Agent is unreachable (110 Views)
Reply
Frequent Advisor
Nirmalkumar
Posts: 58
Registered: ‎04-26-2007
Message 1 of 9 (110 Views)
Accepted Solution

Agent is unreachable

Hi all,

i recieved the following OEM alert frequently
----------------------------------------------
Agent is Unreachable (REASON = Cannot establish proxy connection: 502 Proxy Error ( The specified Secure Sockets Layer (SSL) port is not allowed. ISA Server is not configured to allow SSL requests from this port. Most Web browsers use port 443 for SSL requests. )) but the host is UP.
--------------------------------------------
But in the with in 5 mins,the agent is reachable.

plz help me out anything need to configure in OEM side and also explain me what is the above error.

Oracle version - 10g

Thanks
Nirmal.

Please use plain text.
Honored Contributor
T G Manikandan
Posts: 5,533
Registered: ‎12-11-2000
Message 2 of 9 (110 Views)

Re: Agent is unreachable

I think you are using Microsoft ISA server as the proxy/firewall server. you need to allow the port for which the SSL is configured for.
Please use plain text.
Frequent Advisor
Nirmalkumar
Posts: 58
Registered: ‎04-26-2007
Message 3 of 9 (110 Views)

Re: Agent is unreachable

Hi manikandan,

Thanks for your response..


Port is not blocked.if port is blocked means the agent will not be reachable permananetly.But my case agent will be reachable in the next 5 mins max.



Thanks
Nirmal.
Please use plain text.
Honored Contributor
T G Manikandan
Posts: 5,533
Registered: ‎12-11-2000
Message 4 of 9 (108 Views)

Re: Agent is unreachable

What is the port configured in this case for OEM
Please use plain text.
Frequent Advisor
Nirmalkumar
Posts: 58
Registered: ‎04-26-2007
Message 5 of 9 (108 Views)

Re: Agent is unreachable

Hi Mani,

Management Service - ausb3oemdbv0a:1159
Agent - pngedms6:3872

ausb3oemdbv0a --- oem server name
target server name -- pngedms6


Thanks
Nirmal.




Please use plain text.
Esteemed Contributor
Anshumali
Posts: 548
Registered: ‎01-20-2007
Message 6 of 9 (108 Views)

Re: Agent is unreachable

May be for that special 5 minutes you can check the port status? If the port is open, still you cant communicate issue may be with OEM.
If you get port blocked, get it checked at ISA level for its weired behavior.

Anshu
Dreams are not which you see while sleeping, Dreams are which doesnt allow you to sleep while you are chasing for them!!
Please use plain text.
Honored Contributor
T G Manikandan
Posts: 5,533
Registered: ‎12-11-2000
Message 7 of 9 (108 Views)

Re: Agent is unreachable

Did you check 429392.1 with metalink.

Solution

This inconsistent behaviour is most likely due to a proxy server is being used.

Add the for the host in the "Do Not Proxy For" list in the:

[Setup -> Patching Setup -> Proxy & Connection Settings -> Manual proxy configuration] screen.


Once this host was added communication from the OMS to the host was re-enabled.

This communication permits user to configure the Database target from within Grid Control.
Please use plain text.
Regular Advisor
palaniappan.sp
Posts: 107
Registered: ‎03-16-2007
Message 8 of 9 (108 Views)

Re: Agent is unreachable

Hi,

Can u tell me the proxy details.If ur using Unix based proxy u have to allow the CONNECT method CONNECT,allow the ssl port 502 on the proxy.

Regds,
Palani.

Everything is Possible and Anything is Feasible if u try
Please use plain text.
Frequent Advisor
Nirmalkumar
Posts: 58
Registered: ‎04-26-2007
Message 9 of 9 (108 Views)

Re: Agent is unreachable

Hi all,

Thank you for your response.

Mani,

i added hostname in the "Do Not Proxy For" list, after that i didn't got the above alert.

Thanks mani


Thanks
Nirmal.






Please use plain text.
The opinions expressed above are the personal opinions of the authors, not of HP. By using this site, you accept the Terms of Use and Rules of Participation