EVA3000 cache battery replace failed (545 Views)
Reply
Advisor
hbhua_231
Posts: 25
Registered: ‎12-10-2008
Message 1 of 6 (545 Views)

EVA3000 cache battery replace failed

Hi,guys,i need your help.

Today, i replace two cache batteries of EVA3000, but after one hours, the battery LED
still red. I login in command view manage software, the cache batteries voltage is 0.97v,
it's state is failed.

I'm sure the batteries is ok,it worked fine half a month ago.The only problem maybe i power down the control which contains the new cache batteries half a month ago.

Is there any suggestion?
Please use plain text.
Honored Contributor
Víctor Cespón
Posts: 2,397
Registered: ‎11-09-2007
Message 2 of 6 (545 Views)

Re: EVA3000 cache battery replace failed

There are several things to consider when replacing batteries:

- Remove both batteries and put two new batteries
- The batteries can be expired, if not used for a long time after last charge
- If the batteries completly discharge, they fail
- The old batteries may have leaked acid and damaged the controller contacts.
Please use plain text.
Honored Contributor
IBaltay
Posts: 2,340
Registered: ‎03-09-2008
Message 3 of 6 (545 Views)

Re: EVA3000 cache battery replace failed

Hi,

here is some theory...

an amber status LED in a lower right corner of the cache battery specifies the condition of the cache battery cells. This status LED is normaly off (proper operation)
when the amber LED is on both batteries you should replace both batteries...

battery replacement usefull info:
a) never replace the batteries from the controller when it is powered down, replace them only when the controller is powered on

b) never install battery that was previously failed by another controller. If 1 of the batteries is replaced while the other failed battery is still in the enclosure, the failure maybe propagated to the newly installed battery.

the pain is one part of the reality
Please use plain text.
Advisor
hbhua_231
Posts: 25
Registered: ‎12-10-2008
Message 4 of 6 (545 Views)

Re: EVA3000 cache battery replace failed

i have replaced the two old batteries with

two newer batteries.

Maybe the newer batteries are both unuseable,

it's may take some time to affirm that.
Please use plain text.
Respected Contributor
Sivakumar MJ._1
Posts: 415
Registered: ‎03-11-2009
Message 5 of 6 (545 Views)

Re: EVA3000 cache battery replace failed

Check the power input to the controller..
For HP Online Case Logging-->http://support.openview.hp.com/
Please use plain text.
Advisor
hbhua_231
Posts: 25
Registered: ‎12-10-2008
Message 6 of 6 (545 Views)

Re: EVA3000 cache battery replace failed

Thanks, the power supply is ok.

Today, i affirm that the two new batteries

are both stale.

Yesterday ,i reinstalled old batteries to the
control which they belonged to,is it harmful to the control?
Please use plain text.
The opinions expressed above are the personal opinions of the authors, not of HP. By using this site, you accept the Terms of Use and Rules of Participation