Re: secure web console (598 Views)
Reply
Frequent Advisor
jeff go
Posts: 41
Registered: ‎11-29-2001
Message 1 of 12 (598 Views)
Accepted Solution

secure web console

Hi gentlemen,

We recently moved to a new building and we moved the HP server and the web console..
nOw the web console will not even start
or power up..

any thoughts or docs I can look at?

thanks
if it aint broke, dont fix it
Honored Contributor
Darrell Allen
Posts: 1,550
Registered: ‎10-23-2000
Message 2 of 12 (598 Views)

Re: secure web console

Hi Jeffrey,

I feel I'm stating the obvious but...

Are you certain the power source is okay?

I don't remember: does the power cord detach from the transformer? If so, is it plugged in well?

If you are certain you have power and the web console won't power up, the only thing left to do is to place a hardware call.

Perhaps you could hook up a dumb terminal as the console in the meantime.

Darrell
"What, Me Worry?" - Alfred E. Neuman (Mad Magazine)
Occasional Visitor
Roger Walton
Posts: 4
Registered: ‎10-08-2000
Message 3 of 12 (598 Views)

Re: secure web console

Jeffrey,
If it won't power-up, I suppose you can read docs all you like, but it sounds like it bit the dust. I hope the disk drives in the server faired better during the move.

Sorry for the bad news. Hopefully it's under HP contract.

Roger
Honored Contributor
S.K. Chan
Posts: 4,063
Registered: ‎08-29-2000
Message 4 of 12 (598 Views)

Re: secure web console

It has a separate transformer that plugs directly onto a power source one end and to other to the device itself. You can use a portable voltmeter (if you have one) to check if the transformer is ok. If that is fine most likely it is the web console failure.
Frequent Advisor
jeff go
Posts: 41
Registered: ‎11-29-2001
Message 5 of 12 (598 Views)

Re: secure web console

thanks for the reply..
its pretty weird...

I plug in the power cord into the outlet..and the unit displays a solid amber light for a few seconds...and then nothing..
I plug in the cat 5 cable..and the unit also flashes...

oh well...
if it aint broke, dont fix it
Frequent Advisor
jeff go
Posts: 41
Registered: ‎11-29-2001
Message 6 of 12 (598 Views)

Re: secure web console

hey roger

yes..i kinda figured that...
but i didnt figure that succh a small and compact unit would be so fragile...geessh...

the server fared well..thank god...it was our DNS server..:)
if it aint broke, dont fix it
Honored Contributor
Darrell Allen
Posts: 1,550
Registered: ‎10-23-2000
Message 7 of 12 (598 Views)

Re: secure web console

Okay, it does have power. Is it possible the web console lost it's configuration?

Check out the following for much info on secure web console:
http://docs.hp.com//hpux/onlinedocs/hw/swc/secureweb/swc.htm
Darrell
"What, Me Worry?" - Alfred E. Neuman (Mad Magazine)
Valued Contributor
Trevor Roddam_1
Posts: 107
Registered: ‎07-26-2000
Message 8 of 12 (598 Views)

Re: secure web console

As there is power
The amber light comes on.
There seems to be a network config issue.
No green light after the amber.

Has you subnet/IP changed?
Is the LAN cable OK?

This could as simple as the LAN cable didn't survive.
The SWC seems to have survived as it passes the self test.

How does it go?
Baldric, I have a plan so cunning you could pin a tail on it and call it a weasle.
Valued Contributor
Trevor Roddam_1
Posts: 107
Registered: ‎07-26-2000
Message 9 of 12 (598 Views)

Re: secure web console

Sorry for got to add one more thing.

The new switch port is configured for 10 Half Duplex, not set to 100 Full?

Just a few thoughts.
Baldric, I have a plan so cunning you could pin a tail on it and call it a weasle.
Honored Contributor
harry d brown jr
Posts: 8,418
Registered: ‎12-12-2000
Message 10 of 12 (598 Views)

Re: secure web console

Jeffrey,

Like Darrell said, it probably got reset back to the factory defaults - like an IP of 192.0.0.192.

Follow the link Darrell provided.

live free or die
harry
Live Free or Die
Frequent Advisor
jeff go
Posts: 41
Registered: ‎11-29-2001
Message 11 of 12 (598 Views)

Re: secure web console

thanks guys for the help...

I will give the SWCN install docs a shot and let you all know how I do...

thanks
if it aint broke, dont fix it
Honored Contributor
Bill Hassell
Posts: 14,210
Registered: ‎05-29-2000
Message 12 of 12 (598 Views)

Re: secure web console

The Web Console is fairly easy to troubleshoot. The behavior you describe seems exactly normal. So verify that the box can print to your printer by holding down the selftest button for 1-2 seconds. If that works, then look at the printed output. You'll see the current address setup. If the address is 192.0.0.192, then you need to setup the IP, subnet mask and gateway again.

If the address is OK, then since you moved to a new building, did the subnet address change? Did you have to change the IP addresses on other machines? NOTE: the Web Console is 10Mbit half duplex and if connected to an auto-negotiate switch, it will handle the negotiation correctly.
The opinions expressed above are the personal opinions of the authors, not of HP. By using this site, you accept the Terms of Use and Rules of Participation.