option was modified and "admin in $L.env" is used instead of "approve.override in $L.env." These changes grant the admin user the approval.override permission.

Search
Follow Us


Twitter Stream
Contributors
HP Blog

HP Software Solutions Blog

The opinions expressed above are the personal opinions of the authors, not of HP. By using this site, you accept the Terms of Use and Rules of Participation