Re: boot error (411 Views)
Reply
Occasional Contributor
Balasubramanyam Verabat
Posts: 5
Registered: ‎11-01-2001
Message 1 of 19 (519 Views)

boot error

I am trying to boot a K-Class Server. While trying to boot from the PRIMARY Boot device it comes up with the following error message.

WAR A0BD
Boot Device Not Ready.
Retrying Boot Device..
Boot Device Not Ready.
Retrying Boot Device..

Could anyone please help in resolving this.
Honored Contributor
S.K. Chan
Posts: 4,063
Registered: ‎08-29-2000
Message 2 of 19 (519 Views)

Re: boot error

WARN A0BD (a boot device initialization error) means ..
"entry initialization failure because device not ready"

You probably have a corrupted boot area on your root disk, the system can see it, just could not boot from it.
Occasional Contributor
Balasubramanyam Verabat
Posts: 5
Registered: ‎11-01-2001
Message 3 of 19 (519 Views)

Re: boot error

Could you please let me know how to resolve this problem.
Honored Contributor
S.K. Chan
Posts: 4,063
Registered: ‎08-29-2000
Message 4 of 19 (519 Views)

Re: boot error

Is the root disk mirror ?
Do you have a make_recovery tape ?
Honored Contributor
Vincent Farrugia
Posts: 1,675
Registered: ‎08-13-2001
Message 5 of 19 (519 Views)

Re: boot error

Hello,

Before booting, stop the boot process. Then type sea ipl. Check whether the bootable disk is visible through here.

HTH,
Vince
Tape Drives RULE!!!
Occasional Contributor
Balasubramanyam Verabat
Posts: 5
Registered: ‎11-01-2001
Message 6 of 19 (519 Views)

Re: boot error

I do have an Ignite Image of the root disk. I believe that I need to do make_recovery tape and boot off from it.
Honored Contributor
Carlos Fernandez Riera
Posts: 1,172
Registered: ‎09-16-1998
Message 7 of 19 (519 Views)

Re: boot error

Frist ry to boot from tape ( select run recovery shell) , and run ioscan to see if disk if broken.


If it is broken, of course you must change...
unsupported
Regular Advisor
Nelson Chamba
Posts: 106
Registered: ‎02-23-2011
Message 8 of 19 (494 Views)

Re: boot error

Look, i have the same erro but i don´t have the ignite or backup of this system. I can see many path from the SEA command.

 

Path# Device Path Deice path (mnem) Device Type
-------------------------------------------------------------
P0    8/12.14      Random access media
P1    8/12.13      Random access media
P2    8/12.12      Random access media
P3    8/12.3         Random access media
P4    10/0.15      Random access media
P5    10/0.6        Random access media
P6    10/0.5        Random access media
P7    10/0.4        Random access media
P8    10/8.14     Random access media
P9    10/8.13     Random access media
P10 10/8.12     Random access media
P11 10/8.3       Random access media
P12 10/12.6.0 lan.0 LAN Module
P13 10/16/4.8 Random access media
P14 10/16/4.9 Random access media
P15 10/16/4.10 Random access media
P16 10/16/4.11 Random access media
P17 10/16/8.1 Sequential access media

 

Can someone help me please.

 

Regards,

Nelson Chamba\

 

Honored Contributor
Robert_Jewell
Posts: 1,238
Registered: ‎06-26-2001
Message 9 of 19 (491 Views)

Re: boot error

You can see many paths, but how many of these are boot disks?

 

Try the following:

 

SEA IPL

 

That will report drives that have a boot strap installed.  Try booting from each of those.  If none show up, then your boot disk is probably failed.

 

-Bob

Regular Advisor
Nelson Chamba
Posts: 106
Registered: ‎02-23-2011
Message 10 of 19 (482 Views)

Re: boot error

Hi Robert,

Now i can see the ISL promt, how can o proceed.

I have the paths:

Primary 10/0.15.0.0.0.0
Alternative 8/12.13.0.0.0.0

Regards,
Acclaimed Contributor
Torsten.
Posts: 23,267
Registered: ‎10-02-2001
Message 11 of 19 (481 Views)

Re: boot error

Try

boot pri

or

boot alt.

Don't interact with ISL. Capture the output.

Hope this helps!
Regards
Torsten.

__________________________________________________

There are only 10 types of people in the world -
those who understand binary, and those who don't.

__________________________________________________

No support by private messages. Please ask the forum!

If you feel this was helpful please click the KUDOS! thumb below!   
Honored Contributor
Robert_Jewell
Posts: 1,238
Registered: ‎06-26-2001
Message 12 of 19 (478 Views)

Re: boot error

If you are at an ISL prompt you can proceed by typing 'hpux'.  You got there by answering Y to the question about interacting with IPL....or you have a problem with the kernel or AUTO file.

 

 

-Bob

Regular Advisor
Nelson Chamba
Posts: 106
Registered: ‎02-23-2011
Message 13 of 19 (414 Views)

Re: boot error

Hi all

 

From the ISL I typed the SEL IPL and the output was this:

 

P0  10/8.12          Random Access
P1  10/12/6.0      Lan.0

 

The output of the PA command i got this:

 

Primary Boot Path fwscsi.15
                                                  10/0.15
Alternate Boot Path               8/12.13
Console Boot Path                10/8.0
Keyboard Boot Path            10/12/7.0

 

When i run the BO ALT in order to boot from the alternative path i got his feedback:

 

Boot IO Dependent Code (IODC) revision 152
IPL error: bad LIF magic
Error reading IPL

 

From the main boot path, BO PRI i got this feedback:

 

Booting ...
Boot Device Not Ready . . .
Boot Device Not Ready . . .
Retrying Boot Device . . .

 

How do i proceed?

Regards,
NC

Acclaimed Contributor
Torsten.
Posts: 23,267
Registered: ‎10-02-2001
Message 14 of 19 (411 Views)

Re: boot error

Hi from the ISL in typed the SEL IPL and the output was this:

P0 10/8.12 Random Access

 

 

Try "bo p0"!


Hope this helps!
Regards
Torsten.

__________________________________________________

There are only 10 types of people in the world -
those who understand binary, and those who don't.

__________________________________________________

No support by private messages. Please ask the forum!

If you feel this was helpful please click the KUDOS! thumb below!   
Honored Contributor
Robert_Jewell
Posts: 1,238
Registered: ‎06-26-2001
Message 15 of 19 (409 Views)

Re: boot error

and if that works set the primary boot path from the OS as follows:

 

# setboot -p 10/8.12.0

 

If you want the system to autoboot to this path:

 

# setboot -s on -b on

 

 

-Bob

Regular Advisor
Nelson Chamba
Posts: 106
Registered: ‎02-23-2011
Message 16 of 19 (399 Views)

Re: boot error

Hi Torsten,

 

It´s working, after the bo p0 it returned me this:

Booting...

Boot IO Dependent ....

Hard Booted

 

ISL>hpux and the result was booting

 

Boot

:disco()/stand/vmunix

...

...

 

but still giving me erros and kernel panic.

 

I rebooted againt to check if can reproduce the error and share here.

 

Regards,

Nelson CHamba\

 

Regular Advisor
Nelson Chamba
Posts: 106
Registered: ‎02-23-2011
Message 17 of 19 (372 Views)

Re: boot error

Dear all,

 

According with the erros i got from the screen, I can see that It can boot from the alternative path but still looks for the PV where the root VG is, and this PV is from the failed disk or problematic path.

 

It can´t boot from the 10/0.15 but it boots from 10/8.12 and after that end up on kernel panic because is looking for the PV located on the (10.0.15).

 

Any idea please.

 

See the screenshots for more details.

 

Regards,

Nelson Chamba\

Acclaimed Contributor
Torsten.
Posts: 23,267
Registered: ‎10-02-2001
Message 18 of 19 (367 Views)

Re: boot error

Try this:

 

Looks like the disks are mirrored, so you can also try quorum mode from ISL:

 

> hpux -lq

 

 

 

- if this doesn't work, from ISL do

 

> hpux -lm

 

to start in maintenance mode

 

once you have a prompt, do vgdisplay -v vg00

 

 


Hope this helps!
Regards
Torsten.

__________________________________________________

There are only 10 types of people in the world -
those who understand binary, and those who don't.

__________________________________________________

No support by private messages. Please ask the forum!

If you feel this was helpful please click the KUDOS! thumb below!   
Regular Advisor
Nelson Chamba
Posts: 106
Registered: ‎02-23-2011
Message 19 of 19 (304 Views)

Re: boot error

Dear all,

 

after the options "hpux -lq" it goes to the step from the screen and takes longer.

 

Regards,

NC\

The opinions expressed above are the personal opinions of the authors, not of HP. By using this site, you accept the Terms of Use and Rules of Participation.