Terminal scrolling display (757 Views)
Reply
Super Advisor
Posts: 204
Registered: ‎06-30-2011
Message 1 of 17 (757 Views)
Accepted Solution

Terminal scrolling display

Hello,

 

I'm running HP-UX c8000, B.11.11

The terminal type is dtterm (echo $TERM).

The problem is that the terminal does not show the entire "history" when I scroll the window backwards.

If I run ls -l and the output runs to terminal I can't see the whole output.

 

How can I fix it?

 

BR,

Yali

Honored Contributor
Posts: 13,811
Registered: ‎06-21-2000
Message 2 of 17 (746 Views)

Re: Terminal scrolling display

I think there are options to dtterm to set the number of lines of "scroll back" on the terminal.  That is what you need to investigate. 

Honored Contributor
Posts: 13,811
Registered: ‎06-21-2000
Message 3 of 17 (742 Views)

Re: Terminal scrolling display

To set the number of linkes of scroll back for dtterm, you use the '-sl' option.

 

For example:

 

dtterm -sl 4000l 

 

will invoke dtterm and give you 4000 lines of scroll back capability.  The maximum number for scroll back is 32,767 (I think).

Acclaimed Contributor
Posts: 25,529
Registered: ‎03-06-2006
Message 4 of 17 (731 Views)

Re: Terminal scrolling display

You can also add -sb to get a scrollbar.

Super Advisor
Posts: 204
Registered: ‎06-30-2011
Message 5 of 17 (714 Views)

Re: Terminal scrolling display

Thank you for the replies.

 

The command dtterm -sl 4000l is good only for the next opened terminal.

How do I make this setting to take place persistently for root and for other users?

Why does this terminal setting is different for my other machines? Is it part of the env variables?

 

BR,

Yali

Acclaimed Contributor
Posts: 25,529
Registered: ‎03-06-2006
Message 6 of 17 (708 Views)

Re: Terminal scrolling display

>How do I make this setting to take place persistently for root and for other users

 

Users that are using X, need to know how to configure their own display.  Or they are better off using Windows to do this.

 

>Why does this terminal setting is different for my other machines?

 

Mine was coded in menus.  Or in ~/.Xdefaults.

Super Advisor
Posts: 204
Registered: ‎06-30-2011
Message 7 of 17 (687 Views)

Re: Terminal scrolling display

Hello,

 

Is there a file to define the "dtterm -sl 4000l" command ?

 

BR,

Yali

Acclaimed Contributor
Posts: 25,529
Registered: ‎03-06-2006
Message 8 of 17 (682 Views)

Re: Terminal scrolling display

>Is there a file to define the "dtterm -sl 4000l" command?

 

We're asking you.  How do users invoke dtterm?  From the shell?  Or from dtterm menu?

Super Advisor
Posts: 204
Registered: ‎06-30-2011
Message 9 of 17 (680 Views)

Re: Terminal scrolling display

Sorry, I missed that.

 

Users are invoking terminals from the Front Panel menu.

I add the .Xdefaults file into the home directory of a user and add the following:

 

xterm*scrollLine: 1000

 

Then I ran:

 

xrdb .Xdefaults

 

but still, I can't see enough scrolled lines when I scroll back.

 

Acclaimed Contributor
Posts: 25,529
Registered: ‎03-06-2006
Message 10 of 17 (674 Views)

Re: Terminal scrolling display

>Users are invoking terminals from the Front Panel menu.

 

In my old .mwmrc there was an explicit call to hpterm where I could set it.

 

>I add the .Xdefaults file into the home directory of a user and add the following:

>xterm*scrollLine: 1000

 

Don't you need dtterm?

 

>xrdb .Xdefaults

 

I thought I used to use -merge?

 

>I can't see enough scrolled lines when I scroll back.

 

Do you also need to enable the scrollbar?

Super Advisor
Posts: 204
Registered: ‎06-30-2011
Message 11 of 17 (668 Views)

Re: Terminal scrolling display

>In my old .mwmrc there was an explicit call to hpterm where I could set it.

I can see the definition for that in .mwmrc file.

 

> Don't you need dtterm?

does not work as well

 

 

> I thought I used to use -merge? 

did you mean to invoke "xrdb .Xdefaults -merge" ?

 

 

>Do you also need to enable the scrollbar?

I do have the scrollbar but when I scollback I can't see the first command I ran before on that terminal.

Acclaimed Contributor
Posts: 25,529
Registered: ‎03-06-2006
Message 12 of 17 (663 Views)

Re: Terminal scrolling display

>does not work as well

 

dtterm(1) has: saveLines

 

 >did you mean to invoke "xrdb .Xdefaults -merge"?

 

Almost: xrdb -merge .Xdefaults

Super Advisor
Posts: 204
Registered: ‎06-30-2011
Message 13 of 17 (660 Views)

Re: Terminal scrolling display

Many thanks!!!!

 

It is finally works. The saveLine parameter was added to the .Xdefaults file as follow:

 

dtterm*saveLines:1000l

then 

xrdb -merge .Xdefaults 

and the new terminal takes the effect.

Super Advisor
Posts: 204
Registered: ‎06-30-2011
Message 14 of 17 (632 Views)

Re: Terminal scrolling display

Hello,

 

I Installed a new B.11.11 OS and I face the same problem again.

I tried to edit .Xdefaults with the relevant lines but somehow it doesn't work this time.

 

I attached the screen shut

 

This is the end of the file with my 3 additional lines at the end.

 

!### These can be used to make Mwm act somewhat like hpwm

! Mwm*iconDecoration: label image
! Mwm*transientDecoration: Title
! Mwm*showFeedback: behavior move placement resize
! Mwm*iconClick: False
! Mwm*wMenuButtonClick: False
! Mwm*wMenuButtonClick2: False
! Mwm*clientAutoPlace: False
! Mwm*autoKeyFocus: False
! Mwm*startupKeyFocus: False
! Mwm*lowerOnIconify: False
! Mwm*deiconifyKeyFocus: False

!### END OF RESOURCE SPECIFICATIONS ###

dtterm*scrollLine: 10000
dtterm*scrollBar: true
dtterm*saveLine: 1000l

 

 

BR,

 

Yali

Honored Contributor
Posts: 14,281
Registered: ‎05-29-2000
Message 15 of 17 (628 Views)

Re: Terminal scrolling display

The lines:

dtterm*scrollLine: 10000
dtterm*scrollBar: true
dtterm*saveLine: 1000l

 should have Lines rather than Line:

 

dtterm*scrollLines: 10000
dtterm*scrollBar: true
dtterm*saveLines: 1000l

 

Super Advisor
Posts: 204
Registered: ‎06-30-2011
Message 16 of 17 (625 Views)

Re: Terminal scrolling display

Ok,

 

It is fine now. (there was a bad value name inide). So for dtterm sessions it works!

 

 

 

 

Also, we are running scripts that thier outputs do into files.

These files display "online" on the screen and the person how runs it should check the running of the program.

But now due to the scrolling problem it is impossiable to view whole the "running".

 

Please advice,

 

Yali

Super Advisor
Posts: 204
Registered: ‎06-30-2011
Message 17 of 17 (624 Views)

Re: Terminal scrolling display

right!!!
The opinions expressed above are the personal opinions of the authors, not of HP. By using this site, you accept the Terms of Use and Rules of Participation.