Re: VC and OA CLI - Script Backup (991 Views)
Reply
Honored Contributor
shocko
Posts: 881
Registered: ‎11-13-2008
Message 1 of 10 (1,030 Views)
Accepted Solution

VC and OA CLI - Script Backup

Hi guys,

 

Trying to use SolarWinds CatTools to backup the OA config and VC config by running simple CLI commands over sshv2. I can login fine but the issue is, when I run a command like

 

  • show config

The output is sent to the console, page by page. The CatTools can't handle this and needs the output to be sent in it's entirety. I've tried using this command

 

  • set script mode on

but to no avail. Anyone have any ideas?

If my post was helpful please award me Kudos! or Points :)
Please use plain text.
Trusted Contributor
Hongjun Ma
Posts: 215
Registered: ‎02-07-2011
Message 2 of 10 (1,018 Views)

Re: VC and OA CLI - Script Backup

 

I tried catools 3.7 just now. and set device type as generic. I can grab VC config in 3 secs and the session exited correctly. MY VC is running 3.30. Did you try to set device type as generic?

 

My VC blog: http://hongjunma.wordpress.com



Please use plain text.
Honored Contributor
shocko
Posts: 881
Registered: ‎11-13-2008
Message 3 of 10 (1,016 Views)

Re: VC and OA CLI - Script Backup

Thanks for the reply!

 

I've been using CatTools 3.6 (downloaded only 4 days ago but I'll look form 3.7 ;))

 

 

If my post was helpful please award me Kudos! or Points :)
Please use plain text.
Honored Contributor
shocko
Posts: 881
Registered: ‎11-13-2008
Message 4 of 10 (1,015 Views)

Re: VC and OA CLI - Script Backup

Also,

I'm using OA version 3.32 (you mention VC but I assume you mean OA as the show config is specific to the OA). What SSH client are you using?

If my post was helpful please award me Kudos! or Points :)
Please use plain text.
Honored Contributor
shocko
Posts: 881
Registered: ‎11-13-2008
Message 5 of 10 (1,014 Views)

Re: VC and OA CLI - Script Backup

Figured out the issue. I had manually specified putty as the SSH client. Turned thats setting off and all good now ;)

If my post was helpful please award me Kudos! or Points :)
Please use plain text.
Trusted Contributor
Hongjun Ma
Posts: 215
Registered: ‎02-07-2011
Message 6 of 10 (1,010 Views)

Re: VC and OA CLI - Script Backup

glad that you found the solution by yourself.

 

actually I was referring to VC. Starting from VC3.30, you have "show config" for VC cli.

My VC blog: http://hongjunma.wordpress.com



Please use plain text.
Honored Contributor
shocko
Posts: 881
Registered: ‎11-13-2008
Message 7 of 10 (1,008 Views)

Re: VC and OA CLI - Script Backup

Wow, cool! That should make backup a lot easier! Thanks for your help. Knowing that someone had it working made me examine my config in more detail!

If my post was helpful please award me Kudos! or Points :)
Please use plain text.
Advisor
ricdanger21
Posts: 19
Registered: ‎11-05-2011
Message 8 of 10 (1,001 Views)

Re: VC and OA CLI - Script Backup

Hi,

Can you share how you setup Cattools?

I can't get it to work with generic.

Thanks.

Please use plain text.
Trusted Contributor
Hongjun Ma
Posts: 215
Registered: ‎02-07-2011
Message 9 of 10 (995 Views)

Re: VC and OA CLI - Script Backup

Device:

 

Task:

 

 

 

My VC blog: http://hongjunma.wordpress.com



Please use plain text.
Honored Contributor
shocko
Posts: 881
Registered: ‎11-13-2008
Message 10 of 10 (991 Views)

Re: VC and OA CLI - Script Backup

I have the exact same config.

If my post was helpful please award me Kudos! or Points :)
Please use plain text.
The opinions expressed above are the personal opinions of the authors, not of HP. By using this site, you accept the Terms of Use and Rules of Participation