Re: P2000 G3 ISCSI (464 Views)
Reply
Frequent Advisor
daedro
Posts: 68
Registered: ‎10-17-2008
Message 1 of 4 (476 Views)
Accepted Solution

P2000 G3 ISCSI

[ Edited ]

Hi everyone,

 

Im looking for a manual that show me how to configure the new P2000 g3 iscsi, it has 4 port by controller, the question is: with two switches and three server how is the best cable configuration. ¿Somebody could explain me why you have to put two subnets and if is possible to put all port on the same network?, this is the example in the best practices but doesnt explain very well.

 

• Controller A port 0: 10.10.10.100
• Controller A port 1: 10.11.10.120
• Controller A port 2: 10.10.10.110
• Controller A port 3: 10.11.10.130
• Controller B port 0: 10.10.10.140
• Controller B port 1: 10.11.10.150
• Controller B port 2: 10.10.10.160
• Controller B port 3: 10.11.10.170

 

thank you in advance

Honored Contributor
Johan Guldmyr
Posts: 3,853
Registered: ‎06-14-2009
Message 2 of 4 (469 Views)

Re: P2000 G3 ISCSI

[ Edited ]

Hi,

I suppose the reasoning behind this is to create some redundancy.
If they're all in the same physical network that's an obvious thing you may want to avoid.

http://publib.boulder.ibm.com/infocenter/storwize/ic/index.jsp?topic=%2Fcom.ibm.storwize.v7000.doc%2...


Has some explanations of why use multiple subnets (ok it's about the v7000 but this is what showed up on google).

 

Also 

 

http://en.community.dell.com/support-forums/storage/f/1216/t/19266499.aspx

HP Pro
Sudhakar Subramaniam
Posts: 191
Registered: ‎12-07-2010
Message 3 of 4 (464 Views)

Re: P2000 G3 ISCSI

HI,

You can refer the below PDF, where it has given diagram on connecting switches.

 

http://bizsupport2.austin.hp.com/bc/docs/support/SupportManual/c02006876/c02006876.pdf

 

Regards

Sudhakar

Was the post useful? Click on the white KUDOS! Star.

Occasional Advisor
SamiMarzouki
Posts: 10
Registered: ‎09-21-2011
Message 4 of 4 (395 Views)

Re: P2000 G3 ISCSI

that  manual is for the FC/iSCSI combo, but in this PDF (for the 1Gb iSCSI) page 40, for the Dual controller configuration two servers/two switches, the image tells to connect only 2 of 4 ports, can we still connect all ports?

 

The opinions expressed above are the personal opinions of the authors, not of HP. By using this site, you accept the Terms of Use and Rules of Participation.