Re: BL460c Gen with V2 Intel CPUs can't see 534FLB's HBA? (4921 Views)
Reply
Occasional Advisor
MattGG
Posts: 17
Registered: ‎04-21-2010
Message 1 of 13 (5,030 Views)

BL460c Gen with V2 Intel CPUs can't see 534FLB's HBA?

Trying to install a BL460c Gen8 with a new 2 x v2 E5-2670 CPU and 256GB memory into a c7000 with FlexFabric.  The OA is 4.01 and VC is 4.1.

 

We apply the Server Profile with Ethernet and FC.   When we install HP branded vSphere 5.5 on the host is does not detect the HBA part of the CNA. 

 

Any thoughts?

 

Thanks,

-MattGG

Frequent Visitor
Kumi Chetty
Posts: 2
Registered: ‎01-21-2008
Message 2 of 13 (4,921 Views)

Re: BL460c Gen with V2 Intel CPUs can't see 534FLB's HBA?

Hi Matt

 

Had the same problem with Proliant BL660c gen 8, we tried almost everything we could think off, no success. Elevated the call to Level 2 engineering and they were taking very long to resolve. So we decided to apply some classical troubleshooting methods and low and behold stumbled on the solution quite by accident. For some reason even though firmware drivers etc were off the latest HP build of ESXI 5.5 Sept 2013 could not get the server WWPN to login to fabric.

 

Basically we knew that we should find hba/fcoe info in /proc/scsi- but it had only an sa entry for the internal smart array controller so we knew something was wrong on the blade side of things. I then ran the following command from an ssh session: esxcfg-fcoe -d vmnic2 and do the ame fo vmnic3. If you go back to /proc you will see that there is an entry for the FCOE hba including it's WWN etc. From here everything should just work as normal.

 

Hope this helps you solve your issue?

 

Regards

 

Kumi Chetty ( HP South Africa)

Occasional Visitor
vren80
Posts: 1
Registered: ‎01-13-2014
Message 3 of 13 (4,801 Views)

Re: BL460c Gen with V2 Intel CPUs can't see 534FLB's HBA?

Hi Kumi Chetty,

 

I would like to extend my gratitude to you for your information on this, I have the same issue with 18 x blade servers and HP support have been very below par to say the least!!!

 

Now I would like to know why that fixes it and why this is not already known by L2 HP support.

 

A massive thank you again to you, legend!

:)

 

Spoiler
 

 

Respected Contributor
Psychonaut
Posts: 214
Registered: ‎08-31-2011
Message 4 of 13 (4,750 Views)

Re: BL460c Gen with V2 Intel CPUs can't see 534FLB's HBA?

To vent I had the same problem with 5.1.  Support was utterly useless.  I found the link to the fix on VMware's site and the rep ignored me when I said we should try it.  This was after a week and a half of back and forth.  I finally just did it and it resolved the issue.

 

I still can't believe that it isn't documented somewhere within HP.  They should have been able to provide me a fix right away for this issue.  

 

To say I was dissappointed in support is an understatement.

Visitor
ajav
Posts: 1
Registered: ‎01-14-2014
Message 5 of 13 (4,722 Views)

Re: BL460c Gen with V2 Intel CPUs can't see 534FLB's HBA?

[ Edited ]

Command “esxcfg-fcoe -d vmnic2 “ is a ESX console command, used to create fabric login in ESX OS. If there are any hardware or blade issue fabric login creation would fail.

 

Steps to configure FCoE,

 

  1. Change the default  Nic Personality from ISCSI to FCoE in RBSU.
  2. If there a VC setup, Create the SAN Fabrics FCoE_A and FCoE_B configure appropriate uplink ports, refer 36 Page VC cook book if need more help.

   http://h20628.www2.hp.com/km-ext/kmcsdirect/emr_na-c02616817-5.pdf

 

3. In order to configure FCoE on VMware ESX5.X either use Esx console or VI Client  GUI, for more help refer below link shared for Intel Chip adapters.

 

http://www.intel.in/content/dam/www/public/us/en/documents/guides/ethernet-x520-configuring-fcoe-vmw...

 

thanks

Javeed

Valued Contributor
Cali
Posts: 78
Registered: ‎04-12-2011
Message 6 of 13 (4,560 Views)

Re: BL460c Gen with V2 Intel CPUs can't see 534FLB's HBA?

Hi Kumi Chetty,

 

you saved my Day!

 

esxcfg-fcoe -d vmnic0

 

Was the solution for us too.

 

We have BL560c Gen8 with v2 CPU and 534FLB & ESX 5.5.

 

Thank you.

Occasional Visitor
Breizh
Posts: 1
Registered: ‎03-10-2014
Message 7 of 13 (4,395 Views)

Re: BL460c Gen with V2 Intel CPUs can't see 534FLB's HBA?

I've been struggling with the same issue for almost a week now. BL460c Gen8 (745915-S01) with a 534FLB and a 554M. The 554M showed up, no problem. Finally ran across this article from VMware: http://kb.vmware.com/selfservice/microsites/search.do?language=en_US&cmd=displayKC&externalId=203470... Now I can see my 534FLB...
Occasional Collector
ShriniwasBadgu
Posts: 1
Registered: ‎03-11-2014
Message 8 of 13 (4,372 Views)

Re: BL460c Gen with V2 Intel CPUs can't see 534FLB's HBA?

I have Same Problem, Please run below command and activate HBA on ESXi host,

 

1-       Login to ESXi CLI.

2-       Determine which interfaces are FCoE capable
      
# esxcli fcoe nic list.

3- Activate FCoE:
# esxcli fcoe nic discover –n vmnicX (vmnicX is VMNIC Number)

4- Verify the interface is activated by one of the steps below:

      # esxcli fcoe adapter list

      # esxcfg-scsidevs –a

Note:
If it is not activate, please reinstall the driver.


Command Scritp

esxcli fcoe nic list
esxcli fcoe nic discover -n vmnic4  (vmnicX is VMNIC Number)
esxcli fcoe nic discover -n vmnic5  (vmnicX is VMNIC Number)
esxcli fcoe adapter list
esxcfg-scsidevs -a

 

Thanks

Shriniwas

Occasional Visitor
TPG-GVA
Posts: 1
Registered: ‎05-07-2013
Message 9 of 13 (4,361 Views)

Re: BL460c Gen with V2 Intel CPUs can't see 534FLB's HBA?

I got to say: thank you for sharing, it worked for me too !!
Occasional Visitor
pvdh
Posts: 1
Registered: ‎04-08-2014
Message 10 of 13 (4,112 Views)

Re: BL460c Gen with V2 Intel CPUs can't see 534FLB's HBA?

[ Edited ]

 

Got the FCoE ports working but now it seems the enet ports are also still visible.. Anyone got a solution to fix this as I am stumped here.. Probably missing some dumb something but stil..

 

Occasional Visitor
LeroyW
Posts: 1
Registered: ‎05-14-2014
Message 11 of 13 (3,785 Views)

Re: BL460c Gen with V2 Intel CPUs can't see 534FLB's HBA?

Worked for me also ....Thanks!!!!!!!!!!

Visitor
MACHETASO
Posts: 4
Registered: ‎06-07-2014
Message 12 of 13 (3,432 Views)

Re: BL460c Gen with V2 Intel CPUs can't see 534FLB's HBA?

[ Edited ]

Kumi Chetty,

 

Thanks a milion times for your post!

Occasional Visitor
BramKocken
Posts: 1
Registered: ‎07-22-2014
Message 13 of 13 (2,910 Views)

Re: BL460c Gen with V2 Intel CPUs can't see 534FLB's HBA?

Kumi,

 

Thanks for the suggestion!

 

Solved the issue real quick and effective.

 

 

Regards,

 

Bram

Technical Consultant @ HP The Netherlands

The opinions expressed above are the personal opinions of the authors, not of HP. By using this site, you accept the Terms of Use and Rules of Participation.