Re: check connectivity to iLO default gateway (2754 Views)
Reply
Regular Advisor
Gene Kenny
Posts: 230
Registered: ‎03-18-2004
Message 1 of 8 (3,785 Views)

check connectivity to iLO default gateway

Hi

I have a c3000 blade unit. With two half height blades and one full height blade.
I get an iLO error of iLO configuration error, check connectivity to iLO default gateway on the full height blade the half height blades work correctly. I moved the blade that is not working to a different slot and I get the same results. Not sure how to check the iLO default gateway. Any thoughts will be appreciated.

Thanks,

Honored Contributor
Change_happens
Posts: 528
Registered: ‎09-26-2007
Message 2 of 8 (3,785 Views)

Re: check connectivity to iLO default gateway

to check iLO network settings. reboot server press F8 to go into iLO.
once page loded go to network and check if gateway n other settings are fine.

Thanks
Occasional Visitor
MichaelT_3
Posts: 2
Registered: ‎06-20-2008
Message 3 of 8 (3,785 Views)

Re: check connectivity to iLO default gateway

I see that the suggested solution is to hit F8 during the reboot, but is there any way I can do that remotely?

Or is that impossible due to the situation?
Honored Contributor
Raghuarch
Posts: 562
Registered: ‎07-18-2007
Message 4 of 8 (3,785 Views)

Re: check connectivity to iLO default gateway

You can try reseting the server from OA remotely.

Login to OA via telnet or ssh Execute a command
"Reset server "
this should fix that issue.

Or you can Login to the iLO IP using browser and goto network settings and Check the Gateway.
Honored Contributor
Raghuarch
Posts: 562
Registered: ‎07-18-2007
Message 5 of 8 (3,785 Views)

Re: check connectivity to iLO default gateway

Are you still seeing the problem...
Occasional Visitor
MichaelT_3
Posts: 2
Registered: ‎06-20-2008
Message 6 of 8 (3,785 Views)

Re: check connectivity to iLO default gateway

What I had to do to resolve the issue was:
(and unfortunately, could not be done remotely)
- change the internal switches (1 and 6) to reset the blade back to factory default and also to enable dhcp.
- reinstall the blade
- after the blade powered on, set the switches back to off
- from there we could set the EBIPA and the blade was available
Advisor
JJSLY
Posts: 13
Registered: ‎07-30-2008
Message 7 of 8 (2,778 Views)

Re: check connectivity to iLO default gateway

iLO IP address conflict can cause this issue as well. Make sure that there is no other device on the network using the iLO IP.

Trusted Contributor
Casper42
Posts: 279
Registered: ‎10-07-2010
Message 8 of 8 (2,754 Views)

Re: check connectivity to iLO default gateway

[ Edited ]

You should have been able to SSH into the OA, and then type CONNECT SERVER X (where X is the slot number) and be connected to the iLO CLI prompt.

From there you use the iLO Scripting Guide and it tells you how to change/check the IP, NetMask, Gateway, etc.

 

All this can be done online and there would have been no need to down the server.

 

 

Option 2

 

You could have used HPONCFG from the OS and Reset the iLO config to factory defaults (only the iLO, not the entire server)

Then use the EBIPA feature (Enclosure Bay IP Addressing, under Enclosure Settings) to give the iLO in Slot X whatever IP you wanted.  EBIPA is a hybrid between DHCP and Static assignments.  The iLO uss DHCP and the OA acts like a DHCP Server (don't worry, it only responds to INTERNAL) devices.

Once you had the EBIPA working, you could have either left it alone and had a happy iLO, or go in through the Web Interface to the iLO and change the IP to Static.

 

 

Both can be done remotely assuming you have access to the OA.

The opinions expressed above are the personal opinions of the authors, not of HP. By using this site, you accept the Terms of Use and Rules of Participation.