MP Password (219 Views)
Reply
Advisor
Posts: 53
Registered: ‎01-31-2006
Message 1 of 11 (219 Views)
Accepted Solution

MP Password

Hi all,

How to reset the MP Password without loosing all other config details, by mistake if it has been forgot?

Thanks in advance,

Bond.
Honored Contributor
Posts: 2,734
Registered: ‎01-04-2000
Message 2 of 11 (219 Views)

Re: MP Password

You can do this from your GSP

CM
UC

If you forget is you can always reset your GSP password from your server
Honored Contributor
Posts: 6,795
Registered: ‎02-18-2002
Message 3 of 11 (219 Views)

Re: MP Password

Hi James,

IF you can't get into the MP/GSP the only way to reset it is to reset the MP/GSP itself.
This *will* reset all other settings however.
So the answer is no.

Rgds,
Jeff
PERSEVERANCE -- Remember, whatever does not kill you only makes you stronger!
Honored Contributor
Posts: 2,108
Registered: ‎07-03-2002
Message 4 of 11 (219 Views)

Re: MP Password

hi bond,

basically you cannot reset the password only in gsp.

resetting the GSP will do that, reset it back to factory defaults. It would be a security issue if you could just reset it and gain access to the server through the lan.

Andy
Honored Contributor
Posts: 735
Registered: ‎11-28-2005
Message 5 of 11 (219 Views)

Re: MP Password


Hi Bond,

You can reset the MP settings ( ALL ) and login thru the default user/password.

The only things need to be configured again is the LAN interface, we dont do any much config modifications normally.

With Regards,

Siva.
Nothing is Impossible !
Honored Contributor
Posts: 735
Registered: ‎11-28-2005
Message 6 of 11 (219 Views)

Re: MP Password

and serial port settings too...
Nothing is Impossible !
Frequent Advisor
Posts: 143
Registered: ‎03-26-2002
Message 7 of 11 (219 Views)

Re: MP Password

Hello,

There is a little button on MP card with this indication " MP reset "using a pen
You can reset the MP and restore de default login and password Admin/Admin.

If you are using telnet connexion, you will loose it, because the IP address will change to the default.

By the serial port, you can restore the LAN configuration and the name of the MP.

Hope this will help!

Omar
Nothing in the world can take the place of persistence.
Occasional Visitor
Posts: 3
Registered: ‎08-10-2004
Message 8 of 11 (219 Views)

Re: MP Password

Hello all,

Connect a terminal to the serial console and press the MP reset button on the server(MP card).

You will get the following on the Serial console.

Resetting MP.
Press 'p' now to clear all MP passwords and users....p
Confirm you would like to clear passwords and users? (Y/[N]) y
All MP passwords and user information is cleared.
MP LAN and remote accesses are also disabled.

You can configure back the LAN settings using LC and the Modem/Serial port settings using the CA command.

Hope this helps

Cheers
Gopakumar
Honored Contributor
Posts: 735
Registered: ‎11-28-2005
Message 9 of 11 (219 Views)

Re: MP Password

Hi,

After this the default password would be Admin/Admin

Regards,

Siva.
Nothing is Impossible !
Honored Contributor
Posts: 1,330
Registered: ‎08-27-2004
Message 10 of 11 (219 Views)

Re: MP Password

Hi Bond,
You can see Service Processor (GSP or MP) User's Guide on below link.

http://docs.hp.com/en/A5201-90017/index.html

Regards,
Asif Sharif
Advisor
Posts: 53
Registered: ‎01-31-2006
Message 11 of 11 (219 Views)

Re: MP Password

thanks for everyone
The opinions expressed above are the personal opinions of the authors, not of HP. By using this site, you accept the Terms of Use and Rules of Participation.