ssh issue with VC Flex-10 switches (586 Views)
Reply
Visitor
azarembok
Posts: 3
Registered: ‎02-20-2014
Message 1 of 6 (586 Views)

ssh issue with VC Flex-10 switches

Hello,

 

I have been occasionally seeing a problem when trying to connect to Virtual Connect via SSH.  After entering my username and password, I get a message that says "Unable to communicate with the virtual connect manager.  Please retry again later".

 

I have seen this on at least two different systems, one c7000 and one c3000.  I believe the issue started after upgrading to VC 4.10.  I can always clear up the issue by resetting whichever switch is the VC primary, and forcing a failover to the other switch.  I know that the username/password are correct and that VC is configured to allow ssh connections, because the connection works fine most of the time.

 

Has anyone seen this problem, and are their any known solutions or workarounds?

 

Thanks!

Occasional Visitor
envqa
Posts: 1
Registered: ‎07-29-2014
Message 2 of 6 (406 Views)

Re: ssh issue with VC Flex-10 switches

got same issue after upgrade from 3.7x to 4.10. SSH connect to OA is still functional as the one to Virtual Connect Manager fails in your same conditions : after credentials inputs just the error message come

Visitor
azarembok
Posts: 3
Registered: ‎02-20-2014
Message 3 of 6 (395 Views)

Re: ssh issue with VC Flex-10 switches

I was recently informed by HP support that VC 4.30 (not yet released) will contain a fix that should address this issue.

Occasional Visitor
MrToots
Posts: 2
Registered: ‎11-10-2014
Message 4 of 6 (129 Views)

Re: ssh issue with VC Flex-10 switches

Now that 4.3x has been released, does anyone know whether this fixed the issue with SSH that generated the "Unable to communicate with the Virtual Connect Manager. Please retry again later" message?  I don't see any reference to this problem in the documented "fixes" section of the 4.31 firmware updates.  

Visitor
azarembok
Posts: 3
Registered: ‎02-20-2014
Message 5 of 6 (124 Views)

Re: ssh issue with VC Flex-10 switches

Since upgrading several systems to 4.30, I have NOT seen the problem recur.  I was seeing it fairly regularly before upgrading.  So I believe that it is fixed.

Occasional Visitor
MrToots
Posts: 2
Registered: ‎11-10-2014
Message 6 of 6 (117 Views)

Re: ssh issue with VC Flex-10 switches

The other issue with 4.3x is that there may be an expected long network outage to blade servers in the enclosure - several minutes possibly - as the firmware is installed. Is this true?  I don't have the luxury of a maintenance window where I work - it is 24x7x365 here.

 

The opinions expressed above are the personal opinions of the authors, not of HP. By using this site, you accept the Terms of Use and Rules of Participation.