Steps to Integrate Oracle Backup and Omniback. (172 Views)
Occasional Visitor
Sally Lau
Message 1 of 6 (172 Views)

Steps to Integrate Oracle Backup and Omniback.

Hi,

I am an Oracle DBA on HP platforms. For Oracle backup, I normally use DDS tapes but this time, I can't because the one database is very huge, more than 40GB. I need to use Omniback. But the problem is I do not know how to do it. Basically, I need the steps to incorporate certain requirements into Omniback e.g. (1) start and stop database before and after Omniback, (2) start and end tablespaces backup mode before and after Omniback, and (3) backup of redos and controlfiles.

Please advise further. I am deperately looking for the answer.

Thank you and best regards,
Sally Lau
Honored Contributor
Vladislav Demidov
Message 2 of 6 (172 Views)

Re: Steps to Integrate Oracle Backup and Omniback.

You can configure pre-exec and post-exec scripts in Omniback session to perform start and stop database procedure or change backup mode of your tablespaces.

But it is better to use omniback-oracle integration. Omniback offers possibility for online and offline oracle database backup. You should install the next components to get a full range of opportunity of oracle database backup:
? The Oracle8 Recovery Manager (RMAN)
? The OmniBack II Oracle8 Integration software.
For more specific information refer to "OmniBack II Integration Guide"
Advisor
Phani V Yenugu
Message 3 of 6 (172 Views)

You should have EBU (for oracle 7) and RMAN (for oracle 8) before trying to integrate omniback-oracle. You need to have separate EBU or RMAN catalog database where in you register the target database before proceeding. The initiation of the backup (online or offline) will come from EBU or RMAN executables where they put the tablespaces in online mode before giving control to omniback.
Typically you create a catalog database on another server to reduce the potential risk of loosing everything if your server has any problems.