Re: Error Opening Mozilla (25 Views)
Reply
Occasional Advisor
Avinash Lengure
Posts: 13
Registered: ‎12-15-2008
Message 1 of 6 (25 Views)
Accepted Solution

Error Opening Mozilla

Hi ,

When i try to open my mozilla from root login , i get following error :

Gtk-Warning **: cannot open display


Can anybody fix the issue and provide help ASAP...?

Thanks in advance to all the HP-UX Gurus..
Please use plain text.
Honored Contributor
Robert-Jan Goossens
Posts: 7,384
Registered: ‎04-04-2000
Message 2 of 6 (25 Views)

Re: Error Opening Mozilla

Hi,

Export your display setting to your ip-address.
# who am i -uH
# export DISPLAY=your_ip_address:0.0

Regards,
Robert-Jan
Please use plain text.
Honored Contributor
likid0
Posts: 979
Registered: ‎03-01-2005
Message 3 of 6 (25 Views)

Re: Error Opening Mozilla

You also need an xserve runing on your client machine, if you don't have one, xming is and excellentt open source option for windows.

Windows?, no thanks
Please use plain text.
Occasional Advisor
Avinash Lengure
Posts: 13
Registered: ‎12-15-2008
Message 4 of 6 (25 Views)

Re: Error Opening Mozilla

Thanks for your Quick response.How can we check whether xserve is running or not?
Please use plain text.
Honored Contributor
likid0
Posts: 979
Registered: ‎03-01-2005
Message 5 of 6 (25 Views)

Re: Error Opening Mozilla

The xserver must be installed in your client pc, there a may xserver clients for windows. check on your pc if you have one installed. If you have it installed, fire it up , export the display terminal as the previous post told you, and then lauch mozilla.
Windows?, no thanks
Please use plain text.
Respected Contributor
Jozef_Novak
Posts: 355
Registered: ‎07-04-2008
Message 6 of 6 (25 Views)

Re: Error Opening Mozilla

Hello,

are you connected locally via the server's graphic card or remotely through XDMCP ? You have to be using an xterm to start mozilla from the command line.

In case you are connected on a local display console, set your DISPLAY variable as follows:

#export DISPLAY=server_ip_address:0.0

In case you are connected remotely, set it to be your PC address where your X server is running:

#export DISPLAY=PC_ip_address:0.0

then, start mozilla:

#/opt/mozilla/mozilla &

Regards,
Jozef
Please use plain text.
The opinions expressed above are the personal opinions of the authors, not of HP. By using this site, you accept the Terms of Use and Rules of Participation