Re: Applying patches query.......... (213 Views)
Advisor
Message 1 of 10 (213 Views)

Applying patches query..........

Hi there,

I am looking for some advice on patching 4 MPE systems and what the correct procedure is to follow.

Patch/iX shows as being version B.01.04 on all machines.

The HPSWINFO on all 4 machines show "*** MPE/iX MIT C.65.00 ***" so my first question is...

1 - does this mean that no power patches have been applied to date ? (I am an MPE novice BTW)

Further down in the HPSWINFO file, i can see that 2 of the systems have exactly the same patches applied, 1 differs slightly but 1 differs greatly.

In the following thread ( http://forums12.itrc.hp.com/service/forums/questionanswer.do?admit=109447627+1219844777640+28353475&... )

...i am being advised to apply either patch NSTHD00A or the most current patch, NSTHDD5A to resolve the network issues that we are having.

Can anyone offer any advice please which is the best approach to take based on our current patch levels....applying NSTHD00A or NSTHDD5A ?

thanks in advance,

rgds,
Sean
Honored Contributor
Message 2 of 10 (213 Views)

Re: Applying patches query..........

Hi Sean,

1. If there is no line saying "POWER PATCH..." below the line "*** MPE/iX MIT C.65.00 ***", then most likely there is no powerpatch applied to the system.

2. It is advised to apply the latest NST patch, which is NSTHDD5A; NSTHD00A is no longer available; it is superceded by NSTHDD5A.
King is the customer!
Advisor
Message 3 of 10 (213 Views)

Hi Emile,

Many thanks for your reply.

I have checked all 4 servers and the HPSWINFO file shows the following for all of them......

** *** MPE/iX MIT C.65.00 *** **
** TUE, FEB 29, 2000, 3:29 PM **
** LIST OF HEWLETT PACKARD COMMERCIAL SOFTWARE PRODUCTS **
** INTEGRATED FOR DATECODE : '4008' **
** PRODUCT DESCRIPTIONS PRECEDED BY ASTERISKS (*) ARE THE **
** PRODUCTS UPDATED/CHANGED BY THIS BUILD. CHANGES ARE **
** RELATIVE TO: **
** RELEASE ID: **
** DATECODE: <3831> **