Web Console (561 Views)
Reply
Regular Advisor
castro_2
Posts: 275
Registered: ‎08-30-2001
Message 1 of 12 (561 Views)
Accepted Solution

Web Console

I forgot the password the Web Console.
Theres is a way to recovery without reboot the machine.
Thanks
Honored Contributor
Uday_S_Ankolekar
Posts: 2,021
Registered: ‎06-05-2001
Message 2 of 12 (561 Views)

Re: Web Console

Hi,

No need to reboot the box to change the settings on the web console.

Just press the centre button of indicator while recycling the web console. This would reset to default settings. Then you can reconfigure it again with new id and password.

Hope this helps.

-USA..

Good Luck..
Honored Contributor
Darrell Allen
Posts: 1,550
Registered: ‎10-23-2000
Message 3 of 12 (561 Views)

Re: Web Console

Hi,

Here's a link that tells much about Secure Web Console (including Reset Web Console):
http://docs.hp.com//hpux/onlinedocs/hw/swc/secureweb/tour.html

From that link:

If you need to return to the factory settings of the HP Secure Web Console, you must:

1. Ask the other users to disconnect from the HP Secure Web Console.
2. Unplug the power cable on the HP Secure Web Console.
3. Press the button on the top of the box of the HP Secure Web Console and keep it pressed while you re-plug the power cable.
4. Release the button.

You will lose the configuration of the HP Secure Web Console if you return to factory settings. You must reconfigure it before using it again.

Darrell
"What, Me Worry?" - Alfred E. Neuman (Mad Magazine)
Honored Contributor
Helen French
Posts: 3,934
Registered: ‎07-11-2000
Message 4 of 12 (561 Views)

Re: Web Console

You don't need to restart the system, but log off all sessions running from the Web console. Then press the reset button at the top, while you power-cycle the console ! This will reset all configuration to factory defaults. Refer to the manuals and reconfigure the console.
Life is a promise, fulfill it!
Honored Contributor
Uday_S_Ankolekar
Posts: 2,021
Registered: ‎06-05-2001
Message 5 of 12 (561 Views)

Re: Web Console

Honored Contributor
George_Dodds
Posts: 991
Registered: ‎10-15-2001
Message 6 of 12 (561 Views)

Re: Web Console

I you mean by not resetting the web console, then no.

You'll have to reset the webconsole to use it to connect to the box

you could use a normal console on you system if you have one spare in the meantime

It's easy enough to reconfigure the web console, just follow the instuctions in the links given.

Cheers

George
Honored Contributor
MANOJ SRIVASTAVA
Posts: 1,885
Registered: ‎07-10-2000
Message 7 of 12 (561 Views)

Re: Web Console

Hi Castro


You need not reset the system . you will have to do the following :

1.Disconnect the webconsole.
2.Press the centre button and swtich it on , hold it for 2-5 seconds . This will reset the IP of the webconsole to 192.0.0.192.
3.Conenct a pc OR A Laptop with a cross lan cable .
4.Change the IP adddress of the PC to a say 192.0.0.193 and subnet mask 255.255.255.0
5.Connect using the explore and typing 192.0.0.192 adrres.
5. Reconfigure the same for the HP Server and connect it back.


Manoj Srivastava
Honored Contributor
Darrell Allen
Posts: 1,550
Registered: ‎10-23-2000
Message 8 of 12 (561 Views)

Re: Web Console

Hi again,

A more complete link for secure web console is:
http://docs.hp.com//hpux/onlinedocs/hw/swc/secureweb/swc.htm

Darrell
"What, Me Worry?" - Alfred E. Neuman (Mad Magazine)
Trusted Contributor
Ernesto Cappello
Posts: 354
Registered: ‎05-28-2002
Message 9 of 12 (561 Views)

Re: Web Console

Well ...
If you are a simple user operator access and lose your password, you must connect in your Secure Web Console as administrator to change or create an other user. If you have forgotten the administrator password, you will need to reset the device to its factory settings.

Disconnect the power, press the reset button on top of the device and keep it pressed while reconnecting the power, until the amber light goes off.


Warning:
All previously configured will be lost and you must reconfigure as for a first time.

GoodLuck
Ernesto
Regular Advisor
castro_2
Posts: 275
Registered: ‎08-30-2001
Message 10 of 12 (561 Views)

Re: Web Console

last question?
The web-console is a card, I need to do the same thing. Reset the password
Honored Contributor
George_Dodds
Posts: 991
Registered: ‎10-15-2001
Message 11 of 12 (561 Views)

Re: Web Console

Sounds as if it's a gsp card, what server do you have?

If it is a gsp card, attach a local console if you need to and run the following command

#stty +resetGSP < /dev/GSPdiag1

a message will appear "press 'p' within 5 sec to reset all user accounts"

Then press "P"

Cheers

George
Regular Advisor
castro_2
Posts: 275
Registered: ‎08-30-2001
Message 12 of 12 (561 Views)

Re: Web Console

The model is 9000/800/A400-44.
Thnaks
The opinions expressed above are the personal opinions of the authors, not of HP. By using this site, you accept the Terms of Use and Rules of Participation.