Why is this integration always the weak spot (362 Views)
Super Advisor
JasonIMEX
Message 1 of 7 (362 Views)

Why is this integration always the weak spot

I am a HP partner dealing with TRIM installs and upgrades for the past 3 years.. In all this time the TRIM/Outlook integration has always been the weak spot.

Just recently I have found it has gotten worse. Many clients experiencing add-in crashes. All previous fixes dont always work..

These are the general steps I usually undertake when troubleshooting Outlook integration issues. Just to be clear.

Ensure all prerequisites are installed on the target machine.

Disable and reenable the TRIM integration. 

Completely remove the TRIM integration from Outlook --> addins menu. Re add addin from TRIM

Finally take a copy of the adxloader.dll from a working machine and replace the one on the target machine.

Some of the crashes I have seen recently state "reference not set to an instance". I am not a coder by a far stretch but this sort of language seems to be a fatal flaw in the add-in logic and error trapping. 

Thoughts?

Honored Contributor
EWillsey
Message 2 of 7 (341 Views)

Re: Why is this integration always the weak spot

I feel your pain.  It's great when you can finish a site and there are no Outlook issues as you walk out the door.... though they always seem to creep up.

In HP's defense it's a complicated plugin.  Though it's amazing how other products dont' seem to fail as often.

HP Expert
Neil Summers
Message 3 of 7 (332 Views)

I agree. It's been a pain to support for at least the last 10 years!

Neil

Note: Any posts I make on this forum are my own personal opinion and do not constitute a formal commitment on behalf of HP.

(Please state the version of TRIM/HPRM you're using in all posts)

HP Software Support Online (SSO): http://support.openview.hp.com
Honored Contributor
TRIMGuru
Message 4 of 7 (324 Views)