Can I get PF_CULU3840 ?? (436 Views)
Reply
Regular Advisor
Evelyn Daroga
Posts: 97
Registered: ‎03-04-1998
Message 1 of 13 (436 Views)
Accepted Solution

Can I get PF_CULU3840 ??

I have installed a new FC card (A6684A) in my D380 server, and it is unable to see the disk array (which is also several years old). I'm thinking I may need to upgrade the PDC Firmware (currently at version 38.40). I have downloaded the 42.11 patch file (PF_CULU4211.frm), but need to be able to recover back to 38.40 if I have any problems with 42.11. Does anybody know where (if?) I can find the PF_CULU3840.frm patch?
Trusted Contributor
James George_1
Posts: 252
Registered: ‎02-04-2002
Message 2 of 13 (436 Views)

Re: Can I get PF_CULU3840 ??

Hi

You need to do couple of things .

You have to upgrade your firmware first . also down load the driver for this product A6684A from hp site and install it.

Rgds/ james

forum is for techies .....heaven is for those who are born again !!
Regular Advisor
Evelyn Daroga
Posts: 97
Registered: ‎03-04-1998
Message 3 of 13 (436 Views)

Re: Can I get PF_CULU3840 ??

George,
Thanks for the quick reply. I have already downloaded and installed the driver (td). I have downloaded and am prepared to upgrade the firmware, but would like to be able to recover back to the old firmware in case of a problem. It's the old firmware (38.40) I'm looking for, for recovery purposes.
Regular Advisor
Evelyn Daroga
Posts: 97
Registered: ‎03-04-1998
Message 4 of 13 (436 Views)

Re: Can I get PF_CULU3840 ??

Sorry, I meant James, not George....
Trusted Contributor
James George_1
Posts: 252
Registered: ‎02-04-2002
Message 5 of 13 (436 Views)

Re: Can I get PF_CULU3840 ??

I don't hink you need the old firmware version. Here is what you can do :

take the ignite backup of your system before you do the patch upgrade for firmware. If you have any issues after the firmware upgrade, you can take your system back to the Pre upgrade state by booting from the ignite backup tape. This is the backup startegy for any patch upgrade. If its a single patch you can try swremove the patch .

rgds / James
forum is for techies .....heaven is for those who are born again !!
Regular Advisor
Evelyn Daroga
Posts: 97
Registered: ‎03-04-1998
Message 6 of 13 (436 Views)

Re: Can I get PF_CULU3840 ??


I didn't think the ignite backup (make_tape_recovery) would cover a firmware update. I guess I'm not sure where the firmware update actually occurs. I didn't think it was put onto a mounted filesystem, which is what ignite backs up, right?

I have heard the patch could be installed by swinstall for some systems, but I have not been able to identify any such patch for the D380. I was only able to find the one that must be installed from a tape.
Honored Contributor
Robert-Jan Goossens
Posts: 7,384
Registered: ‎04-04-2000
Message 7 of 13 (436 Views)

Re: Can I get PF_CULU3840 ??

Regular Advisor
Evelyn Daroga
Posts: 97
Registered: ‎03-04-1998
Message 8 of 13 (436 Views)

Re: Can I get PF_CULU3840 ??

Thanks, Robert-Jan, I appreciate your input, but I already have the 4211 version. I was looking for the 3840 version.
Honored Contributor
Joshua Scott
Posts: 869
Registered: ‎02-05-2003
Message 9 of 13 (436 Views)

Re: Can I get PF_CULU3840 ??

Regular Advisor
Evelyn Daroga
Posts: 97
Registered: ‎03-04-1998
Message 10 of 13 (436 Views)

Re: Can I get PF_CULU3840 ??

YAY! Thanks, Josh. That's exactly what I needed. I looked in the archived patches area, but never considered the superseded patches area. Now I can upgrade with a much higher comfort level.
Acclaimed Contributor
A. Clay Stephenson
Posts: 17,825
Registered: ‎07-16-1998
Message 11 of 13 (436 Views)

Re: Can I get PF_CULU3840 ??

Well, you might think that you can but if the 42.11 firmware upgrade fails then you are essentially the owner of a boat anchor. In any event, I have upgraded many old D-boxes to 42.11 and never had a problem nor ever had a reason to downgrade one afterwards.
If it ain't broke, I can fix that.
Regular Advisor
Evelyn Daroga
Posts: 97
Registered: ‎03-04-1998
Message 12 of 13 (436 Views)

Re: Can I get PF_CULU3840 ??

I did the upgrade yesterday, with no problems. Thanks for the support everyone. So, Clay, even though the instructions state that if the 42.11 install fails you can go back to 38.40 by re-installing it -- you still think I would have had a boat anchor if the 42.11 failed? I think I'm glad I did the install before getting your reply. At any rate, it didn't fix my problem with the FC card not seeing the old disk array. Could just be this card is not compatible with that array, I guess.
Occasional Visitor
Joe Megyes
Posts: 1
Registered: ‎02-06-1997
Message 13 of 13 (429 Views)

Re: Can I get PF_CULU3840 ??

Hello Evelyn,

 

I also have a couple of old D380s for which I recently bought J3515A 10/100 network cards, and they are not recognised when they are installed.  I can no longer find any place to get these patches, so I was wondering if you still had CULU4211 stashed away somewhere, and could I please ask you for a copy?

 

I have one last legacy application which I still have to keep in life-support mode on these old boxes, and I need to get the J3515's working so I can join a 100/1000-only network.

 

Here's hoping... :-)

 

TIA!  Joe Megyes

The opinions expressed above are the personal opinions of the authors, not of HP. By using this site, you accept the Terms of Use and Rules of Participation.