Re: vmunix: ct_query failed. hw_path (167 Views)
Reply
Frequent Advisor
john D_3
Posts: 61
Registered: ‎07-16-2003
Message 1 of 5 (234 Views)

vmunix: ct_query failed. hw_path

We have moved fiber cables from one switch to another.  Since storage is not required on the server, so there is no zoning has been done. Since then we are keep getting alert messages on the server from both the fiber cards:

 

Jan 16 09:56:44 host vmunix: ct_query failed. hw_path = 0/4/1/0
Jan 16 09:56:44 host vmunix: ct_query failed. hw_path = 0/3/1/0

 

Tried to reboot the server but no luck. Is there any solution of this problem?

 

ioscan -fnH 0/4/1/0 not showing any disk which is expected, as no LUN assigned.

 

Any help would be appreciated

 

Thanks

Please use plain text.
Respected Contributor
Stan_M
Posts: 90
Registered: ‎09-12-2011
Message 2 of 5 (211 Views)

Re: vmunix: ct_query failed. hw_path

look at rmsf -x / -H

Please use plain text.
Frequent Advisor
john D_3
Posts: 61
Registered: ‎07-16-2003
Message 3 of 5 (206 Views)

Re: vmunix: ct_query failed. hw_path

I tired rmsf -H but no luck. This is hp ux 11.23 and " -x " option not available in it.

Please use plain text.
Honored Contributor
Robert_Jewell
Posts: 1,230
Registered: ‎06-26-2001
Message 4 of 5 (198 Views)

Re: vmunix: ct_query failed. hw_path

Check your fibre channel driver software version.  Eg:

 

FibrChanl-00 B.11.23.0512 PCI FibreChannel;Supptd HW=A6795A,A5158A
FibrChanl-01 B.11.23.08.02 FibrChnl;SupptdHW=A6826A,A9782A,A9784A,AB378A,AB379A,AB465A,AD193A,AD194A,AD300A

 

I dont recall when, but I believe this was an issue fixed in a driver update.  You can check and/or update from software.hp.com

 

-Bob

Please use plain text.
Honored Contributor
likid0
Posts: 979
Registered: ‎03-01-2005
Message 5 of 5 (167 Views)

Re: vmunix: ct_query failed. hw_path

This message is normal, when your hbas have logged in ok, but don't see any mapped luns, you can just ignore the messages, they are harmless.

 

If you really need to get rid of the messages, you can leave your HBAs offline via fcmsutil, or remove the cables from ther cards.

Windows?, no thanks
Please use plain text.
The opinions expressed above are the personal opinions of the authors, not of HP. By using this site, you accept the Terms of Use and Rules of Participation