Mixing Proliant G1, G5, G6, G7 Gen8 blades within C7000 Vitrtual Connect enclosure (6750 Views)
Reply
Neighborhood Admin
chuckk281
Posts: 3,223
Registered: ‎01-09-2007
Message 1 of 8 (6,750 Views)

Mixing Proliant G1, G5, G6, G7 Gen8 blades within C7000 Vitrtual Connect enclosure

Jean-Denis had a question:

 

***************

 

One of my customer plans to mix BL460 G1, BL460 G6, BL460 G7 and BL460 Gen8 blade servers within a C7000 test enclosure with VC-Flex10 and VC-FC 8G 24 ports modules.

I assume this is fully supported ? Can you please confirm.

In his production environment he will just have G6, G7 and Gen8 within same C7000 VC enclosures

 

****************

 

From Jeroen:

 

*****************

 

Hello Jean-Denis, This should all work perfectly fine together.

As noted on the Gen8 server label be aware of the firmware dependency:

 

webpic78.jpg

 

*******************

 

Any other comments?

Occasional Visitor
TRWD IS
Posts: 1
Registered: ‎09-08-2010
Message 2 of 8 (6,473 Views)

Re: Mixing Proliant G1, G5, G6, G7 Gen8 blades within C7000 Vitrtual Connect enclosure

I am curious about this. Did it work out for you?

We got some Gen 8 blades in today and I'm reading through the latest cloud system compatibility matrix 7.1 u1. it states:

“Gen8 blades can only mix with G7 blades in the same enclosure; they cannot mix with G5, G6, or Integrity blades.”

 

http://h20000.www2.hp.com/bc/docs/support/SupportManual/c03489141/c03489141.pdf

 

We have a bunch of G6 blades to mix with. :(

Honored Contributor
Bart_Heungens
Posts: 695
Registered: ‎10-26-2005
Message 3 of 8 (6,465 Views)

Re: Mixing Proliant G1, G5, G6, G7 Gen8 blades within C7000 Vitrtual Connect enclosure

Hi,

 

U can perfectly mix G1, G6, G7 and Gen8 blades in the same enclosure. Only for Gen8 the OA and VC firmware level must be at a certain level to be able to recognize the Gen8 blades...

 

And yes it works, I have plenty of enclosures like that...

 

 

Kr,

Bart

--------------------------------------------------------------------------------
If my post was useful, clik on my KUDOS! "White Star" !
My blog: http://blog.bitcon.be
Occasional Visitor
dpetersen73
Posts: 1
Registered: ‎02-21-2013
Message 4 of 8 (6,108 Views)

Re: Mixing Proliant G1, G5, G6, G7 Gen8 blades within C7000 Vitrtual Connect enclosure

Hello,

 

So I have a little different twist on that question (sorry, no answers). What about  the other way around, our guys want to add a new G7 blade into a older G1 C7000 enclosure? Will that work?

 

Any help is appreciated!

 

Regards

Honored Contributor
Matti_Kurkela
Posts: 6,271
Registered: ‎12-02-2001
Message 5 of 8 (6,093 Views)

Re: Mixing Proliant G1, G5, G6, G7 Gen8 blades within C7000 Vitrtual Connect enclosure

> our guys want to add a new G7 blade into a older G1 C7000 enclosure? Will that work?

 

Again, if the OA and I/O module firmware (when applicable) is new enough to know about the blade model, it should work. If the enclosure has old gigabit-only network I/O modules, the full speed of the 10G FlexNICs obviously cannot be used - but they'll be usable as regular gigabit NICs.

MK
Honored Contributor
Michael Leu
Posts: 508
Registered: ‎01-17-2005
Message 6 of 8 (6,038 Views)

Re: Mixing Proliant G1, G5, G6, G7 Gen8 blades within C7000 Vitrtual Connect enclosure

FYI if you have old gigabit VC modules then firmware 3.60 is the last release for them. If the the next generation of blades (after Gen8) will require a newer VC they probably won't work with these VC modules.

 

IMPORTANT:

The HP 1/10Gb VC Enet Module (399593-B22) and the HP 1/10Gb-F VC Enet Module (447047-B21) will no longer be supported after the VC 3.60 release

HP Virtual Connect 3.60 Release Notes

---------------------------------------------------------------------------------
Navigation: Forum Site Map // ye olde ITRC Tree
@HP: please get rid of the Passport login timeout
Neighborhood Moderator
Jeroen_Kleen
Posts: 120
Registered: ‎04-29-2003
Message 7 of 8 (5,946 Views)

Re: Mixing Proliant G1, G5, G6, G7 Gen8 blades within C7000 Vitrtual Connect enclosure

To review our Statement on Gen8 blade support for all the C7000/C3000 Enclosures please see as well this document: mmr_kc-0100204 that is on www.hp.com/go/HPSC  http://bit.ly/ZprhKk with title: HP ProLiant Gen8 Servers - Compatibility with HP BladeSystem C7000 and C3000 Enclosures and Firmware.   For CSM there are of course seperate rules as defined by the CSM based on how we tested old and new blades together with the CSM application stack.

(I am an HP Employee and CI Ambassador)
http://www.hp.com/go/hpCloud
http//www.hp.com/go/CI
http://www.hp.com/go/OneView
Occasional Visitor
jcasetnl
Posts: 1
Registered: ‎11-26-2013
Message 8 of 8 (4,322 Views)

Re: Mixing Proliant G1, G5, G6, G7 Gen8 blades within C7000 Vitrtual Connect enclosure

We are trying to add three of our Gen 1 blades into a new C7000 enclosure with two Gen 8 blades.

 

The problem we're running into is the OA/ILO will not allow us to mount any media to the Gen 1 servers.  This is the case even after we upraded the bios.  I suspect the problem is with the ILO firmware, so I'll look into that next. 

 

Other functions appear to work, such as integrated remote console, but we haven't thoroughly tested everything.  Obviously if we run into issues in the Virtual Connect Manager, that will be a deal-breaker.

 

In the meantime, I can always pop the blade into our old chassis, do the OS install, and then move it to the new. 

The opinions expressed above are the personal opinions of the authors, not of HP. By using this site, you accept the Terms of Use and Rules of Participation.