Re: TAPE GOT BLANK AFTER omnimm -reset_poor_medium MediumID command (1101 Views)
Reply
Occasional Contributor
Posts: 5
Registered: ‎06-27-2011
Message 1 of 6 (1,138 Views)

TAPE GOT BLANK AFTER omnimm -reset_poor_medium MediumID command

Hi All,

 

I am using HPDP V 6.1.

 

Recently i run a command i.e. omnimm -reset_poor_medium MediumID for making the poor tape with green status.

 

soon after that command my tape status become green however, Tape status got blank, i am not able to restore data from that tape now. I already scan that tape too. But getting blank status

 

Regards,

Rav

 

 

Honored Contributor
Posts: 541
Registered: ‎11-25-2008
Message 2 of 6 (1,121 Views)

Re: TAPE GOT BLANK AFTER omnimm -reset_poor_medium MediumID command

Hello

 

What was the tape status before goes to poor state? Why the tape has been marked as poor?

 

To use this command is not the solution just a workaround you must analyze why tapes are being marked as poor.

 

I guess that tape header is corrupted and for this reason is marked as unknown, you can check it with tapeanalyzer tool.

 

              %DATAPROTECTOR%\bin\utilns\TapeAnalyser -device <logical device> -summary
                Where <logical device> is the name of the logical device as declared in Dataprotector
                exemple: scsi0:1:0:1C
                You have to load the tape in the device before lauching the operation.

Occasional Contributor
Posts: 5
Registered: ‎06-27-2011
Message 3 of 6 (1,118 Views)

Re: TAPE GOT BLANK AFTER omnimm -reset_poor_medium MediumID command

It was working fine with green status before became poor (red)

 

That tape automatically got poor...

 

it was using since long time for the incremental backups on daily basis.

 

 

Is there any impact on the tape drives,others tapes if i run that Tape Analyser tool?

 

Do i need to free both the drives before execute Tape Analyser?

 

Also do i need to stop/start the omnimm?

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Honored Contributor
Posts: 541
Registered: ‎11-25-2008
Message 4 of 6 (1,114 Views)

Re: TAPE GOT BLANK AFTER omnimm -reset_poor_medium MediumID command

Hello

 

Please check last session that wrote in this tape you must see any error message, this is the issue that you must pursuit.

 

Is there any impact on the tape drives,others tapes if i run that Tape Analyser tool?

 

NO impact in the rest of tapes

 

Do i need to free both the drives before execute Tape Analyser? Just the drive where tape will be loaded

 

Also do i need to stop/start the omnimm? Not

 

best regards

 

Occasional Contributor
Posts: 5
Registered: ‎06-27-2011
Message 5 of 6 (1,104 Views)

Re: TAPE GOT BLANK AFTER omnimm -reset_poor_medium MediumID command

Executed Tape Analyser however, got and error message , (see attachment)

Also could you please exactly tell from where i take value of <logical device>

 

I had given as per your example (i.e. exemple: scsi0:1:0:1C).. so I took it from devices>MSL>Drives>drive0>drive>select SCSI address.

Highlighted
Occasional Contributor
Posts: 5
Registered: ‎06-27-2011
Message 6 of 6 (1,101 Views)

Re: TAPE GOT BLANK AFTER omnimm -reset_poor_medium MediumID command

SCSI value taken from location 

 

see attachment 

The opinions expressed above are the personal opinions of the authors, not of HP. By using this site, you accept the Terms of Use and Rules of Participation.