HPApache on HP-UX 11.11 (144 Views)
Reply
Advisor
Anthony Arindaeng
Posts: 20
Registered: ‎02-28-1999
Message 1 of 9 (144 Views)
Accepted Solution

HPApache on HP-UX 11.11

HP-UX 11.11 comes with Apache 2.0.43. We don't use apache and are not planning to use them in the near future. What is the best way to uninstall/swremove the package/bundle? There are several filesets included with HPApache. Should I use swremove on each one?

HPApache.APACHE 2.0.43.00.11 HP Apache 2.0.43
HPApache.APACHE2 2.0.43.00.11 HP Apache 2.0.43
HPApache.AUTH_LDAP 2.0.43.00.11 Auth LDAP 1.5.4
HPApache.AUTH_LDAP2 2.0.43.00.11 Auth LDAP 1.5.4
HPApache.MOD_JK 2.0.43.00.11 Mod JK 1.2
HPApache.MOD_JK2 2.0.43.00.11 Mod JK 1.2
HPApache.MOD_PERL 2.0.43.00.11 Mod Perl 1.99_07
HPApache.MOD_PERL2 2.0.43.00.11 Mod Perl 1.99_07
HPApache.OPENSSL 2.0.43.00.11 Open SSL 0.9.6g
HPApache.OPENSSL2 2.0.43.00.11 Open SSL 0.9.6g
HPApache.PHP 2.0.43.00.11 PHP 4.2.2
HPApache.PHP2 2.0.43.00.11 PHP 4.2.2
HPApache.TOMCAT 2.0.43.00.11 Tomcat 3.3.1
HPApache.TOMCAT2 2.0.43.00.11 Tomcat 3.3.1
HPApache.WEBMIN 2.0.43.00.11 Webmin 0.980
Please use plain text.
Honored Contributor
Marvin Strong
Posts: 492
Registered: ‎03-01-2004
Message 2 of 9 (144 Views)

Re: HPApache on HP-UX 11.11

swremove the bundle should remove all filesets, unless those filesets are being used by something else.

You can do swremove in interactive mode and select all of them individually if you want to be sure you get them all.


Please use plain text.
Advisor
Anthony Arindaeng
Posts: 20
Registered: ‎02-28-1999
Message 3 of 9 (144 Views)

Re: HPApache on HP-UX 11.11

HPApace doesn't show in the swlist. I guess its not a bundle. If I do swlist -l fileset | grep -i apache, it gives me the list above. I'm looking for a clean way to uninstall all of them.
Please use plain text.
Honored Contributor
Geoff Wild
Posts: 7,168
Registered: ‎06-04-2001
Message 4 of 9 (144 Views)

Re: HPApache on HP-UX 11.11

You can just disable it -

/sbin/init.d/apache stop

vi /etc/rc.config.d/apacheconf

change APACHE_START=1 to APACHE_START=0


Or to remove, I think you can:
swlist -l product |grep -i apache
ApacheStrong 1.3.19.23 HP Apache-based Web Server with Strong (128bit) Encryption

Then swremove ApacheStrong?

Rgds...Geoff
Proverbs 3:5,6 Trust in the Lord with all your heart and lean not on your own understanding; in all your ways acknowledge him, and he will make all your paths straight.
Please use plain text.
Honored Contributor
Marvin Strong
Posts: 492
Registered: ‎03-01-2004
Message 5 of 9 (144 Views)

Re: HPApache on HP-UX 11.11

if you bring up the swremove gui.

scroll to
HPUXi-OE-Ent
press enter
scroll to
HPApache
spacebar to select
tab
actions
Remove

that should get them all
Please use plain text.
Advisor
Anthony Arindaeng
Posts: 20
Registered: ‎02-28-1999
Message 6 of 9 (144 Views)

Re: HPApache on HP-UX 11.11

Thanks Marvin. Tha works.
Just curious, since Apache is bundled with HPUXi-OE-Ent, is there any impact on the OS in any way,if this is removed completely?
Please use plain text.
Honored Contributor
Marvin Strong
Posts: 492
Registered: ‎03-01-2004
Message 7 of 9 (144 Views)

Re: HPApache on HP-UX 11.11

None that I am aware of.
Please use plain text.
Exalted Contributor
Steven E. Protter
Posts: 33,806
Registered: ‎08-15-2002
Message 8 of 9 (144 Views)

Re: HPApache on HP-UX 11.11

There is no impact on the OS by removing apache. HP did provide some documentation as part of that apache server.

If you don't care about the documentation, swremove the server.

If you plan on keeping apache, they are up to version 2.0.49. You can get 2.03 of HP's web suite free at http://software.hp.com

SEP
Steven E Protter
Owner of ISN Corporation
http://isnamerica.com
http://hpuxconsulting.com
Sponsor: http://hpux.ws
Twitter: http://twitter.com/hpuxlinux
Founder http://newdatacloud.com
Please use plain text.
Advisor
Anthony Arindaeng
Posts: 20
Registered: ‎02-28-1999
Message 9 of 9 (144 Views)

Re: HPApache on HP-UX 11.11

Thanks Steven. The reason we are removing Apache is because of constant exposure to vulnerabilities. Even though we are not using Apache, it is still installed and can still be exploited. No point of upgrading it. New vulnerabilities and threats will always be there.
Thanks for everyone.
Please use plain text.
The opinions expressed above are the personal opinions of the authors, not of HP. By using this site, you accept the Terms of Use and Rules of Participation