Re: problem by put new disc on eva 4400 (705 Views)
Reply
Frequent Advisor
daedro
Posts: 68
Registered: ‎10-17-2008
Message 1 of 12 (758 Views)

problem by put new disc on eva 4400

Hi,

 

I put new disk of 600gb 10k on existing diskgroup with disc of 400gb 10k, and the issue that appear me is when i click in the part where say the different sizes using different raid,( for example raid 0 1234gb  raid 1 244gb raid 5 1832gb,) and something curious happend, after putting 8 new disc of 600gb 10k in this diskgroup appear me the same capacity with all raids.

 

i dont know if i explain well, but somebody knows why happened this, and how can i fix it

 

thanks a lot

 

 

Acclaimed Contributor
Torsten.
Posts: 23,451
Registered: ‎10-02-2001
Message 2 of 12 (751 Views)

Re: problem by put new disc on eva 4400

A protection level of single reserves the space of 2 of the larges disks per disk group, protection level doubles reserves the space of 4 times the largest disk.

If you have let's say 500GB disks and double protection, you have a reserved space of 4x 500GB. If you add now a single 1 TB disk, the reserved space will increase to 4x 1TB, so you will have less space available than before.

I hope this answers your question.

Hope this helps!
Regards
Torsten.

__________________________________________________

There are only 10 types of people in the world -
those who understand binary, and those who don't.

__________________________________________________

No support by private messages. Please ask the forum!

If you feel this was helpful please click the KUDOS! thumb below!   
Frequent Advisor
daedro
Posts: 68
Registered: ‎10-17-2008
Message 3 of 12 (747 Views)

Re: problem by put new disc on eva 4400

Thank you Torsten, I know this behavior with the type of protection
The thing is when i see the capacity that is available on different level of raid i see the same capacity for all levels of raid, you know what i mean, althougth i have put disks of 600 gb, it have to appear different space available for different levels of raid

Acclaimed Contributor
Torsten.
Posts: 23,451
Registered: ‎10-02-2001
Message 4 of 12 (745 Views)

Re: problem by put new disc on eva 4400

This sometimes happens, the controller need a re-sync. Consider to reboot the controllers one by one first. If this does not help, there is also a special procedure for a controller resync.

Hope this helps!
Regards
Torsten.

__________________________________________________

There are only 10 types of people in the world -
those who understand binary, and those who don't.

__________________________________________________

No support by private messages. Please ask the forum!

If you feel this was helpful please click the KUDOS! thumb below!   
Frequent Advisor
daedro
Posts: 68
Registered: ‎10-17-2008
Message 5 of 12 (744 Views)

Re: problem by put new disc on eva 4400

Ok thanks a lot i will try to do it, where can i find this special procedure for a controller re-sync in the command view user guide?
Acclaimed Contributor
Torsten.
Posts: 23,451
Registered: ‎10-02-2001
Message 6 of 12 (742 Views)

Re: problem by put new disc on eva 4400

see

http://h30499.www3.hp.com/t5/Storage-Area-Networks-SAN/eva6100-controller-resync/td-p/5326779

Hope this helps!
Regards
Torsten.

__________________________________________________

There are only 10 types of people in the world -
those who understand binary, and those who don't.

__________________________________________________

No support by private messages. Please ask the forum!

If you feel this was helpful please click the KUDOS! thumb below!   
Frequent Advisor
daedro
Posts: 68
Registered: ‎10-17-2008
Message 7 of 12 (735 Views)

Re: problem by put new disc on eva 4400

In my case is a 4400, is the same procedure isnt?
Acclaimed Contributor
Torsten.
Posts: 23,451
Registered: ‎10-02-2001
Message 8 of 12 (731 Views)

Re: problem by put new disc on eva 4400

Another related post:

 

http://jimpeluso.wordpress.com/2011/01/25/eva-6000-reporting-issue/

 

procedure is the same for all the EVAs.


Hope this helps!
Regards
Torsten.

__________________________________________________

There are only 10 types of people in the world -
those who understand binary, and those who don't.

__________________________________________________

No support by private messages. Please ask the forum!

If you feel this was helpful please click the KUDOS! thumb below!   
Frequent Advisor
daedro
Posts: 68
Registered: ‎10-17-2008
Message 9 of 12 (716 Views)

Re: problem by put new disc on eva 4400

hi torsten,

 

In case that the EVA is not with hp support, there is some document that explain how to do the procedure, the thing that I read is not clear, you know if there is some document that explain well how to do it.

 

thank you in advance for the help.

 

 

Acclaimed Contributor
Torsten.
Posts: 23,451
Registered: ‎10-02-2001
Message 10 of 12 (713 Views)

Re: problem by put new disc on eva 4400

Try to reboot the master controller first.


Hope this helps!
Regards
Torsten.

__________________________________________________

There are only 10 types of people in the world -
those who understand binary, and those who don't.

__________________________________________________

No support by private messages. Please ask the forum!

If you feel this was helpful please click the KUDOS! thumb below!   
Frequent Advisor
daedro
Posts: 68
Registered: ‎10-17-2008
Message 11 of 12 (707 Views)

Re: problem by put new disc on eva 4400

Hi Torsten,

 

Im looking in the command view and I dont see which is the master controller, there is something to identify it.

And in case that it doesnt work this, you know some document that explain how to do the procedure of re-sync.

 

 

thank you

Acclaimed Contributor
Torsten.
Posts: 23,451
Registered: ‎10-02-2001
Message 12 of 12 (705 Views)

Re: problem by put new disc on eva 4400

Usually it is alway controller A. If you click on view events, you see the reporting controller of a message, if you click on "more" you see if this reporting controller is the primary.

Just reboot controller A and check if the status has changed.

Hope this helps!
Regards
Torsten.

__________________________________________________

There are only 10 types of people in the world -
those who understand binary, and those who don't.

__________________________________________________

No support by private messages. Please ask the forum!

If you feel this was helpful please click the KUDOS! thumb below!   
The opinions expressed above are the personal opinions of the authors, not of HP. By using this site, you accept the Terms of Use and Rules of Participation.