Re: HP Power Protector Lost connection (1430 Views)
Reply
Occasional Contributor
Posts: 7
Registered: ‎02-04-2013
Message 1 of 7 (1,722 Views)

HP Power Protector Lost connection

I have the following problem: From time to time loses the HP Power Protector connects to the UPS R1500 G3. The network module card has then no default gateway, or can not otherwise be reached. When I Resete the network card, it will work again. What can be the problem?

HP Pro
Posts: 353
Registered: ‎01-10-2012
Message 2 of 7 (1,719 Views)

Re: HP Power Protector Lost connection

 

Swap the Ethernet cable, if not swap the Ethernet module. Also check the switch port to which the Ethernet cable connects to.

 

 

Regards,

 

Vijayasarathy

I work for HP
To say thanks click the white "thumbs up" icon below!!!
Occasional Contributor
Posts: 7
Registered: ‎02-04-2013
Message 3 of 7 (1,709 Views)

Re: HP Power Protector Lost connection

Thanks for the help! We have the problem at approximately 25 locations with different components. So it can not be the cable, Network Module or the Switch Port . Is there any settings to be observed?

Visitor
Posts: 2
Registered: ‎01-29-2013
Message 4 of 7 (1,686 Views)

Re: HP Power Protector Lost connection

I'm having the same problem but via USB. Here's my topic: http://h30499.www3.hp.com/t5/General/HP-T1500-G3-UPS-Communication-failure/td-p/5947203

Haven't been able to resolve the problem, I think the software is just buggy...

Occasional Visitor
Posts: 2
Registered: ‎12-17-2013
Message 5 of 7 (1,430 Views)

Re: HP Power Protector Lost connection

I'm having the same problem with the T1500 G3 UPS, when using the HPPP software. This isn't an issue using the old HPPM software.

 

In my configuration (USB connection to ProLiant ML350 G6 VMware host running ESXi 5.1.0), the issue occurs when anything other than the built in 'Admin' account is used.

 

I've had similar issues on a ProLiant ML350 G5. Having experimented a little, it seems that any deviation from the default username/password when configuring a power source causes random comms failure.

 

To workaround this, I've simply restored the default credentials and the clients seem to maintain communication reliably, but I'm interested to know:

A) If anyone else experiences similar behaviour.

B) If anyone's managed to get this to function reliably using credentials that have been reset (or entirely new user accounts).

Occasional Visitor
Posts: 2
Registered: ‎09-04-2014
Message 6 of 7 (850 Views)

Re: HP Power Protector Lost connection

I have similar problem, and yes I created new user and change default admin password, then probems started
DBM
Occasional Visitor
Posts: 1
Registered: ‎10-10-2014
Message 7 of 7 (729 Views)

Re: HP Power Protector Lost connection

Same problem, to solve it, i'd go to HP Power Protector - Client \Settings\Device Discovery, Left click on the problematic node and choose configure power source. Give the information needed (login, password and load segment). 

After that it looks feel better...

 

The opinions expressed above are the personal opinions of the authors, not of HP. By using this site, you accept the Terms of Use and Rules of Participation.